Candidates too bright, exams too easy or both?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
quicksand wrote:CLK wrote:kamundu wrote:CLK wrote:Fewer subjects compared to the 90s, more time for cramming. This I agree. Plus google and wikipedia. There are times i envy these brats... The same was said about us, the 8-4-4 brats when we were in Primary and Secondary school ...oooh sijui diluted curriculum, easier exams etc etc. My uncles and older nephews who had done the Form 6 thing didn't allow me a moment's peace; Now we make the same allegations against these youngsters. Times change, things change. There is more information, more tools and ways to disseminate it. They will turn out alright just like we did. There was even a lot of fuss about the parallel program! And somewhere else on the forum there is a thread slamming the likes of KEMU and other "lesser" universities. They have to start somewhere. Those who don't adapt die. hebu waambie!! we were doing some really useless things like Music e.t.c. Who says education needs to be hard? think about it education today is increasing levels of 'hardness' until you cannot take it any more. our philosophy on education needs to change. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:quicksand wrote:CLK wrote:kamundu wrote:CLK wrote:Fewer subjects compared to the 90s, more time for cramming. This I agree. Plus google and wikipedia. There are times i envy these brats... The same was said about us, the 8-4-4 brats when we were in Primary and Secondary school ...oooh sijui diluted curriculum, easier exams etc etc. My uncles and older nephews who had done the Form 6 thing didn't allow me a moment's peace; Now we make the same allegations against these youngsters. Times change, things change. There is more information, more tools and ways to disseminate it. They will turn out alright just like we did. There was even a lot of fuss about the parallel program! And somewhere else on the forum there is a thread slamming the likes of KEMU and other "lesser" universities. They have to start somewhere. Those who don't adapt die. hebu waambie!! we were doing some really useless things like Music e.t.c. Who says education needs to be hard? think about it education today is increasing levels of 'hardness' until you cannot take it any more. our philosophy on education needs to change. I disagree. Music was not useless. Nicely composed music that has harmony and melody is hard to come by nowadays. Now, siku hizi, they try to create musicians in project fames and what not but they end up only as one hit wonders who can only create rhythm. Only. Tupu. Brats.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Muriel wrote:masukuma wrote:quicksand wrote:CLK wrote:kamundu wrote:CLK wrote:Fewer subjects compared to the 90s, more time for cramming. This I agree. Plus google and wikipedia. There are times i envy these brats... The same was said about us, the 8-4-4 brats when we were in Primary and Secondary school ...oooh sijui diluted curriculum, easier exams etc etc. My uncles and older nephews who had done the Form 6 thing didn't allow me a moment's peace; Now we make the same allegations against these youngsters. Times change, things change. There is more information, more tools and ways to disseminate it. They will turn out alright just like we did. There was even a lot of fuss about the parallel program! And somewhere else on the forum there is a thread slamming the likes of KEMU and other "lesser" universities. They have to start somewhere. Those who don't adapt die. hebu waambie!! we were doing some really useless things like Music e.t.c. Who says education needs to be hard? think about it education today is increasing levels of 'hardness' until you cannot take it any more. our philosophy on education needs to change. I disagree. Music was not useless. Nicely composed music that has harmony and melody is hard to come by nowadays. Now, siku hizi, they try to create musicians in project fames and what not but they end up only as one hit wonders who can only create rhythm. Only. Tupu. Brats. As a mandatory, examinable subject, it was  I did it and little good it has done me. However, it should not be completely scrapped. It should be taught as an introduction for a period of time to kids, and then schools that have the capacity can offer it as an optional examinable subject. May be a few kids would be interested to take it to advanced levels and hence there wouldn't be a total loss. There is precedent for this,..some hip schools teach French and German, others Woodwork, Technical Design, Electricity, Power Mechanics, Aviation. These are not widely available courses, but they enrich the curriculum. It is also time we lay the foundation for specialized schools (which offer Bachelors or Diplomas) ..such as Sports and Sports Management, Music (like Juilliard), Drama, Cinema and performing arts etc etc
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Education specially at the early stags is not about studying or indulging in what will benefit you, at the primary and to some extent secondary level most kids are still discovering themselves and so it would be foolhardy to say, only teach maths and languages since that is what most people need in life.
warudishe all those subjects, music, homescience, art, crafts ...
and knec should stop being lazy, 50% should be project work with students defending the same before examiners.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Perhaps the education system should be reformed to look at extra curricular activities that require skills that are tested in real life instead of just looking at a students ability to cram and drill.
For example hapo stateside the Ivy league consider factors such as the following :
1.Top computer science programs like MIT ama Stanford, they look at what computer programming competitions you won. There are programming competitions between the best high schools. Hapo stateside there are 12-year-olds building mobile apps.Recently a teenager sold his mobile app to Yahoo for $ 32 Million.
2. Top Law schools look at how well a student performed in Mock Trials competitions. These are the equivalent of inter school debates. The difference is that high students actually have to study concepts of law. Each team then presented with a case and assigned the job of prosecutor or defence attorney. And the two teams have to argue the case like a real court of law. Excelling in MOCK trials is a passport to going to the best law schools.
3. Some schools even look at extra curricula work like volunteering.
4. Even non academic extra curricular activties are counted. Universities are interested in students who are well rounded and not one dimensional. A student who scores A but also plays sports is better than one who does nothing but study.
Long story short, exam should not be the only criteria. There should be other criteria to separate the real problem solvers from robots who are just drilled or just cram but cannot think their way out of a phone booth.
@masukuma, music was useless? How now? I still envy guys who did Music in school while I did a 'non value adding' subject-commerce. Some of those subjects akina Homescience, Art, Craft, Agriculture had very good applicable things. You could see that even the teachers enjoyed teaching them. They should be brought back. It's one of the things I feel Moi regime was right
nakujua wrote:Education specially at the early stags is not about studying or indulging in what will benefit you, at the primary and to some extent secondary level most kids are still discovering themselves and so it would be foolhardy to say, only teach maths and languages since that is what most people need in life.
warudishe all those subjects, music, homescience, art, crafts ...
and knec should stop being lazy, 50% should be project work with students defending the same before examiners. you can always go the international baccalaureate curriculum way for your kids. the fees are actually reasonable. considering.
From the trend below hata huko mayuu the same chida is evident UK GCSE Grades Awarded (%'age) Rink ==>UK GCSE Grades Awarded (%'age)"😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Lolest! wrote:@masukuma, music was useless? How now? I still envy guys who did Music in school while I did a 'non value adding' subject-commerce. Some of those subjects akina Homescience, Art, Craft, Agriculture had very good applicable things. You could see that even the teachers enjoyed teaching them. They should be brought back. It's one of the things I feel Moi regime was right Actually those subject ensured that even a Std 8 drop out had some skills. Today the sudents know zilch...even the basic stitches, it's a shame really!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
What will the JAB cut off point be?I propose A-.
Candidates too bright, exams too easy or both?