mwekez@ji
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 6:56:22 PM

H1 2013 PBT: Kes 199,086,000/-
H2 2013 PBT: Kes 364,832,000/-
FY 2013 DPS: Kes. 0.10 per share

FY 2014 outlook: Positive
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 7:09:16 PM

Great start by the new boss. Hope he can pull a billion plus in FY2014.
Over to the market for direction pricewise!
@SufficientlyP
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 7:12:56 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

So, FY PBT is KES 563,918,000?
Div yield of less than 1%?
Whats the E.P.S and hence the P.E?

Total (K) is still KING!!!!!!

Aguytrying
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 7:21:59 PM

I'm so happy kk is back in the moneys. this is what I expected.

@realtreaty. see what I was telling you??? this year recovery. next year maybe we target 1bn pat
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
georgegop
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 8:09:12 PM

Kenya's KenolKobil swings to full year profit, sees stronger 2014
Don't Work for Money, Let Money Work for You..
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 8:25:16 PM

Yaani dividend ni ng'och (oruch mbili) peke yake!!!!!!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 8:46:28 PM

The difference between Total and KenolKobil results is interest expense.

Total
Borrowings 2.494 bn
Finance costs 278 m
Profit 1.312 bn

KenolKobil
Borrowings 14.854 bn
Finance costs 1.671 bn
Profit 558 m

So what I'd like to know is, who are KenolKobil's bankers?

#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 9:00:20 PM

muganda wrote:
The difference between Total and KenolKobil results is interest expense.

Finance costs
Total 278m
KenolKobil 1.671bn

Borrowings
Total 2.494bn
Kenol Kobil 14.854bn

So what I'd like to know is, who are KenolKobil's bankers?

Dividends
Total (K) 0.6/-
KenolKobil 0.1/-

Profit Before Taxation
Total (K) 2.1B/-
KenolKobil 0.56B/-

And someone was cursing the KES 5.2B interest-free preferential shares "LOAN"???? Now you know!!!!!

#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 11:20:48 PM

Anyone with the actual announcement?

http://www.businessdaily...-/13tf1upz/-/index.html

I rather read it for myself than rely on BD Africa...
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 11:35:46 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

How did they get from disposing the Eldoret, Kisumu and Sagana depots???

How much did they save by retrenchment of staff??

How much revenue did they lose by "giving away" business to Total (K) i.e. low margin and jet fuel businesses??

How much of the humongous debt have they cleared so far??

WHERE IS THE REAL RINK?? SISI MASHABIKI TUNAUMIA, WAPI RINKI? HII NI HUJUMA!!!

mwekez@ji
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 12:02:10 AM

@VituVingiSana, dunkang, et al, check out the results at wazua google group #KK,iko,poa,Na,mbele,iko,sawa
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 12:26:37 AM

Oops! Actual results http://ge.tt/2yovqoX1/v/0

So for oil companies, in what order would we rank quality of current assets? Inventories; Hedges; Receivables; Cash
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 12:41:02 AM

Sales DOWN by a ~KES80B, but gross profit up. Other income up by ~KES 1B (assets disposal??). Admin expense reduces by ~KES 2B. And why the hell is that tax that kidogo yet last year they enjoyed a lot of tax credit?? (did they win the KPRL case?)

Now now now, they disposed of property worth ~KES880M, ama mimi sijui kusoma??

#14 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 1:00:37 AM

muganda wrote:
Oops! Actual results http://ge.tt/2yovqoX1/v/0

So for oil companies, in what order would we rank quality of current assets? Inventories; Hedges; Receivables; Cash
Asante
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 1:08:49 AM

Seems very positive for 2014. The report for 1Q 2014 is quite positive but I hoped the AGM would be after the 1H 2014 results were out so the Management could be questioned on the progress or lack thereof.

There are many questions including:
How much of the high volume but low-risk, low-margin business did they give up?
How has the dispute resolution fared?
How much of the 'gains' are from sale of assets?
How much do they expect to make as profits from the sale of assets in 2014?

PBT less the gains on sale of assets = loss
The low tax rate of 1% is due to the benefits from the loss of 2012 rather than any smarts.

And on and on...
Realtreaty
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 3:00:10 AM

Aguytrying wrote:

@realtreaty. see what I was telling you??? this year recovery. next year maybe we target 1bn pat

Yes, you should congratulate me, I kept ringing the bells we will get a DVD. Next year, bonus chiemo!!!!!
hisah
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 5:51:19 AM

Revenues down, not the kind of recovery I expected. Still long way to go...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 6:17:40 AM

Realtreaty wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

Yes, you should congratulate me, I kept ringing the bells we will get a DVD. Next year, bonus chiemo!!!!!

Wajameni, what good result are you talking about???????

Read post No. 13.

The only good thing in the result is the company commentary (2014 outlook)!!!!

TOTAL (K) IS THE MONEY MAKER!!!!!!!

#19 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 6:23:31 AM

Realtreaty wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

Just look at the Net Sales. Sad
Other Income =??
Kausha
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 8:47:24 AM

Gross Margins for Oil Marketers are like those of supermarkets. Frankly I like the direction KK is headed and are apprehensive of the direction Total has taken. However time will be the jury. OTS sales are increasingly becoming risky and the cost of financing them vis a vis the profit margins are a weak trade off. Let's just say Total has entered the phase KK is emerging from - margin erosion.

Other income = rentals mostly and sale of property and equipment of 880 - look at the cashflow statement.

With a considerable degree of certainty, KK will make more than the 1.3B in 1H2014 which is what Total made for FY2013 and pay a dividend of about 50cts + - 15cts, which would bring about SOME parity. I would be shorting Total and going long KK at this point.