wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
Richard Corcoran - Kenyan Tourism In Dire Straits
#21 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 1:01:27 PM

I'm with Alba on this one. The Kibaki gov't will be judged harshly in the history books. It was one of inaction and laissez-faire. It works well when things are ok but is horrible when you need action and can actually act.

You cannot washiku separate the present gov't from the going on's in this industry. That is impossible. Tourism is a business that depends on the headlines.

Have you see the so called director of state house communications....ever? What is her name? or his name?

What do they do after 50 yrs of jubilee celebrations? Have another bash?

Tourism is about PR.

If the fellows stood up one day and went on BBC and just said plainly.

"Yes we have some disgruntled youth at the coast But we are shooting them right now. You are safe as we are killing them one after the other."

That is a better statement than pretending that Kenya is safe and everything is just perfect.

Come on guys, we have a thread right here on wazua that reads Karen is not safe. Do you honestly believe that a tourist is stupid enough not to scour the "internets" for this information?

Jubilee is failing. This gov't is failing. And we are only on year 1.

Give that tourism docket to Madam First Lady. At least she knows something about PR.

By the way who's the tourism minister or cabinet secretary or principle or whatever they call themselves? Do you even know them? Have you ever seen them?

If Jubilee is waiting for 1 million acres of irrigated land, I might as well go and write a book on "how I waited for Jesus to come back. Why hasn't he?"
InnovateGuy
#22 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 2:11:09 PM

In matters economy and its management, I don't believe in "we feel that..." I believe in actual numbers. The issues the tourism sector is going through are not solely Jubilee made and thus this discussion should soberly go beyond who is to blame to what is to be done. If a company realises that one of its valued product is declining in sales, it calls for a crisis meeting and lays down strategies on reviving it. They could be promos, marketing, price cuts etc...Here, we already know the issues affecting tourism. Numbers show we are doing badly. Madam CS admitted as such recently. My question is: What is she doing to change the perception of the investors and consumers of the sector that things will change? Where are the offers? Where are the brand managers to initiate an aggressive campaign? What are we doing to stop the poachers? Can we as a country answer these two questions comprehensively?

1. WHY should I invest my billions in your hotel industry?

2. WHY should I come to enjoy my dollars/shillings over my holiday in your country?

It's hard doing PR for this government that you defend on every thread in disguise. Who introduced the VAT? KANU? Who is supposed to fix security? NARC?
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
InnovateGuy
#23 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 2:14:32 PM

I'm with Alba on this one. The Kibaki gov't will be judged harshly in the history books. It was one of inaction and laissez-faire. It works well when things are ok but is horrible when you need action and can actually act.

You cannot washiku separate the present gov't from the going on's in this industry. That is impossible. Tourism is a business that depends on the headlines.

Have you see the so called director of state house communications....ever? What is her name? or his name?

What do they do after 50 yrs of jubilee celebrations? Have another bash?

Tourism is about PR.

If the fellows stood up one day and went on BBC and just said plainly.

"Yes we have some disgruntled youth at the coast But we are shooting them right now. You are safe as we are killing them one after the other."

That is a better statement than pretending that Kenya is safe and everything is just perfect.

Come on guys, we have a thread right here on wazua that reads Karen is not safe. Do you honestly believe that a tourist is stupid enough not to scour the "internets" for this information?

Jubilee is failing. This gov't is failing. And we are only on year 1.

Give that tourism docket to Madam First Lady. At least she knows something about PR.

By the way who's the tourism minister or cabinet secretary or principle or whatever they call themselves? Do you even know them? Have you ever seen them?

If Jubilee is waiting for 1 million acres of irrigated land, I might as well go and write a book on "how I waited for Jesus to come back. Why hasn't he?"

Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#24 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 2:45:05 PM

As a resident here, consumer and observer of the tourism services and the government initiatives, I think their comparative on the Liberty International operations in 55 countries can be further reviewed in the context of Third World e.g. when compared to Tanzania, it is not as gloomy when looked in the bigger picture:

Calling and internet costs have fallen significantly in recent years balanced with improved network reliability and the government ensuring 3 optic fibre cables landed in Mombasa. It is significantly cheaper in Nairobi, can't see how its more expensive for anyone.

Talent retention in a competitive environment requires attractive insurance packaging for good staff calibre, competition is good for talent so maybe that shouldn't be on the complaints list.

Office administration costs should have come down with the advent of Kenya's innovative mobile payment system MPESA, which is has now been granted an EU mMoney license in just the past month of March for similar benefits there starting in Eastern Europe. Significant man hours and running costs have been saved paying for all manner of office and personal billing.

On PSV vehicles, it is now a fact that majority of deaths in Kenya, 40% or so, are a direct result of accidents (roads & crime) not AIDs, malaria, diabetes etc. It was a crisis so maybe we do need new laws to reign in this area. The transport ministry working with traffic police have enforced measures that have resulted in factual reduction of road carnage by 30% so far this year. No exeptions for road users. As a tourist I'd be happier not sadder.

Energy is definately a huge cost for everybody. Electricity costs are currently high owing to heavy reliance on hydroelectricity that goes in short supply in dry periods and the country has to rely on diesel generated electricity..but cheap energy is finally in sight! Kenya is making global trends in shift to renewable energy.

Solar: Example, beginning this year, government and privates have partnered and we are building 9 large solar plants to be completed in 2016. Guys can google that. This alone will cover half the country's energy needs.

Geothermal: As we write now, KenGen is loading onto the national grid additional capacity from two existing power generation plants with a combined capacity of 280 megawatts. They've shared a schedule on this so its not just talk. 140MW to the grid by April and 170MW in July from Olkaria and a further 100MW from Menengai in the course of this year. This will be at a low cost of 7 US cents.This would more than double the electricity generated from geothermal, which currently stands about 200MW. Beyond that, KenGen has been doing an upgrade of its Olkaria 1 and 4 plants, with each having an additional capacity of 140MW. GDC is developing a plant at Menengai with a capacity of 400MW, which will be commissioned in phases over the next three years and reach 400MW in 2017. The plan is to to shut down all diesel fired generators as more power generated from geothermal and other inexpensive sources start feeding into the national grid. We are finally on course on this area.

In the next 5-6 years, Kenya could be exporting affordable power. We should get similar impetus in modernisation of the power distribution grid.

With the coming online of oil revenue streams in the 5-7 year period, maybe the country will have the resources to fully modernise it's security forces not just units in it, as this remains our number one development challenge.

Like all Third World states, Kenya has issues in an ever changing security context given it's geo location however as some of the examples above show, the future is quite not all gloom and doom!!

As stated previously, it's complicated as these solutions require multi-sectoral and discipline approach with devolution via County Gov complicating it further. For politically marginalised regions which actually host a lot of our tourist facilities, devolution of resources there is in fact the best thing for them. Have they also approached their governor who has huge say on how billions can be spent in some of the areas they operate in?

On the national front, for this to work, UK may need to ditch some CEO type CS's and appoint people with core passion and patriotism for the heritage whilst still appreciative of the economic interests, a CAPTAIN like Paula Kahumbu or Richard Leakey who can effectively market what I've exemplified above to the right people and get the synergies for quick wins in the sector.

The journey to a brighter future has already begun. More synergies at the tourism technical level required for actual quick wins and PR.
#25 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 2:58:04 PM

Ecstacy, don't try to play stats here.

You are saying that internet costs have fallen, office admin has fallen etc

So why is it that as costs have fallen, revenue has also fallen?

That is basic business 101.

If costs fall, your revenue and profit should increase.

Or you face facts.

Either your product or is bad or your product is bad.

By they way, mentioning electricity in Kenya as a good indicator of the country growing will get you killed on Twirra. As I'm writing this, I'm using a generator.

#26 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 3:15:00 PM

Ecstacy, don't try to play stats here.

You are saying that internet costs have fallen, office admin has fallen etc

So why is it that as costs have fallen, revenue has also fallen?

That is basic business 101.

If costs fall, your revenue and profit should increase.

Or you face facts.

Either your product or is bad or your product is bad.

By they way, mentioning electricity in Kenya as a good indicator of the country growing will get you killed on Twirra. As I'm writing this, I'm using a generator.

We are discussing how to transit from where we perceive the problem is to where we believe we should be. I've laid bare what is happening going forward.

After drawing attention to the issue as I did posting this thread, I'd rather discuss solutions.
MatataMingi
#27 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 10:59:51 PM

All good points discussed by most of the posters.

I know Richard Corcoran personally. He is a 3rd or 4th generation Kenyan. He is a a good Kenya Cowboy. Very passionate in his work as a major tour operator.

His, and other posters comments need to be taken seriously.

I moved from Nairobi to Mombasa about 2 years ago,to work on a development project. I had bought a 5 acre prime beach plot about 20 years ago. The idea was to develop it as a small beach resort. As I didn't and will never have the capital to do this, I managed to get some local and foreign investors involved. My input was the land only.

Our plans { building, business, marketing etc.} were ready 4 years ago. We got the plans approved about 3 years ago. Hence my move to the coast.

However, sadly early last year most of the the would be investors put the project on hold.

Therefore, the concerns expressed by Richard and many wazua posters are REAL. I know as I have a large hole in my pocket.

As for the poster saying how much power we are going to produce in the near future, I can only say good luck. Not about the power production, BUT the distribution. It is NO use producing more power when you cannot get it to the consumer.

On the North coast we have power cuts EVERY day, not because of lack of power, but because the distribution network is crap.

Let us not build a huge cart, for a small dying donkey to pull.

Planning 101 anyone !!!!!!
#28 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 11:31:32 PM

Ectasy I know Kraos will be crying like a baby after I tell you the solution.

DUMP THE JUBILEE GOVERNMENT COS THEY CAN'T DO SHIT.

But you have another solution that is palatable to loving muthamaki. Good luck

the questions asked were the answers

No one is swallowing the koolaid. just kratos.
#29 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 11:46:52 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
All good points discussed by most of the posters.

I know Richard Corcoran personally. He is a 3rd or 4th generation Kenyan. He is a a good Kenya Cowboy. Very passionate in his work as a major tour operator.

His, and other posters comments need to be taken seriously.

I moved from Nairobi to Mombasa about 2 years ago,to work on a development project. I had bought a 5 acre prime beach plot about 20 years ago. The idea was to develop it as a small beach resort. As I didn't and will never have the capital to do this, I managed to get some local and foreign investors involved. My input was the land only.

Our plans { building, business, marketing etc.} were ready 4 years ago. We got the plans approved about 3 years ago. Hence my move to the coast.

However, sadly early last year most of the the would be investors put the project on hold.

Therefore, the concerns expressed by Richard and many wazua posters are REAL. I know as I have a large hole in my pocket.

As for the poster saying how much power we are going to produce in the near future, I can only say good luck. Not about the power production, BUT the distribution. It is NO use producing more power when you cannot get it to the consumer.

On the North coast we have power cuts EVERY day, not because of lack of power, but because the distribution network is crap.

Let us not build a huge cart, for a small dying donkey to pull.

Planning 101 anyone !!!!!!

Sorry about the investors. What do you do on your property(if you don't mind my asking)? Can you host local tourists? Camping?

#30 Posted : Sunday, April 06, 2014 11:47:27 PM

Truth be told. We currently have no one at the Tourism docket. The Ministry is huge. Since it carries the EAC, Commerce and Tourism. To this date Kandie has not appointed the head of the Kenya Tourism board. This would be the person advising govt on matters tourism. She is too engrossed in the EAC docket and has no time for commerce also. Apart from that, the Narok country executive need to get themselves in order, who isn't tired of the mara roads stories?

As for security...the coast will be problematic for a while. Until those bigots are wiped out. At the moment the problem is not from Somalia but Kenyans wanting to fight for Somalia in the name of religion. This will take sometime.
#31 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 12:42:06 AM

B.Timer wrote:
I also do agree that Poaching can be checked much better than we are doing. To be fair though, Tanzania and other African Countries are also faced with this menace.

Do you get to hear also that some corrupt VIP is associated with the vice? And for one reason or the other, justice cannot be meted out on him?

Corruption is working against us.
B.Timer wrote:
Businessmen will always attempt to lobby Government as they canvass for preferential treatment even in circumstances where it is not justified.

Why for example would tour vehicles expect to
have a different set of rules in relation to other PSVs!!

One, because of the terrain they cover. We need to phase out the Nissan caravans and replace them with Land-cruisers that handle off-road better. Its raining now, have you visited Mara at the height of mud-baths? Think wear-and-tear, think client comfort, think image, think competition (with other countries)
B.Timer wrote:
I have no issue with the park fees being increased to $90 as Kenya deserves to earn equitable revenue from her resources and as is usual, every passing year, prices across all sectors go up as a matter of course.

How do you reduce the attraction(poaching), its accessibility (bad roads), security(terrorism) and still increase park fees?
B.Timer wrote:
Year in year out we keep hearig how we should grow our tourist arrival numbers.
Doesnt that of necessity mean that we have to increase our bed capacity!

No. Because the numbers keep falling and falling. If you want something simple to understand, look at KQs performance. Losses upon losses. That industry is hurting as much as tourism.

We need a balance of payment, with our imports ever increasing and exports on the decline, our Shilling will take a beating. With recent insecurity making matters far much worse.

There is cause for alarm.

#32 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 9:48:00 AM

An opinion.

With high ivory prices, enforcement alone won’t stop poaching
B.Timer
#33 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 1:05:45 PM

B.Timer wrote:
I also do agree that Poaching can be checked much better than we are doing. To be fair though, Tanzania and other African Countries are also faced with this menace.

Do you get to hear also that some corrupt VIP is associated with the vice? And for one reason or the other, justice cannot be meted out on him?

Corruption is working against us.
B.Timer wrote:
Businessmen will always attempt to lobby Government as they canvass for preferential treatment even in circumstances where it is not justified.

Why for example would tour vehicles expect to
have a different set of rules in relation to other PSVs!!

One, because of the terrain they cover. We need to phase out the Nissan caravans and replace them with Land-cruisers that handle off-road better. Its raining now, have you visited Mara at the height of mud-baths? Think wear-and-tear, think client comfort, think image, think competition (with other countries)
B.Timer wrote:
I have no issue with the park fees being increased to $90 as Kenya deserves to earn equitable revenue from her resources and as is usual, every passing year, prices across all sectors go up as a matter of course.

How do you reduce the attraction(poaching), its accessibility (bad roads), security(terrorism) and still increase park fees?
B.Timer wrote:
Year in year out we keep hearig how we should grow our tourist arrival numbers.
Doesnt that of necessity mean that we have to increase our bed capacity!

No. Because the numbers keep falling and falling. If you want something simple to understand, look at KQs performance. Losses upon losses. That industry is hurting as much as tourism.

We need a balance of payment, with our imports ever increasing and exports on the decline, our Shilling will take a beating. With recent insecurity making matters far much worse.

There is cause for alarm.

I am not sure we are on the same page!

You may need to read Richard Corcoran letter again then consider my points in that context.

Neither am I saying all is fine and dandy!

Dunia ni msongamano..
#34 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 2:11:24 PM

Truth be told. We currently have no one at the Tourism docket. The Ministry is huge. Since it carries the EAC, Commerce and Tourism. To this date Kandie has not appointed the head of the Kenya Tourism board. This would be the person advising govt on matters tourism. She is too engrossed in the EAC docket and has no time for commerce also. Apart from that, the Narok country executive need to get themselves in order, who isn't tired of the mara roads stories?

As for security...the coast will be problematic for a while. Until those bigots are wiped out. At the moment the problem is not from Somalia but Kenyans wanting to fight for Somalia in the name of religion. This will take sometime.

This specific CS is in the same league with Akina Ole Lenku, the educ Lunatic and Rachael Omamo. No shows
#35 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 2:23:09 PM

Prop up domestic tourism. The Mara is not the only place to go. We need Kenyans visiting the Nairobi National Park that is just next door to many, or the likes of Ol Donyo Sabuk, etc. When we rely mainly on international tourists, we are bound to be affected by the shocks. But sisi Wakenya tuko hapa.
#36 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 2:46:19 PM

Prop up domestic tourism. The Mara is not the only place to go. We need Kenyans visiting the Nairobi National Park that is just next door to many, or the likes of Ol Donyo Sabuk, etc. When we rely mainly on international tourists, we are bound to be affected by the shocks. But sisi Wakenya tuko hapa.

Domestic and foreign tourisim are not substitutes, there is nothing wrong with having both domestic and foreign tourism both thriving.
#37 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 2:46:33 PM

Get yourself a copy of the book Capitalist Nigger.
#38 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 2:47:58 PM

Ectasy I know Kraos will be crying like a baby after I tell you the solution.

DUMP THE JUBILEE GOVERNMENT COS THEY CAN'T DO SHIT.

But you have another solution that is palatable to loving muthamaki. Good luck

the questions asked were the answers

No one is swallowing the koolaid. just kratos.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I see you have woken up from your drunken stupor from the 3am sheri post.

Anyway sasa mimi naingilia wapi? I told you, your obsession with hating Jubilee will give you hemorrhoids if you don’t have them already. You never miss a chance to childishly attack jubilee government even when you have no facts to back you up. Anyway if you insist, Jubilee is the cause of all evil in the world, happy?

As you were, hemorrhoid’s gang chairman.

#39 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 2:48:14 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Domestic and foreign tourisim are not substitutes, there is nothing wrong with having both domestic and foreign tourism both thriving.

No one said there's something wrong. But it seems like when foreign tourism takes a hit, tourism has taken a big hit, and yet, we should strive to have an increase in domestic tourism that can offer a buffer zone when foreign tourism takes a hit.
#40 Posted : Monday, April 07, 2014 3:06:59 PM