wazua Sun, Aug 24, 2025

Unprotected Sex Help
thechick
#1 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 6:28:00 AM

The good people of SK help me here. I have been reading and not registered and registered to ask for help because I screwed up literaly jana. I had unprotected sex and am not so sure about the status of my partner. Now I here there are some drugs which can be taken after to stop HIV. Anybody know where I can get them and the costs? Can I get them from a VCT?
#2 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 6:31:00 AM

Na ukumbuke Postina 2...he he,pole...

Waria
#3 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 6:55:00 AM

Yep its called PEP. just run to the nearest govt/mission hosp and dont such a klutz next time

Me first,U next
mtaalam
#4 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 6:59:00 AM

Plus start drinking responsibly.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
The Real Shaft
#5 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:14:00 AM

if have a very small window......

of time to stop..

anything taking residence in your blood stream......

if you haven't take those drugs....

you should consider yourself....

seriously dancing round your grave...

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Kamaa
#6 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:32:00 AM

http://www.pep.chapsonline.org.uk/pep_basics.htm

think you will have to either resign your job or take a month leave...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
akowally
#7 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:37:00 AM

Please observe the ABCs next time. PEP (post exposure prophylaxis) should be taken 24 hours after intercourse. If they have passed pray hard and learn from it

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Achiever
#8 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:43:00 AM

i really hope you are ok......

next time....please make use of your common sense....

don't worry....be happy
Noble
#9 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 8:36:00 AM

@Achiever

or 'condom sense'

Lawman
#10 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 8:46:00 AM

SKers are very knowledgeable.... good stuff. I thought it was similar to after morning emergency pills. Wooii - its a combination of ARVs taken for 4 weeks. That scared me but in case of rape its a good tool.

Jamaas and ladies take care ..... ABC!!

But it can happen to anyone ... so take heart ... start PEP now and take an unpaid leave if no leave days available!!

By the way they will do you a HIV test before they administer PEP else you take the proper ARV treatment!!

jaheim
#11 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 11:13:00 AM

How it happen? Well not unless you got 'tanked up' an the knickers came off and shuma ikalala ndani. The fact that he's your partner you ought to have checked each other's status out. Anyway,atleast i've learnt something new from skerians about the pep thing. No need to panic,the fact that he's your partner talk to him and see if you two could get tested so that you can continue having it bareback with no cloud of doubt hanging over your heads. If he obliges you can go get tested hopefully the results will be negative and you can go home and ejoy mjinjo once again.

Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep. Carl Sandburg
Djinn
#12 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 11:44:00 AM

if you have missed the 24 hour window to use PEP,now prepare for the arduous 3 month wait for the first test...and another 3 months later...so keep the champagne on ice until May 2010...

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#13 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 11:46:00 AM

Always look at the positive side of life. Obama has announced that you can now enter the US even with the virus...
#14 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 12:02:00 PM

What Jaheim has recommended there is the best thing,talk with the chap as a matter of urgency and get tested at a VCT,he may also be eager to know. If both negative,youre home free. If not/unable to continue as below:

As far as i recall PEP is effective up to 72hours (3days) after exposure,however you need to be sure that you have not been a HIV carrier longer than the 72 hour period since you could get your immune system compromised and have an early onset of AIDS and in consequence,quick demise. It is also quite expensive if you are paying for it yourself.

If you have little money,you may not even need to take PEP,if the test at VCT is negative and you do not want to commence PEP,go to KEMRI and ask them to screen your blood sample with a PCR machine for HIV. This is an extremely sensitive test (can detect minutes after entry of virus) and will tell you whether there are any viruses at all in your body and if they are enough to form a viable innoculum ( dose of viruses to cause infection) it will cost you kidu 6K and may save you the hustles and cost of PEP. This type of screening is what ensures pornography actors in some developed countries never get infected despite all the unprotected sex they have. The VCT test kit is designed to check for antibodies which may take up to 6months to develop and therefore has a window for error in your case.

ANECDOTE
I sympathize with your situation,i was once the type of man to 'fear' a few years ago in such a case,however the reputation was unnecessary as i always used protection.One time,i met the most charming,hottest,cutest,innocent lady who fell for me. One day managed to get her into my bed and i for the first time did not want to use a 'tube ya baiskeli'/condom at all. At the time we had both stripped and i could not believe this angel was asking me to put on a 'tube ya baiskeli',for some reason i knew her status,(hint: we worked together) and i was guessing mine. So she covered the socket with her hand and asked me 'you want to give me you diseases?',i put on the tube and we went VCT the next day.

Niône mwisho ya mwezi pliz!
Meru Holiness
Achiever
#15 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 12:13:00 PM

@djinn...

a whole 6 months ...???..now thats what i call agony...

poor thing..she/he will die of stress....even b4 the results...!!!...

GG

hahahaha....like Obama has the cure...!!

don't worry....be happy
Fundaah
#16 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 12:16:00 PM

you reap what you plant.....beware of that few seconds enjoyment ....as TRS said you may be dancing around your grave as much as you could be feeling ecstatic......chukua control ya mwili....wacha roho itake lakini mwili ukatae

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#17 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 12:49:00 PM

Also note,HIV infection does not necessarily mean a quick death anymore. In modern settings where medication is present life expectancy is beyond 20 years and and for young people at 50 years since time of infection,so if you are say 25 now,with care you could be looking at some 75 years of a fruitful life,better than some here with maybe HBP who are telling you that you are dancing around a grave.

Advances in medicine ( e.g HAART,a vaccine 30% effective and bone marrow transplant approaches ) provide more hope for a cure. Just get checked and quit worrying,life is not an easy road either way,the most important thing may be getting the test and getting the guy to take the test.

If you cannot get the guy to go to a VCT,there are people who sell testing kits underground allover,you will surely find a way to get some blood from the guy,cook together and cut his finger 'accidentally' in the kitchen or something.

Niône mwisho ya mwezi pliz!
Meru Holiness
#18 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 12:56:00 PM

Deed is done... dont panic.. enjoy life... and now use a mpira

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
mv ufanisi
#19 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 1:41:00 PM

u should take heart,life goes on even after HIV ask Joe Muriuki.

in any case you might have pulled a Zuma and 'ukapita katikati yao na hawakukuona'

in case you test positive just start treatment as early as possible and maintain a positive mental attitude. There are many Kenyans living positively with the virus. U should be able to continue living a full life with the inconvenience of taking drugs.

My guess is within the next 20 years they will have found a cure/vaccine.
then avoid repeating this mistake.
#20 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 1:48:00 PM

Pole,

I do not see the help the previous posts have given you. They are busy condemning you. Catching aids is not automatic. I hope you got help from a professional and not from blogs.

Baada ya dhiki,faaraja