heri
#41 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 10:25:10 AM

PKoli wrote:
vastcapital wrote:
[quote=obiero]Personally I know of no one who holds a NBK account. Thats part reason as to why I cant invest. To me NBK is like Yu!

The last person who I personally knew to have an account with them vowed never to step into that bank,we discussed this I believe in the Market section,this is one bank with poor customer care something they should have sorted out way back...

National Bank wins Global re-branding award!
http://www.rebrand.com/d...-national-bank-of-kenya[/quote]

Last time I saw a company seriously do marketing /rebranding was CIC. I think NBK has a bright future
Coz it rebranded? There's more to re-branding. It has to change attitudes, customer service, innovation, etc ... not just logos and colors. Old wine in new bags does no good.

@VVS

Agreed, but NBK is doing more than rebranding from management changes at the top to service. I think they are on the right track.

they are doing more

i used to have an account about 2 years ago and you could hardly find ATMs -these days i see them coming up in many places. not sure whether that is entirely a good thing from a cost perspective but i feel their presence much more
a4architect.com
#42 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 2:36:46 PM

i have an account with NBK. Recently a client sent money to my account through rtgs and it took me 2 days and losts of emails/phone calls/visits to the bank for the money to reflect in my account. For money transactions that are time sensitive, NBK can easily cause unnecessary delay.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#43 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 5:39:36 PM

heri wrote:
PKoli wrote:
vastcapital wrote:
[quote=obiero]Personally I know of no one who holds a NBK account. Thats part reason as to why I cant invest. To me NBK is like Yu!

The last person who I personally knew to have an account with them vowed never to step into that bank,we discussed this I believe in the Market section,this is one bank with poor customer care something they should have sorted out way back...

Last time I saw a company seriously do marketing /rebranding was CIC. I think NBK has a bright future
Coz it rebranded? There's more to re-branding. It has to change attitudes, customer service, innovation, etc ... not just logos and colors. Old wine in new bags does no good.

@VVS

Agreed, but NBK is doing more than rebranding from management changes at the top to service. I think they are on the right track.

they are doing more

i used to have an account about 2 years ago and you could hardly find ATMs -these days i see them coming up in many places. not sure whether that is entirely a good thing from a cost perspective but i feel their presence much more

I have also started to notice. They have a shiny new branch on Ngong road near Prestige.
#44 Posted : Saturday, March 08, 2014 8:04:55 AM

heri wrote:
PKoli wrote:
vastcapital wrote:

@VVS

they are doing more

I have also started to notice. They have a shiny new branch on Ngong road near Prestige.

I wish them well, but brick and mortar is being replaced by agencies and mobile.. Who has used their mobile banking platform and what is it called??? Actually, do they even have one???

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#45 Posted : Saturday, March 08, 2014 9:53:48 AM

The company has the brightest of prospects on the NSE.. Lakini with its shares hakuna kitu hapo as long as GOK can wake up morning and decide to convert those prefs!!

vastcapital
#46 Posted : Saturday, March 08, 2014 1:10:07 PM

guru267 wrote:
The company has the brightest of prospects on the NSE.. Lakini with its shares hakuna kitu hapo as long as GOK can wake up morning and decide to convert those prefs!!

The prefs are likely to be converted during the rights issue.

vastcapital
#47 Posted : Saturday, March 08, 2014 1:12:05 PM

guru267 wrote:

vastcapital
#48 Posted : Saturday, March 08, 2014 1:20:34 PM

guru267 wrote:

Mucene
#49 Posted : Tuesday, March 11, 2014 10:34:54 AM

heri wrote:
PKoli wrote:
vastcapital wrote:

@VVS

they are doing more

I wish them well, but brick and mortar is being replaced by agencies and mobile.. Who has used their mobile banking platform and what is it called??? Actually, do they even have one???

They do have a mobile banking platform and also online banking they call nbkonline
If you don't want to go to plan B have a good plan A.
Mucene
#50 Posted : Tuesday, March 11, 2014 10:40:42 AM

heri wrote:
PKoli wrote:
vastcapital wrote:

@VVS

they are doing more

They actually have a mobile banking platform and also online banking they call nbkonline though I've never used either
If you don't want to go to plan B have a good plan A.
georgegop
#51 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 7:38:34 AM

Treasury to earn Sh4.5bn from National Bank debt settlement
Don't Work for Money, Let Money Work for You..
#52 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 7:57:37 AM

My gut tells me that this Rights issue will be a flop. How many shareholders will contribute money to pay off the same gov that wasted the bank? If GOK and NSSF commit to the rights, then i will gladly buy post rights.
hisah
#53 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 9:47:06 AM

My gut tells me that this Rights issue will be a flop. How many shareholders will contribute money to pay off the same gov that wasted the bank? If GOK and NSSF commit to the rights, then i will gladly buy post rights.

If rights issue does succeed and the pref shares are wiped off the book, NBK will be a buy target.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Gadaffi
#54 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 3:17:10 PM

Team NBK mko wapi..th share has bin on an upward trend of late na bado results za H1. Leo iko 33.5
#55 Posted : Sunday, May 31, 2015 3:45:29 AM

the EastAfrican wrote:
Kenya’s Treasury has deleted from its revised budget estimates a provision for Ksh5 billion ($51 million) it would have made from selling its rights in National Bank of Kenya and Mumias Sugar Company, a move that could delay plans by the two firms to raise additional capital.

The government had initially opted not to take up additional shares in the bank and sugar miller, and factored the Ksh5 billion ($51 million) it would have made as a result of the decision into financing part of the budget deficit estimated at Ksh566.95 billion ($5.78 billion) in the 2015/2016 fiscal year.
instinct
#56 Posted : Sunday, May 31, 2015 10:56:40 AM

it could also mean they intend to take up the rights?
xxxxx
#57 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 7:23:00 AM

instinct wrote:
it could also mean they intend to take up the rights?

In fact this is what was reported in December.See story below http://www.businessdaily...4/-/5osxtiz/-/index.html