wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

buying used VW Polo
incognito
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 1:11:22 PM

I would like to buy a used VW polo 2005 or 2006.
1. What are the current market prices for 2005/2006 used VW polo?
2. What should i look out for when buying a used polo?
3. Please share personal experiences about your polo
Excelsior
Forester
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 2:12:08 PM

incognito wrote:

@icognito, buy a 2006-2009 series (has better looks and the 2009 model comes with fog lights as a standard feature.

1.Current market price - Kshs. 800k-900k and could be cheaper if you do a direct import yourself.
2.Do a test drive especially if its auto,some seem to jerk when moving from gear 2 to 3.
Check the underneath for scrappes, the vehicle has low ground clearance so you'll be scrapping every pebble on the road with 4 adults inside i.e. gari yako itakuwa kifagio ya kanjosmile.Went to Agba (Ngong Road opp. Auto Express) asking for a quote to raise suspension nikaambiwo 200k+ Sad Sad Pray
3. I do on average 90kms to and from work, it does on average 16-18kms/l but this is strictly highway so around CBD could be higher. Sijui other owner's experience but when i got it used to do 18-20km/l restricted to highway driving.

Otherwise, great car, VERY comfortable, safety pia iko juu(8 airbags,Electronic Stabilization Programme- ESP), full service will cost you circa 12-15k (go to Impala and forget Quest behind Toyota Kenya KABISA)alafu if you damage your front bumper kuwa tayari to wait for aappox. 3 weeks hivi for a replacement.

Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
The Clown
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 3:48:41 PM

The VW Polo is a good small car that I love. Very fuel-efficient: can get 12-15kpl on a 2006 model.

Parts are available from a number of suppliers in Nairobi so that won't be a problem if you live in the city. If you don't, however, it's going to be quite a struggle finding those parts in other towns. The price of most spares is quite reasonable if you get them from reputable dealers.

Don't know about the current market prices cause I bought mine a few years back.

One thing: many VWs tend to have electrical problems so just make sure to have an auto-electrician who's familiar with VWs. Otherwise utalia.
kiriita
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 7:28:25 AM

The Clown wrote:
One thing: many VWs tend to have electrical problems so just make sure to have an auto-electrician who's familiar with VWs. Otherwise utalia.

The Clown, am in need of such. Could you kindly direct me to one? Thanks.

Incognito, sorry for hijacking your thread ...
incognito
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 9:22:04 AM

Forester wrote:
incognito wrote:

@icognito, buy a 2006-2009 series (has better looks and the 2009 model comes with fog lights as a standard feature.

1.Current market price - Kshs. 800k-900k and could be cheaper if you do a direct import yourself.
2.Do a test drive especially if its auto,some seem to jerk when moving from gear 2 to 3.
Check the underneath for scrappes, the vehicle has low ground clearance so you'll be scrapping every pebble on the road with 4 adults inside i.e. gari yako itakuwa kifagio ya kanjosmile.Went to Agba (Ngong Road opp. Auto Express) asking for a quote to raise suspension nikaambiwo 200k+ Sad Sad Pray
3. I do on average 90kms to and from work, it does on average 16-18kms/l but this is strictly highway so around CBD could be higher. Sijui other owner's experience but when i got it used to do 18-20km/l restricted to highway driving.

Otherwise, great car, VERY comfortable, safety pia iko juu(8 airbags,Electronic Stabilization Programme- ESP), full service will cost you circa 12-15k (go to Impala and forget Quest behind Toyota Kenya KABISA)alafu if you damage your front bumper kuwa tayari to wait for aappox. 3 weeks hivi for a replacement.

Nice breakdown. Did you import yours? Where from?

@ Clown Thanks for tip about electricals.
Excelsior
Sasha
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 1:17:10 PM

I have a black polo, 2006 model, KBW ... sitting at home needing an owner. Only needed service once since it got here in August 2013. Drop me a line here if interested sasha.muki@gmail.com
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 5:56:44 PM

Vw polo, small but spacious and highest level of safety. You got to love German precision!
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 6:14:16 PM

Vw polo, small but spacious and highest level of safety. You got to love German precision!

but they need to provide ground clearance for us Africans. Kama itafagia road it's scary especially with our potholes, rough roads and high bumps
tomtom
#9 Posted : Friday, March 21, 2014 4:38:51 AM

but they need to provide ground clearance for us Africans. Kama itafagia road it's scary especially with our potholes, rough roads and high bumps

If africans provide a large enough market for new(not secondhand) cars they will make them with enough ground clearance.smile
sitaki.kujulikana
#10 Posted : Friday, March 21, 2014 8:42:37 AM

tomtom wrote:

If africans provide a large enough market for new(not secondhand) cars they will make them with enough ground clearance.smile

unless they closed it, last I checked vw had a plant in south africa
mmarto
#11 Posted : Friday, March 21, 2014 10:05:25 AM

such kind of vehicles are not designed for this market. But sisi twaenda huko na kununua whatever we come across then ikileta shida we complain.
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
mkeiy
#12 Posted : Friday, March 21, 2014 11:50:27 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
tomtom wrote:

How are South African roads? Africa here is used economy-wise,not geographically.
mmarto
#13 Posted : Friday, March 21, 2014 2:39:41 PM

mkeiy wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
tomtom wrote:

How are South African roads? Africa here is used economy-wise,not geographically.

SA iko tofauti sana my friend. Dont compare their road network with ours.
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
Forester
#14 Posted : Monday, March 24, 2014 9:06:50 AM

incognito wrote:
Forester wrote:
[quote=incognito]I would like to buy a used VW polo 2005 or 2006.

Otherwise, great car, VERY comfortable, safety pia iko juu(8 airbags,Electronic Stabilization Programme- ESP), full service will cost you circa 12-15k (go to Impala and forget Quest behind Toyota Kenya KABISA)alafu if you damage your front bumper kuwa tayari to wait for appox. 3 weeks hivi for a replacement.

@icognito,
Didn't import but got it at a bargain - saved almost 100k. VW has a plant in Japan so most of the ones you see around are ex-japan except for a few.
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
#15 Posted : Monday, March 24, 2014 10:00:09 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
tomtom wrote:

Huge plant in SA. And in SA, VW is what Toyota is in Kenya.
Tokyo
#16 Posted : Monday, March 24, 2014 10:29:10 AM

Forester wrote:
incognito wrote:
Forester wrote:
[quote=incognito]I would like to buy a used VW polo 2005 or 2006.

Otherwise, great car, VERY comfortable, safety pia iko juu(8 airbags,Electronic Stabilization Programme- ESP), full service will cost you circa 12-15k (go to Impala and forget Quest behind Toyota Kenya KABISA)alafu if you damage your front bumper kuwa tayari to wait for appox. 3 weeks hivi for a replacement.

@icognito,
Didn't import but got it at a bargain - saved almost 100k. VW has a plant in Japan so most of the ones you see around are ex-japan except for a few.

VW has a plant in Japan ??

work to prosper
Ash Ock
#17 Posted : Monday, March 24, 2014 11:34:08 AM

incognito wrote:

As an owner of a VW Golf, I highly recommend investing in a CAN BUS USB Interface Diagnostic cable for your soon to be VW product.

Most mechanics who deal with OBD2 diagnostics will only be able to read the engine sensors, while with the CAN BUS you will able to interrogate all the sensors in your VW car, including gearbox, fuel pump, airbags, original radio, etc., and even…cough…change the odometer to your preference.

Gearbox: auto transmission oil must be changed at the most every 100k, even though VW still insist the oil will last the lifetime of the car. Cost will set you back about 5k for 4 liters of transmission oil. NEVER EVER USE THE RED ATF OIL FROM PETROL STATIONS. You should only use the yellow one either from the dealer or very reputable dealers.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
sitaki.kujulikana
#18 Posted : Monday, March 24, 2014 2:39:14 PM

mkeiy wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
tomtom wrote:

never been to south africa, so I can't tell, I also can't tell who the majority of the buyers huko sa are, Africans or Afrikaners smile

but the vw polo is not an of road car, so even if it is manufactured in Africa I doubt if they would increase the ground clearance, otherwise the safety rating would have to be compromised.
mmarto
#19 Posted : Monday, March 24, 2014 3:55:15 PM

As an owner of a VW Golf, I highly recommend investing in a CAN BUS USB Interface Diagnostic cable for your soon to be VW product.

Most mechanics who deal with OBD2 diagnostics will only be able to read the engine sensors, while with the CAN BUS you will able to interrogate all the sensors in your VW car, including gearbox, fuel pump, airbags, original radio, etc., and even…cough…change the odometer to your preference.

Gearbox: auto transmission oil must be changed at the most every 100k, even though VW still insist the oil will last the lifetime of the car. Cost will set you back about 5k for 4 liters of transmission oil. NEVER EVER USE THE RED ATF OIL FROM PETROL STATIONS. You should only use the yellow one either from the dealer or very reputable dealers.

@Ash Ock, very informative. I have used ATF as my gearbox oil after changing the original and the gears feel "hard". Mentioning yellow oil makes me believe i have been missing something.
#20 Posted : Monday, March 24, 2014 4:02:07 PM

Ash Ock wrote:
incognito wrote:

Is this cable (CAN BUS USB Interface Diagnostic cable) available for toyotas?