wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

That's What We Call a Real Policeman
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 05, 2014 9:16:24 AM

What caught my attention in this story was this quote

Mombasa county CID boss Henry Ondiek said Hussein has showed a rare gesture of honesty and integrity.

This should not be rare. It should be the norm and corrupt police rare.

The other cops who take jaggernauts 200bob are not cops but thugs in blue uniform.

I'm very excited.

Honest Kenyan Policeman

http://www.nation.co.ke/...72/-/73dp2u/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Saturday, April 05, 2014 8:04:23 PM

I cry for my country. That such an obvious thing has made headline news. Just shows how low we have sunk in morals. He did well, but I wonder why as a society we should expect anythingless. In fact those makangas should have looked for the owner instead of fighting over it.

That said, I can confirm good people still exist. Last year I forgot my ipad in a bus when on a journey to Mombasa. After everyone alighted, the driver was doing his usual checks after driving to the car wash and saw it. First he called his office manager to report and then he kept it safely with him. I realised I didn't have it after checking in at the hotel. I called the cab guy who had dropped me and he was shocked. He didn't think it was worth driving me back to check for it at the bus. I insisted. We went to the bus' main office. On narrating the story to the receptionist, she was also not sure I would get it ever again. She said previously, such lost items had never been recovered. However, the manager heard our discussion and to everyone's surprise, he said the driver had already called him about the iPad... It was a great moment when we drove to where the driver was and he handed over the iPad to me. I couldn't believe my eyes. He surprised me too. Ooh...all my presentations were in it. He saved me.
#3 Posted : Saturday, April 05, 2014 8:25:48 PM

Lord help us! Yaani to find one police officer turns out to be breaking news!!!!!
#4 Posted : Saturday, April 05, 2014 8:34:26 PM

i prefer to be among the rare honest .it begins with me then you .do your part too.kenyans love shortcut though so be warned that the road will not be easy should you choose it but it all worth.congrats to this policeman
#5 Posted : Saturday, April 05, 2014 9:21:34 PM

@alma, It was a good story to read until when i reached the point where the "hero cop" says that he had to bribe the thieves with100bob for them to hand over the stolen wallet to him. What kind of incompetence is this? I have never in my whole life ever heard of a situation where a cop has to bribe thieves for them to hand over stolen property. Law enforcement has really gone to the dogs in this country. That article has really shamed the police force.....they are no longer in control. Thieves are supposed to shiet in their pants when they see a law enforcement officer. That cop should be ashamed of himself. He is a disgrace to the force and should be fired ASAP!
#6 Posted : Saturday, April 05, 2014 9:42:30 PM

@alma, It was a good story to read until when i reached the point where the "hero cop" says that he had to bribe the thieves with100bob for them to hand over the stolen wallet to him. What kind of incompetence is this? I have never in my whole life ever heard of a situation where a cop has to bribe thieves for them to hand over stolen property. Law enforcement has really gone to the dogs in this country. That article has really shamed the police force.....they are no longer in control. Thieves are supposed to shiet in their pants when they see a law enforcement officer. That cop should be ashamed of himself. He is a disgrace to the force and should be fired ASAP!

he should be fired while they keep the ones you bribe for traffic offences??
#7 Posted : Saturday, April 05, 2014 10:03:13 PM

he should be fired while they keep the ones you bribe for traffic offences??

At least those i bribe are much better since they never bribe offenders, rather they are tough and put you behind bars. The cop who arrested me for a traffic offense never asked for chai, rather it is me who begged him to take some chai so that i couldn't spend the night in prison and be fined 20k the following day. Infact he took my license and ordered me to follow him to the station but after some distance I pretended to be having a mechanical problem and when he came over to see what was happening, that's when I offered some chai. Thus if you aren't corrupt to offer a cop a bribe, they put you where you should be, in prison.

But here is a useless officer who has to bribe criminals to retrieve stolen property.......he doesn't even make any effort of arresting and prosecuting the thieves! And he is regarded a hero and awarded Ksh40,000 for his cowardice and incompetence. Very sad situation.
#8 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 4:02:08 PM

If returning a stolen wallet is a rare show of honesty, what will they call it when police respond to your distress call when you are being robbed? Will they bribe the robbers not to kill you?
#9 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 5:10:20 PM

very true
Rollins
#10 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 5:37:07 PM

Coolio wrote:
Lord help us! Yaani to find one police officer turns out to be breaking news!!!!!

very weighty statement. coming from you.
Even a BrOKeN clock is right twice a day
#11 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 6:56:26 PM

Rollins wrote:
Coolio wrote:

very weighty statement. coming from you.

Why me @Rollins?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 8:25:03 AM

Given 40k for what, for doing his duty! We are indeed doomed!
#13 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 4:23:37 PM

mkenyan wrote:

very true

abk!!!
Publicity stunts.... Whats the value of two ATM Plates???

Traffic cop with 100 bob.... Wacha tu.Not talking

#14 Posted : Friday, April 18, 2014 11:46:19 AM

These guys are all similar

http://www.dailymail.co....cene-set-catch-them.html
#15 Posted : Saturday, April 19, 2014 11:06:00 PM

If you thought that our cops were crazy, welcome to nigeria..

urstill1
#16 Posted : Saturday, April 19, 2014 11:27:49 PM

If you thought that our cops were crazy, welcome to nigeria..

That's damn crazy!! However, I think the policeman restrained himself not to shoot anyone in as much as he pointed the gun on the lady several times. Our policemen would have easily downed several guys within seconds. I say kudos to the policeman for trying to use other means to solve his issues and not shooting anyone.
He really restrained himself despite; being a muslim in Lagos (I guess Lagos is predominately Christian, now add that to the religious conflicts in Nigeria to that.), with a gun, somebody daring him to shoot, being drunk , a policeman .... If it were in Kenya, we'd be counting a handful of bodies.

NB: I do not support what he did.