wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

Ratio of men to women
Yoursmile
#1 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 7:56:22 AM

Ever since I was a little girl I was told that there are 7 women to every one man .As I grew up I realized that in most spheres of life minorities are rarely in power so I could not for the life of me figure out why most spheres of our lives are dominated by men if indeed they are the minority .I researched and researched expecting to find that there are about 1 billion men to about 6.5 billion women in the world if the above statistics are to be believed .(World population is about 7.5 billion ).
Imagine my shock Liar when I discovered that the ratio of men to women is 1.2:1.So that means for every one woman in the world there are 1.2 men .
Now that makes sense ! Would explain a lot .

So hii maneno ya 1 man to 7 women ilitoka wapi?

https://www.unfpa.org/ge...o_by_Country_in_2013.pdf
#2 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:07:12 AM

Ndefo, prince of liars. So that promiscuous men get an excuse to fornicate/adulterate.

#3 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:13:05 AM

I assume this is @magigi now "smiling and dancing". Anyway @yoursmile, your research is not comprehensive. Both genders are born on equal ratio. Some regions of the world kill their female foetus before they re born; say China & India. And these two countries happened to be most populated, so they contribute to majority of men. Otherwise, other regions of the world like Africa and US and Russia etc have most of their male die between 0-5 years (what is called mortality), then between 5-12 years due to dangerous games, then between 13-20 years due to drugs/rough games or activities or driving etc, finally between 20-35 years due insecurity, deaths in forces like KDF or police or being attacked by thugs etc.

So you realize the in adulthood their are fewer male than female.
#4 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:17:59 AM

The ratios for Middle East countries are off the charts. This must be due to the large male foreign workers in the area.
#5 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:34:11 AM

[quote=Yoursmile]Ever since I was a little girl I was told that there are 7 women to every one man .As I grew up I realized that in most spheres of life minorities are rarely in power so I could not for the life of me figure out why most spheres of our lives are dominated by men if indeed they are the minority .I researched and researched expecting to find that there are about 1 billion men to about 6.5 billion women in the world if the above statistics are to be believed .(World population is about 7.5 billion ).
Imagine my shock Liar when I discovered that the ratio of men to women is 1.2:1.So that means for every one woman in the world there are 1.2 men .
Now that makes sense ! Would explain a lot .

So hii maneno ya 1 man to 7 women ilitoka wapi?

https://www.unfpa.org/ge..._by_Country_in_2013.pdf[/quote]

@mysmile have you found a man or you are still searching?
Yoursmile
#6 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:47:07 AM

@Swenani I am self actualised
#7 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:58:23 AM

@yoursmile, both your elders (7:1) and your research (must be google or wikipedia) are right. Why????

Your elders knew to well that not all males end up been men. Also, almost all females end up been women. Thats why! e.g. Binyavangaic race.

So, the research you did was for Females vs Males, and you were right. The facts that your elders introduced to you were for Women vs Men.

Tuko pamoja sasa?

#8 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 9:01:00 AM

Yoursmile wrote:
@Swenani I am self actualised

Noted, Though I have two possible definations of self actualisation as used in your context.
#9 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 9:23:35 AM

The 'scarcity" of men is a real phenomena because of the following facts.
1. Women by far choose older spouses.
2. Men tend to choose younger women.

The net effect is that since global populations keep rising, a woman of say 30yrs, will have to choose from the male population of about 35yrs and above which is relatively smaller and very scarce to find a man yet a man of 30 years will choose women from say 28yrs to 18 years where there are soo many single and free women, this leaves men with an eternal expanding choice of women as he ages and presents the women with an ever diminishing choice because men older than her are already married or dying. Matatu stickers say "Men are like gold, you loose one, you stay without(landings)", it's a fact of life, it's around 5:1 ratio 1 man can pick upto 5 women, and growing.
A New Kenya
#10 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 9:30:08 AM

The net effect is that since global populations keep rising, a woman of say 30yrs, will have to choose from the male population of about 35yrs and above which is relatively smaller and very scarce to find a man yet a man of 30 years will choose women from say 28yrs to 18 years where there are soo many single and free women, this leaves men with an eternal expanding choice of women as he ages and presents the women with an ever diminishing choice because men older than her are already married or dying. Matatu stickers say "Men are like gold, you loose one, you stay without(landings)", it's a fact of life, it's around 5:1 ratio 1 man can pick upto 5 women, and growing.

Correct. So the points are;
1. Ratio of males to females favour females.
2. Ratio of Men to Women favour Men when it comes to family issues.

And thats how unfair life is!!!!!

githundi
#11 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 10:11:04 AM

Makes sense, never looked at it this way.
Although not 1:5, probably 1:1.3 in Africa.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#12 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 10:54:17 AM

Thank you @dunkang for clarifying about male vs female (young) and men vs women (adults).

Experts tell us that by nature male and female are born in equal proportion. But if you ask any pediatrician, a doctor of the children, he will tell you that the female child can fight the germ and disease better than the male child. So at pediatric stage alone, there are more female than male.

As life goes on, due to smoking, due to alcohol, due to accidents (roads), due to war, more 'male' are dying as compared to 'female'.

Today in the world, there are million more women than the men. Only in some countries like India and China, the female population is less than the male population. Do you know why? Because female fetuses are aborted after sex determination tests but also through murder of newborns.

This is why excess women will continue to be one of the major problem of humanity.

An American statistic (sometimes in 2008) tells us that there are 7.8 million more women than men in America, who can't get husbands. If every man in America got married, there is still about 8 million women who can't get husbands. In UK there are 4 million women more than men. In Germany there are 5 million women more than men. In Russia there are 9 million women more than men.
The Creator alone knows how many women more than men in the world.

And I'm glad @much_know has warned women from loosing their men. They should not boast and say oh self-actualization. Still the solution to this excess women problem is real. And Kenya suffers from the same problem.

So people should not fall into these Western thinking who fool you around and they do not have a solution.
#13 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 11:33:17 AM

...'there's too much girls.'

#14 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 1:08:21 PM

githundi wrote:

Do you mean 1:13?
Yoursmile
#15 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 5:09:55 PM

My two cents .Men and women since age immemorial have been seeking each other out for various reasons which keep changing .Humanity must keep up with these changes .Kitambo a woman would look for a man because she wanted the man to protect her from the lion or maybe protect her house from the thieves .In 2014 in the age of MP's being attacked in their own homes and lions being firmly behind the gates of the national park a woman would probably be looking for a man for companionship .For fiscal well being I can fend for myself so as it is right now a woman would be looking for a man for companionship or for propagation of my genes .However from the above statistics we have been informed these companions have all smoked themselves to death or gone off to the port of kismayu to fight al shaabab I am only left with the older men of whom I have to share with 4 other women .Since I and a few other women have not yet evolved to the African notion of sharing a man and even if we had most of these older men suck at companionship anyway since they are too busy looking for money (To fend for the many offspring from each of the five women ) then surely nature would direct me to the next best thing which is just to look for a man for procreation -And the young lasses who have yet to start smoking or too young to join the army are a dime a dozen .My point...maybe marriage will evolve to mean an arrangement where a woman does not necessarily have to be tied down to one man but can procreate from a choice pick of available mates .This allows both men and women to have the best of both worlds without necessarily creating complications that come about due to scarcity and the law of demand and supply
#16 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 6:05:28 PM

Pick any census report locally and the answer has been there all along.I came to summate Kenyans tuna pang'ang'a mingi :)
githundi
#17 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:32:28 PM

githundi wrote:

2. Ratio of Men to Women favour Men when it comes to family issues.p

Do you mean 1:13?

Nay, as it is.
I have done enough numbers to give a wise estimate.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#18 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 10:19:21 PM

Yoursmile wrote:
My two cents .Men and women since age immemorial have been seeking each other out for various reasons which keep changing .Humanity must keep up with these changes .Kitambo a woman would look for a man because she wanted the man to protect her from the lion or maybe protect her house from the thieves .In 2014 in the age of MP's being attacked in their own homes and lions being firmly behind the gates of the national park a woman would probably be looking for a man for companionship .For fiscal well being I can fend for myself so as it is right now a woman would be looking for a man for companionship or for propagation of my genes .However from the above statistics we have been informed these companions have all smoked themselves to death or gone off to the port of kismayu to fight al shaabab I am only left with the older men of whom I have to share with 4 other women .Since I and a few other women have not yet evolved to the African notion of sharing a man and even if we had most of these older men suck at companionship anyway since they are too busy looking for money (To fend for the many offspring from each of the five women ) then surely nature would direct me to the next best thing which is just to look for a man for procreation -And the young lasses who have yet to start smoking or too young to join the army are a dime a dozen .My point...maybe marriage will evolve to mean an arrangement where a woman does not necessarily have to be tied down to one man but can procreate from a choice pick of available mates .This allows both men and women to have the best of both worlds without necessarily creating complications that come about due to scarcity and the law of demand and supply

Applause Applause Applause you should have said you are looking for variety!Laughing out loudly
#19 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 10:31:39 PM

radio wrote:
Yoursmile wrote:

Applause Applause Applause you should have said you are looking for variety!Laughing out loudly

#20 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 10:51:47 PM

This maths is totally wrong. just look around, in the estates , in the village, in the city, everywhere girls are more than boys by ratio 1 boy : 3 or more girls. Your eyes won't lie to you.
Applause Applause smile smile Applause Applause smile smile Applause Laughing out loudly trailer load.. Trailer load... Trailer load.. girls girls everywhere from London , Canada and USA. and not forgetting kenia.
Applause Applause smile Applause Laughing out loudly smile Laughing out loudly Applause