wazua Thu, Mar 19, 2026

9 Pages«<6789>
Kumbe a Professor earns only 165k....before tax
#71 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 7:24:46 AM

kiterunner wrote:
Does anyone have the salary scales for lecturers in other East African countries?
thank you

Careful, this will result in you being referred to as a lower primary dropout. You need to ask about Switzerland, France, UK, USA.....yaani our peers, not failed neighbours.

Hahahaha Laughing out loudly
#72 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 9:25:58 AM

kiterunner wrote:
Does anyone have the salary scales for lecturers in other East African countries?
thank you

Careful, this will result in you being referred to as a lower primary dropout. You need to ask about Switzerland, France, UK, USA.....yaani our peers, not failed neighbours.

Hahahaha Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly hapa @Thimioni umeshinda! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#73 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 2:03:18 PM

kiterunner wrote:
thank you

Ok, can someone call @kiterunner a lower primary drop-out but give us these salary scales... as it is, no one is calling anyone names and hence no information is forthcoming....
xtina
#74 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 1:20:55 PM

Kanjora1 wrote:
I just saw this and I thought I could weigh in with my two cdnts worth...
I got a job with KU last year though I never took due to a better offer elsewhere. KU gave me a post of senior lecturer with basic salary of Ksh.101,000. With other allowances for house and medical my net take home would have been circa 120k. I was also offered to teach parallel classes in their Karen campus for 3k per hour as extra. In terms of my quals I hold a Phd, 6 publications and 6 yrs postdoctoral experience.
I also had another offer from Mount Kenya University with a gross of 225k although this was for a 5-yr renewable contract.
All in all, what I found out during my search for a university position is that public universities are great for job security (terms are on permanent and pensionable, you can moonlight, etc.) while privates normally are on contracts though they pay more. Some of the privates don't even operate pension schemes (apart from the diabolical nssf) and its left to the employees to sort themselves! The downside of the public ones is that workload is enormous (class sizes can be sometimes 1000 (especially for the mass market degrees eg. B. Arts, Bsc. & B. Ed). There's no time for individualised teaching or research and lecturers feel like factory operators.
I hope this helps the debate...

What is the rate per credit of part-time lecturers for the undegrads? Can part-time lecturers ask for more than one class?
xtina
#75 Posted : Saturday, April 19, 2014 1:27:50 PM

xtina wrote:
Kanjora1 wrote:
I just saw this and I thought I could weigh in with my two cdnts worth...
I got a job with KU last year though I never took due to a better offer elsewhere. KU gave me a post of senior lecturer with basic salary of Ksh.101,000. With other allowances for house and medical my net take home would have been circa 120k. I was also offered to teach parallel classes in their Karen campus for 3k per hour as extra. In terms of my quals I hold a Phd, 6 publications and 6 yrs postdoctoral experience.
I also had another offer from Mount Kenya University with a gross of 225k although this was for a 5-yr renewable contract.
All in all, what I found out during my search for a university position is that public universities are great for job security (terms are on permanent and pensionable, you can moonlight, etc.) while privates normally are on contracts though they pay more. Some of the privates don't even operate pension schemes (apart from the diabolical nssf) and its left to the employees to sort themselves! The downside of the public ones is that workload is enormous (class sizes can be sometimes 1000 (especially for the mass market degrees eg. B. Arts, Bsc. & B. Ed). There's no time for individualised teaching or research and lecturers feel like factory operators.
I hope this helps the debate...

What is the rate per credit of part-time lecturers for the undegrads? Can part-time lecturers ask for more than one class?

Anyone?

#76 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2016 4:55:26 PM

What is the current salary (Plus all due allowances) does a tutorial fellow earn in a Kenyan university like THE and KU?

#77 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2016 5:18:15 PM

What is the current salary (Plus all due allowances) does a tutorial fellow earn in a Kenyan university like THE and KU?

Is barclays closing down the gikomba branch?
mburuke
#78 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2016 7:08:05 PM

Its around 80k and subject to completion of the phd.u actually give yearly progress reports of ur studies
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
#79 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 11:10:28 AM

kiterunner
#80 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 2:40:38 PM

kiterunner wrote:
thank you

It has been a while since I asked this. In the meantime I sold out and joined the said Unis. Salary is horrible but if you are enterprising you can do a lot more.

our goals are best achieved indirectly
9 Pages«<6789>