wazua Wed, Jan 15, 2025

Nation Media Group FY 2013 results Pre-tax Profit up 2.4%
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 2:19:02 PM

NMG Pre-tax Profit up 2.4%

to 3.5B, Nation Media Group dividend stays at KSh 10 a share. DailyNation circulation up 2% op profit up 6% and ad revenue up 12%.
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 2:21:31 PM

2013 was a tough year, wonder whether 2014 will be any better?
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 2:33:02 PM

Such lacklustre results. 2.4% means we barely managed not to have a profit dip.

Yet all drivers looked up, so which business unit is to blame?
Sales for the Group +8%
Nation Newspapers +6%
BD_Africa +51%
Daily Monitor +10%
NTV Kenya +3%
NTV Uganda +8%
Mwananchi communications +29%
Monitor publications +10%

Goldilocks Reloaded
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 2:45:34 PM

I thought 2013 would have been a very good year for them with all the Election campaign advertisements and all...
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 2:48:32 PM

This should be a wakeup call the print business - esp newspaper sales will definitely dip. If they are not into pay TV then sijui. Seems they made money during the election time and the rest of the time things went flat
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 2:48:43 PM

This is interesting. Anyone with the detailed report?
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 2:53:07 PM

WOLOLO! Other than CFC Stanbic Bank and PanAfric, the year has been TOUGH!!!!!

#8 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 3:00:18 PM

muganda wrote:

Sales for the Group +8%
Nation Newspapers +6%
BD_Africa +51%
Daily Monitor +10%
NTV Kenya +3%
NTV Uganda +8%

Nation Hela? But not suprised by NTVKenya with people like madowo
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 3:16:10 PM

@murchr I must agree. TV is like showbiz, it makes you think someone is doing so well. What with the 73% reach they're indicating, then results - alas!

Okay here we go http://www.nationmedia.com/docs...ultsInvestorBriefing.pdf

The culprit is Operating Expenses up 11.7%. Seconded by a decrease in Cash generated from Operations.
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 3:45:59 PM

muganda wrote:

Sales for the Group +8%
Nation Newspapers +6%
BD_Africa +51%
Daily Monitor +10%
NTV Kenya +3%
NTV Uganda +8%

On the Radio slide they seem to have deliberately excluded Easy FM while they have the newer Q FM. I think that must be the loss maker as it needs big egos and money to effectively compete directly with Kiss, Classic, Capital.

Fyatu
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 4:08:48 PM

muganda wrote:

Sales for the Group +8%
Nation Newspapers +6%
BD_Africa +51%
Daily Monitor +10%
NTV Kenya +3%
NTV Uganda +8%

Nation Hela? But not suprised by NTVKenya with people like madowo

NTV has very poor picture quality/very poor sound. Very poor news studio. Just flip to KTN today at 7PM or at Prime time or tomorrow's breakfast show to see what i'm talkng about. Hata CORDTV is better in terms of picture and sound. If you look at their programming you get very depressed.Lets not even go to the presenters..
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#12 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 4:54:26 PM

muganda wrote:
@murchr I must agree. TV is like showbiz, it makes you think someone is doing so well. What with the 73% reach they're indicating, then results - alas!

Okay here we go http://www.nationmedia.com/docs...ultsInvestorBriefing.pdf

The culprit is Operating Expenses up 11.7%. Seconded by a decrease in Cash generated from Operations.

VAT on newspapers must have dampened the circulation growth.
#13 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 5:19:00 PM

Other income= Nsoko? That dip is big
streetwise
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 5:21:03 PM

Tells me what I have always thought..no money in print media and worse may come..more so with all these Digital moves..
hisah
#15 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 5:56:48 PM

I'm in this counter and this results are nasty. Very nasty Sad

Daily nation revenue is as bad as it gets while The EA publication they didn't bother to show if it made any profits/losses. In an election year, I expect much better revenues...

EPS = 13.4 while share price today = 323 means P/E = 24.1 - too overpriced. I have to sell this one and take that measly gain as the fundies are quite bad. Also if they lose that digital migration case against gok, it will get more squeaky for their ad revenues.

I expect the price to dip going forward just like EABL and the only saving grace is winning the case vs gok.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#16 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 6:02:53 PM

@hisah what is lacking here is leadership. One cannot fight an idea whose time has come. Safcom is getn into paytv, its either they conform or perish