Insecurity in Karen
#41 Posted : Sunday, March 02, 2014 8:06:41 PM

mkenyan wrote:
sanity wrote:
Jump-steady wrote:
sanity wrote:
jokes wrote:
As a victim of a violent robbery i can attest there is nothing you can do if you're not equally armed. When thugs attack your house you are on your own until they decide to leave. Your neighbours will cower in their houses and pray they don't come to their houses. The cops will wait until they leave to share in the loot. The estate security watchmen who are probably in cohorts or your part of the gang will blow whistles aimlessly to scare and distract would be rescuers and are in constant communication will the gang. Let me tell you this robberies are not planned on the whim. These are long term plans with intelligence gathering i.e some guys assigned to monitor you or your activities and your business and family. These guys can be part of your family i.e children spouse brother etc who can either ardently or inadvertently leak out sensitive personal information, gardeners, house girls, Fundis who leak reconstruction plans and weaknesses. Then there is a safe house who is your neighbour which is unbelievable but true to hide the thugs and stolen loot as you go around looking for the thugs. But the worst are the cops the level of evidence gathering is non existent. The questions they ask are what was stolen period. let me say never underate those watchies fundis house girls boda boda operators the information they have is unbelievable and deep they know everything and who does what and what is going to happen. how is this possible? cause they live in the same neighbourhood "slums" have the same "code" and probably grew up together and this is what probably their parents did for a living.
what can save you is to own a weapon that can overpower these guys, our ancestors didn't carry weapons around and sleep outside guarding their families and granaries for the fun of it. We should legalize the right to own guns and equalize any encounter we might have with the enemy.

mr jokes.. you are spot on..that is the sad reality in Nairobi and Kenya as a whole..if you can afford it get some good deadly force(legally)..they range from 150k..Once they realize that you are armed and ready to fight them...chances are that they will back off..However if its an ambush ie outside your gate and you cant reach it,just cooperate

Pray

Which one is that @Sanity. Do you have it?

in other words .....a Gun...yaani Bunduki ..I wish I had one too.

and if they know you have it they may target you just for it.

Owning a gun is a catch 22. There is probably an 80-20 chance of you remaining unscathed now, but with guns its the other way around. Chances are that there will be more deaths both sides of the divide, the thieves and victims.

The only way I see out of this quagmire is Poverty Alleviation. A hungry man in Kibera might be willing to do anything to share the 'food' of his neighbor in Karen. A sated one might not bother.

#42 Posted : Sunday, March 02, 2014 8:12:13 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Karen residents have now adopted "nyumba kumi". Are they trying to say that it is the residents who have been robbing each other?

That question crossed my mind too when I watched that news clip yesterday. How effective is it if the thieves are coming from outside and therefore aren't members of 'Karen Nyumba Kumi'?

sasa hata Karen ni nyumba kumi ama yao ni acre kumi cos those homesteads are big
#43 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 6:38:51 PM

'Karen is now safe'

Liar

C&P: Police are looking for a gang who robbed a UN employee in his house Sunday morning amid fears that the group could be behind a spate of robberies in posh Nairobi estates.

The gang made their way into the home of Mr Naison Maginza in Runda and stole several items including jewels, US$600 and a car.

The house is located next to that of Nairobi Senator Mike Sonko, who said police should beef up security in the region.

According to a guard, Mr Christoper Otieno, the gang knocked the small door and he went to find out what was happening.
“I was confronted by a man pointing a gun at me.

He blindfolded me and the next thing I heard was a vehicle getting inside the compound ,” the guard said.

Nairobi deputy police commander Moses Ombati said the gang that goes into these posh estates do so with the help of domestic workers. Police said the same gang was terrorising Karen estate a few weeks ago.

“Karen is now a safe place because we beefed up security. They will not succeed in Runda too because security has been tightened there,” Mr Ombati says.

The gang has been terrorising the city for the past two years because the gun recovered recently in Karen was stolen from the police by the same gang in 2012.
Victims of the robbers say they are a gang of six to seven men.

#44 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 11:11:48 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Karen residents have now adopted "nyumba kumi". Are they trying to say that it is the residents who have been robbing each other?

That question crossed my mind too when I watched that news clip yesterday. How effective is it if the thieves are coming from outside and therefore aren't members of 'Karen Nyumba Kumi'?

sasa hata Karen ni nyumba kumi ama yao ni acre kumi cos those homesteads are big

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly shamba kumi.. while those who border the forest have no option but wanyama kumi.

#45 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 4:37:47 PM

FOUR armed robbers attempted to break into former minister Raphael Tuju’s home early on Sunday morning.

The home is guarded by four policemen 24 hours a day. The compound is surrounded by an electric fence.

The gang did not seem perturbed by the presence of Tuju’s highprofile neighbours including former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, Attorney General Githu Muigai and former MP FT Nyammo.

Mwitu Estate in Karen is heavily policed with multiple barriers at the entrances to the area that are linked to alarm systems. “They made an attempt but were repulsed by an intelligent security system,” said Tuju.

“They came past midnight and we can see on the CCTV they were four people with guns. This was not the first incident in the area. We thank God that they did not manage and no one was injured.”
- See more at: http://the-star.co.ke/ne...ren#sthash.py3veGDR.dpuf
Alba
#46 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 10:00:50 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly shamba kumi.. while those who border the forest have no option but wanyama kumi.

The police commissioner will just respond with his usual rhetoric and no action aka mdomo kumi
#47 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 10:54:47 PM

Alba wrote:

The police commissioner will just respond with his usual rhetoric and no action aka mdomo kumi

chida re kimaiyo
#48 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 11:27:49 PM

[quote=Swenani]FOUR armed robbers attempted to break into former minister Raphael Tuju’s home early on Sunday morning.

The home is guarded by four policemen 24 hours a day. The compound is surrounded by an electric fence.

The gang did not seem perturbed by the presence of Tuju’s highprofile neighbours including former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, Attorney General Githu Muigai and former MP FT Nyammo.

Mwitu Estate in Karen is heavily policed with multiple barriers at the entrances to the area that are linked to alarm systems. “They made an attempt but were repulsed by an intelligent security system,” said Tuju.

“They came past midnight and we can see on the CCTV they were four people with guns. This was not the first incident in the area. We thank God that they did not manage and no one was injured.”
- See more at: http://the-star.co.ke/ne...en#sthash.py3veGDR.dpuf[/quote]

Yaani even having 4 armed policemen and surrounding yourself with an electric fence doesn't ensure your security. Kweli iko sida.
#49 Posted : Tuesday, April 08, 2014 11:45:20 PM

By the way why would Tuju have four policemen in his compound? Does he pay for them? If I wanted some hapa kwa plot and offered to pay would I qualify?
#50 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 10:39:24 AM

Elite police officer carjacked

ION,

C&P; Not even thieves will run away with Kenya’s world marathon record holder Wilson Kipsang’s resolve to make another major statement at this weekend’s eagerly-awaited London Marathon.

The policeman from Iten’s travel plans were thoroughly upset this week when thieves sneaked into his car and made away with the runner’s personal effects, including his precious passport, delaying his travel to London where he will be seeking to reclaim the title he won two years ago in the iconic race’s second fastest time ever.

Kipsang acquired a new passport and United Kingdom visa in record time and was on the flight to London last night, shaken but not shattered. No arrests have been made.
6 Pages«<3456>