Market
Pennywise
Zain Kenya: The worst data service provider in the Southern Hemisphere
that is according to my stats. fibre or no fibre their internet has wildly swung from naive then to sexy before settling into the downright immoral range. kila siku these days is 5 kbps max. is it that they send data packets via messenger or what????? i am thinking of committing to my mpango wa kando now that the initial thrill has kwishad and zain is no longer as attractive as before. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
it shouldnt even be called data...perhaps Lack of data services. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
no wonder they are dishing out unlimited internet access... Lol! When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly.... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
bulls*** - I use Zain for voice and data - no complaints. I know the highest they have is Edge (2.5G) but it has superior availability compared to SCOM (why do you think SCOM have the see saw tariff - to allow both data and voice quality to be high and reduce congestion)...simple. And I'd like to try Orange as well...those are people to watch (and in SCOMs case,people to imitate or try to out think). I think you guys must work for SCOM...
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
djinn - and you must work for zain ama you are the guy who physically carries our data packets from point a to b and so have no idea what good internet is? i realize 5 kbps might be superfast depending on who you ask. seriously,what average speed are you experiencing on your zain connection? Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
Just terminated a contact we had with them,and now hooked to fibre optic
Don't sit and wait - look for the next opportunity
It's true that Zain has,for the last 6 weeks,sucked royally. The best speeds I get,even if I surf at 3am,are 5kbps. Now that's nasty. I've been a customer for almost two years but they've now lost me.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
Eish,You gys stop exaggerating! Zain is slow..but not thaat slow. I use Zain,Safcom and Orange. And while their order of speed is 1. Safcom 2. Orange 3. Zain things aint that bad with Zain,I barely even notice the difference especially between Zain and Orange! Safcom i use mainly when am in a hurry or need to download huge stuff/watch something online,and YES it is very fast. But i agree with Djinn,Lazima you guys work for safcom! Eish....! You're exaggerating! Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't.. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
leona this is my experience for real. hakuna exaggeration. maybe the southern hemisphere part. otherwise kenya,wako down tu sana. na vile unaona hapa i am not in the minority. have a number of people i know that are on zain and the experience of the majority ni hiyo tu. labda these guys are giving better connectivity to some areas of town. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
One can only complain of safcom's cost,otherwise they provide the best speed! Surely Djinn av neva worked for safcom lakini zain is whack in data! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@leona
During June - August,I could download PS1 image files of 500-700MB in about 4-5 hours (SAFCOM users,please don't laugh). Now,I'll consider myself very very lucky if I could do the same in 4-5 days. I've spent countless hours fighting with Zain but to no avail. My AV updates,even those o 100KB(!) take about 5 minutes to download. I'm outta here Zain!
I have only used the safcom one and to be sincere the last couple of months has been having super high speeds,
For Zain,everyone says it whacks!!!
Djinnm you work for Zain-am sure of that!! Hamna shida tetea employer
Got Orange bundle that i don't use. Stopped after i connected my Safaricom 3G phone as a modem. Downloads are like flipping pages. Yaani,it just opens. Can't believe.
Life is too short.
i use Zain and with no complaints coz i know its 2.5G. And its obvious you guys are exaggerating far too much. . safaricom might have better quality but its cost is punitive. honestly,am comfortable with Zain,i don't need to keep checking my usage. i guess during the next hutch or sagana,we try this out once and for all.
I cannot talk about data but i can gripe about their zap pesa transfer. The other day,i wanted to send 20k thru zap. To begin with,i get a msg telling me i have to send it in chunks of 5k. So I send the first 5k and I get confirmation. Maze kutuma 2nd 5k,mitambo ikakwama hapo...no confirmation...simu ikaenda blank. I got so frustrated I gave up. Zain is supposed to be cheaper than Safaricom but with such business practices,how do they hope to compete?
Zain experience pure luxury... picture this type in url hit enter stare @ blank page for a bit. Light up smoke halfway.. login page finally password hit enter.. now for some coffee... half way through nothing yet now where is todays paper lean back relax no hurry.
Safaricom pure stress... modem connect.... within seconds cout down one mb down already hiyo ni pesa tayari nav in and out of pages within minutes 25mb...no time to hanya hanya on the net i believe most of the mbs we pay for... pure fiction. Ah heres the download i needed itunes 9 latest 80mbs... hit download. a couple minutes done quick disconect... check how many mbs down damn! 300mbs!!! what the @****#
in case u r wondering hacked my modem.... now can be used with any provider.... shouldnt have to buy a modem each for saf,zain or whomever else comes on board
@bigye,ati it takes 5 minutes to download 100KB on zain?, are you willing to put your money where your mouth is? wacha porojo and lets try it out practically.
...anyway,...Now that you download your 700MB using safaricom,how much does that cost you,since you pay-as-you-go it costs you Ksh 7000. or if are you using the cheapest bundle that will be Ksh. 1750 and you will have used up 70% of your 1GB bundle.
How much would the same cost on Zain,unlimited daily bundles from between Ksh 180 to Ksh. 250 per day. and you will still have your unlimited bundle.
So,its really a trade off between speed and cost.
@subzero
I do agree with you 199.99%. Before last month,the speeds were ok (downloads @ ~25-30kbps). That's why I was able to download as much as I wanted. On average,with Youtube etc,I was able to download about 7-8GB per month,and all that for only 2'995/-
It's only been during the last 6 weeks where things are really bad. As I do download alot of stuff (Windows 7 & MacOS are BIG!),I really have no choice but to continue using Zain. But Zain's speed needs to improve. The 5 minutes for 100kb was not a joke. It happened quite a few times since the speeds dropped.
I've gotten myself Safcom for my business email but not for downloads.
nobody defending zain so far has come out boldly to state the speed they have been experiencing. zain imeanguka from 25-30kbps a number of weeks ago to 5kbps now. nothing personal. just facts. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
Market
Pennywise
Zain Kenya: The worst data service provider in the Southern Hemisphere