wazua Wed, Jan 15, 2025

SCBK results: Efficient banking finally paying off?
AmHere
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 6:14:00 AM

Half hear PBT up by over 40%. Growth driven by significant rise in interest income. Are any other of the other big boys likely to beat that?
Mainat
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 6:22:00 AM

I doubt it. StanChart always does well during periods of economic downturn in Kenya. It just puts alot of cash into t-bills and reduces costs. Its buying up First Africa will also mean steady incease in fees.

And ofcourse it doesn't have the kind of npls and loan loss provisioning that the other banks face.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Kausha
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 12:22:00 PM

On relative basis compared to other banks they have done well,however on go forward perspective these results look to me as a one off and unlikely to be repeated next year. They have grown their loan book by 7B for the first half but bear in mind these are largely syndicated loans i suspect to orange,safcom,kprl etc. The cost of these loans is unlikely to be above 10%. Most of the income growth is from upward revisions of rates on lending to wananchi and SMEs - those who can't jitetea. Last year Stanchart kicked off a lending campaign at very competitive rates. These loans were fixed at prime + spread. When liquidity started drying up this early year,the same guys revised the prime upwards sustantially. Result is people are paying at 2-3% higher than what they put pen to paper,that counts for a lot especially for new loans coz of amortization....Problem is when liquidity improves and the likes of KCB,BBK and Co-op return to the market with better rates,I can guarantee you,that stanchart loan book will either haemorrhage or they will have to sacrifice those nice margins they are shafting clients with. They have not invested,if you look their rentals are only 21m higher meaning a branch here or there,staff costs are flat. So question is how did they grow,and the technology they keep bragging with,theirs is quite behind,to even pay an elec bill you have to register,to pay dstv you have to register,all other banks you just walk to the wall and sort yourself out and get a receipt to keep. There is no internet access to your account,mobile phone you have to register and wait to be called with password and hope it works. We all know equity has the most advanced banking systems just ahead of NIC. Stanchart has not invested,and am sure their clients are shopping for a bargain on interest rates already. They claim to know the middle income market very intimately,but if you look clearly apart from excel most other products are nothing to write home about,that includes X and Diva. I may be a pessimist but i would rather a bank that is chasing real growth not mirages.
Jamani
#4 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 10:12:17 AM

2013 finacial report?
Jamani
#5 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 11:21:10 AM

Dear Wazuans,

When does SCBK release results? Or expected to?

Thanks.

Jamani
#6 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 12:37:30 PM

It appears wazuans are not into SCBK....
mwekez@ji
#7 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 4:53:49 PM

@Jamani, indeed hii counter haina ma-funs wengi.

....................................................................................................

The results are likely to be out this week and in any case not later than next week. Banks must report by end month as per the set CBK deadline ... Expecting NBK to also report this week.
#8 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 5:28:52 PM

Jamani wrote:

Dear Wazuans,

Thanks.

I hear Wednesday 19th March.
Jamani
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 18, 2014 12:46:13 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Jamani wrote:

Dear Wazuans,

Thanks.

Thanks GG.
mwekez@ji
#10 Posted : Friday, March 21, 2014 5:49:22 PM

Jamani wrote:

Dear Wazuans,

Thanks.

Now known, coming up on Tuesday, 25th March 2014
gatoho
#11 Posted : Saturday, March 22, 2014 9:37:38 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Jamani wrote:

Dear Wazuans,

Thanks.

I have all of 37 shares!
Foresight..