5 Pages<12345>
Richard Corcoran - Kenyan Tourism In Dire Straits
#41 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 3:51:31 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Prop up domestic tourism. The Mara is not the only place to go. We need Kenyans visiting the Nairobi National Park that is just next door to many, or the likes of Ol Donyo Sabuk, etc. When we rely mainly on international tourists, we are bound to be affected by the shocks. But sisi Wakenya tuko hapa.

Domestic and foreign tourisim are not substitutes, there is nothing wrong with having both domestic and foreign tourism both thriving.

No one said there's something wrong. But it seems like when foreign tourism takes a hit, tourism has taken a big hit, and yet, we should strive to have an increase in domestic tourism that can offer a buffer zone when foreign tourism takes a hit.

Googles worn.............
Jubilee were categorical that they do not need the west, so why make noise. As u can see above JB wants u guys to embrace domestic tourism.
mambo ya wazungu waliwacha kitambo atakama lawyers wote ICC ni wazungu
#42 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 4:02:17 PM

dossy7 wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Prop up domestic tourism. The Mara is not the only place to go. We need Kenyans visiting the Nairobi National Park that is just next door to many, or the likes of Ol Donyo Sabuk, etc. When we rely mainly on international tourists, we are bound to be affected by the shocks. But sisi Wakenya tuko hapa.

Domestic and foreign tourisim are not substitutes, there is nothing wrong with having both domestic and foreign tourism both thriving.

No one said there's something wrong. But it seems like when foreign tourism takes a hit, tourism has taken a big hit, and yet, we should strive to have an increase in domestic tourism that can offer a buffer zone when foreign tourism takes a hit.

Googles worn.............
Jubilee were categorical that they do not need the west, so why make noise. As u can see above JB wants u guys to embrace domestic tourism.
mambo ya wazungu waliwacha kitambo atakama lawyers wote ICC ni wazungu

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Sasa even when I champion for focus on domestic tourism imekuwa goggles tena?? Yawa! I'll repeat, read the Capitalist Nigger. You'll understand.
#43 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 4:18:28 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
From that article, the real problems I think we have are:
- Insecurity; this will definitely kill the coast circute and may be our tourism
- Poaching, if it reamins unchecked
- Overdevelopment of the Mara.

All the others are neither here nor there, the park entrance fee is fine, VAT is fine, brief case whatever are simply someone mourning about competition

@Obi.., well said. The Jubilee Solution is just a joke and it shows how casually the the administration takes the twin issues of security and tourism:

1. Security docket in hands of the most incompetent of all CS, intellectually and inexperience. Has no idea what the heck his work is let alone what to do. My suggestion get Gen Hussein Ali in this docket and let him streamline things.
2. Tourism docket in hands of green horn in the sector. Give the likes of Leakey the job
3. KWS in poor hands too who keeps talking long term and neglecting basic patrols and discipline. How hard could it be to recall Kipngetich?
kollabo
#44 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 4:53:27 PM

When was the last time you saw animals in the NBI national park?
InnovateGuy
#45 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 5:37:25 PM

There's something called spending power. At this level of our economy, we would rather spend our money surviving than spend on holidays. We spend our Kshs. buying food, paying rent, fueling our Japanese cars and helping relatives in shagz. We have Ksh. 0 to spend on trips to Mombasa, Mara and other places. Only few Kenyans can afford holidays - no matter how many millions you spend on advertising. Spending power it is.

There was talk of going East and yada yada. Have you seen Chinese tourists in Kenya? Those guys spend nothing. Not even a 500 ML bottle of soda. They just walk around with cameras taking pictures and smiling sheepishly. Compare them to the jungus. The jungus spend on food, cabz, drinks and tip the waiter. If the number of tourists is falling, KQ suffers, so does the taxi guy, the prostitute, the waiter na kadhalika.

Continue giving bad advice to jubilee. You will say afadhali KANU.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#46 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 8:01:24 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

There's something called spending power. At this level of our economy, we would rather spend our money surviving than spend on holidays. We spend our Kshs. buying food, paying rent, fueling our Japanese cars and helping relatives in shagz. We have Ksh. 0 to spend on trips to Mombasa, Mara and other places. Only few Kenyans can afford holidays - no matter how many millions you spend on advertising. Spending power it is.

There was talk of going East and yada yada. Have you seen Chinese tourists in Kenya? Those guys spend nothing. Not even a 500 ML bottle of soda. They just walk around with cameras taking pictures and smiling sheepishly. Compare them to the jungus. The jungus spend on food, cabz, drinks and tip the waiter. If the number of tourists is falling, KQ suffers, so does the taxi guy, the prostitute, the waiter na kadhalika.

The number of Chinese Tourists in Kenya has been growing tremendously and they are not only coming to Kenya but everywhere else including Paris NY and Australia. Everyone is courting the Chinese upcoming middo crass, they are the ones with the money. I was reading in the Nation that the Chinese were leading in the number of tourists who visited the Maasai Mara 2013 to witness the annual wildebeest migration

In 2013 Over 100 Million Chinese left China to tour the world 1% of that number is a million. I wonder why we focus our energy elsewhere
#47 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 8:18:39 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

The number of Chinese Tourists in Kenya has been growing tremendously and they are not only coming to Kenya but everywhere else including Paris NY and Australia. Everyone is courting the Chinese upcoming middo crass, they are the ones with the money. I was reading in the Nation that the Chinese were leading in the number of tourists who visited the Maasai Mara 2013 to witness the annual wildebeest migration

In 2013 Over 100 Million Chinese left China to tour the world 1% of that number is a million. I wonder why we focus our energy elsewhere

@ kipchirchir, don't confuse prisoners who are working on Chinese funded infrastructure projects in kenya to be tourists . Some of those Chinese tourists roast maize in nairobi and the ones who visit our parks are poachers
#48 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 8:51:43 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

@ kipchirchir, don't confuse prisoners who are working on Chinese funded infrastructure projects in kenya to be tourists . Some of those Chinese tourists roast maize in nairobi and the ones who visit our parks are poachers

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hater
#49 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 10:10:52 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

There are holes in your argument. We are constantly acknowledging the increasing middle class who have a taste for consumption. The malls are opening up, world brands making Kenya their abode, residential apartments, very good cars, designer suits, weddings that cost a fortune, tech gadgets, etc. It's because of an increasing spending power. They have the money.

Look at pubs and locals from Monday to Monday. Guys are drinking millions of shillings every week. People are paying large amounts for entertainment and recreation. More guys can see their lifestyles heading up (in as much as this can be argued that there's more for consumption and less for production), etc.

It's wrong to say only few Kenyans can afford holidays. Domestic tourism isn't about holidays. Take a day trip or a weekend. People are doing road trips, going for hikes and campings as groups of friends or even strangers. Look at the hikes, the weekend campings, et al. There was a thread here about scenic routes, people are travelling.

Do you know how much it is for a Kenyan to visit national parks in kenya? 350 bob, that is beer mbili. Camping is 250 in most camps. Gari ni 350 bob. That is affordable. I remember on Sundays in Nakuru when the KWS bus would pick guys at the gate and people go round the lake and view animals. The locals, that is. Vile watu huenda aboretum or uhuru park. Only cost is park entrance. It's all in the numbers game. And these tourist sites are scattered all over the country.

Look at the low season for instance, at the coast. Lower the rates and increase the sales. Let the middle class wanjikus be able to go there. There will be nothing like an off season.

Stop limiting your mind that its only mzungu who can spend, take cabs, buy drinks, tip waiters. Kenyans can do it too. Domestic tourism should be championed. We need a change in our mindset, in our attitude.
Alba
#50 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 11:07:26 PM

Local tourism is good but foreign tourists are far more important.

1. Foreigners have far more disposable income than Kenyans.
2. They inject foreign exchange into the economy which helps sustain the currency
3. They bring external money into the economy unlike the local one which just reycles local money
4. Foreigners are more likely to stay in the big expensive hotels like Hilton.
5. Foreigners are far more likely to spend big on materials like rental cars
6. Foreigners will spend on things Kenyans take for granted. Even visiting Kibera once became a tourist attraction

7. And many other points..................
InnovateGuy
#51 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 1:25:21 AM

Alba wrote:

1. Foreigners have far more disposable income than Kenyans. javascript:insertsmiley('Applause%20','/Images/Emoticons/eusa_clap.gif')
2. They inject foreign exchange into the economy which helps sustain the currency
3. They bring external money into the economy unlike the local one which just reycles local money
6. Foreigners will spend on things Kenyans take for granted. Even visiting Kibera once became a tourist attraction

You've said it better than me.
#52 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 2:06:15 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:

@Swenani...those prisoners are BRINGING money in the economy even if they roast maize. As for poachers, the last time I checked guys were blaming some GOK employees kwani the theory now has changed?
#53 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 9:00:50 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:

@Swenani...those prisoners are BRINGING money in the economy even if they roast maize. As for poachers, the last time I checked guys were blaming some GOK employees kwani the theory now has changed?

@Kipchirchir, At they are bringing what in the economy? Do you know chinese are very mean.They would rather share a three bedroomed house 12 people and buy a nissan caravan and have one of them as a driver.That is lost income for 24 kenyans if it were americans or british since they will employ 12 drivers and rent 12 houses.

The GOK employees are just facilitators,the same people who process those business/work permits for the shinese are the same ones offering protection to the shinese and doing the dirty job
#54 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 9:18:19 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Truth be told. We currently have no one at the Tourism docket. The Ministry is huge. Since it carries the EAC, Commerce and Tourism. To this date Kandie has not appointed the head of the Kenya Tourism board. This would be the person advising govt on matters tourism. She is too engrossed in the EAC docket and has no time for commerce also. Apart from that, the Narok country executive need to get themselves in order, who isn't tired of the mara roads stories?

As for security...the coast will be problematic for a while. Until those bigots are wiped out. At the moment the problem is not from Somalia but Kenyans wanting to fight for Somalia in the name of religion. This will take sometime.

This specific CS is in the same league with Akina Ole Lenku, the educ Lunatic and Rachael Omamo. No shows

...Hapo sasa!
#55 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 9:39:14 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:

#56 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 10:03:38 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Alba wrote:

1. Foreigners have far more disposable income than Kenyans. javascript:insertsmiley('Applause%20','/Images/Emoticons/eusa_clap.gif')

Shindeni hapo putting all your hopes on mzungu. That's ukoloni mamboleo. And as you do that, other sectors of the economy are raking in billions of shillings in profits from the very same Kenyans.
InnovateGuy
#57 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 10:20:23 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:

Selective reading to suit you. I didn't say the Chinese are not coming. I said they don't spend Sad And that's my beef with them.
mkeiy
#58 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 10:29:38 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Alba wrote:

Shindeni hapo putting all your hopes on mzungu. That's ukoloni mamboleo. And as you do that, other sectors of the economy are raking in billions of shillings in profits from the very same Kenyans.

You cannot substitute foreign tourist with a local tourist. The French have not done it, the New Yorkers have not done it, what makes you we can do it?

If you are advocating Kenyans to be the "tourists" what VALUE will that ADD?

It's just the same money going round, nothing new.
Let's not go into purchasing power! Our middle class is nothing when compared to First World middle class.

Without forex from foreign tourists, that would would impair the balance of payment. The shilling would suffer, everybody would suffer.

Until the day we can substitute the forex from tourists with other exports,we need the foreign tourist. Whether that tourist is a mzungu, a Kenyan from diaspora or some black guy from Solomon Island.

FOREX dudes! FOREX!
#59 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 11:18:35 AM

mwenza wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Truth be told. We currently have no one at the Tourism docket. The Ministry is huge. Since it carries the EAC, Commerce and Tourism. To this date Kandie has not appointed the head of the Kenya Tourism board. This would be the person advising govt on matters tourism. She is too engrossed in the EAC docket and has no time for commerce also. Apart from that, the Narok country executive need to get themselves in order, who isn't tired of the mara roads stories?

As for security...the coast will be problematic for a while. Until those bigots are wiped out. At the moment the problem is not from Somalia but Kenyans wanting to fight for Somalia in the name of religion. This will take sometime.

This specific CS is in the same league with Akina Ole Lenku, the educ Lunatic and Rachael Omamo. No shows

...Hapo sasa!

At the time of typing this I couldn't remember his name, i still can't and will not research it. The alternative expletive perfectly describes himsmile smile
#60 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 11:23:45 AM

mkeiy wrote:
InnovateGuy wrote:
Alba wrote:

You cannot substitute foreign tourist with a local tourist. The French have not done it, the New Yorkers have not done it, what makes you we can do it?

If you are advocating Kenyans to be the "tourists" what VALUE will that ADD?

It's just the same money going round, nothing new.
Let's not go into purchasing power! Our middle class is nothing when compared to First World middle class.

Without forex from foreign tourists, that would would impair the balance of payment. The shilling would suffer, everybody would suffer.

Until the day we can substitute the forex from tourists with other exports,we need the foreign tourist. Whether that tourist is a mzungu, a Kenyan from diaspora or some black guy from Solomon Island.

FOREX dudes! FOREX!

Tell it to them, the French have 60 million plus tourists per year but are still aggresively courting more, same with US, SA etc. Its only @Muchr and co. who want Nerkwo patrons to occasionaly stray into Nairobi National Park to keep the industry going in Kenya