wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

6 Pages«<23456>
Candidates too bright, exams too easy or both?
kamundu
#31 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 5:02:07 PM

kamundu wrote:
I know a student from Bush who got a plain A and ended up doing Med Para.
During our days even A- used to do Med!

Nowadays, If you get B+ you can do Medical under module II(parallel)

Not true. Even with an A- you may not be admitted for Med para UON.
Peace in our Homeland.
kamundu
#32 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 5:04:03 PM

CLK wrote:
Fewer subjects compared to the 90s, more time for cramming.

This I agree.
Plus google and wikipedia.
Peace in our Homeland.
limanika
#33 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 5:39:03 PM

vmartin wrote:
urstill1 wrote:
They have recycled questions so many times that schools have mastered the trend and can easily predict what's coming in the next exam. My high school math teacher could set paper 2 exam after we have done paper one., that's what he told us. As for the practicals, schools get instructions and list of required apparatus months before the exam. From there hence forth, it's drilling and no learning. We are after A's. Quite a number of these guys drop out of the nice science based programmes or end up balancing books if at all they make it through.

Damn right

True. From apparatus list, even teachers in TP (Teaching Practice) will tell you what to expect in paper 2 practical. And this practical accounts for 50%. No wonder some schools are posting ‘impressive results’. It is time NSIS posted ‘teachers’ to some of these schools.
Pedes
#34 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 5:50:22 PM

limanika wrote:
vmartin wrote:
urstill1 wrote:
They have recycled questions so many times that schools have mastered the trend and can easily predict what's coming in the next exam. My high school math teacher could set paper 2 exam after we have done paper one., that's what he told us. As for the practicals, schools get instructions and list of required apparatus months before the exam. From there hence forth, it's drilling and no learning. We are after A's. Quite a number of these guys drop out of the nice science based programmes or end up balancing books if at all they make it through.

Damn right

True. From apparatus list, even teachers in TP (Teaching Practice) will tell you what to expect in paper 2 practical. And this practical accounts for 50%. No wonder some schools are posting ‘impressive results’. It is time NSIS posted ‘teachers’ to some of these schools.

If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 5:51:26 PM

kamundu wrote:
I know a student from Bush who got a plain A and ended up doing Med Para.
During our days even A- used to do Med!

Nowadays, If you get B+ you can do Medical under module II(parallel)

Not true. Even with an A- you may not be admitted for Med para UON.

Then you can try Med parallel at Moi, KU, Maseno etc. Chule ni mingi.
CLK
#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 5:58:33 PM

kamundu wrote:
CLK wrote:

This I agree.

There are times i envy these brats...
Tokyo
#37 Posted : Wednesday, March 05, 2014 12:02:45 AM

Genuine C+ with money and kids have more options than many with A plain.
Sad but true.
work to prosper
#38 Posted : Wednesday, March 05, 2014 4:39:02 AM

We have a flawed education system. It beats me how 8 years of ones life can be summarized in a week of written tests, how 4 years of teenage training, in a month!? We are just churning out zombies/crammers. Young adults who don't now exactly what they want to do/be 12+ years later.

And medicine needs to be a second degree after a nutrition and/or farming based first degree. Otherwise cancer and drug-resistant diseases will finish us.

#39 Posted : Wednesday, March 05, 2014 5:13:31 AM

Iko Kitu hapa

In the orijino 8-4-4 candidates sat the following subjects

KCPE :- Eng, Maths, Kisw, GHCRe, Science and Agric, HomeScience Music & art n Craft

In Sec they sat a min of 10 subjects

Maths
English
Swa
Chemistry
biology
Physics
history n gov
Geography
religious Educ
Any from
metalwork, Woodwork, HomeScience ,
Accounts, commerce, economics French , music etc

Compare with what kids do Siku hizi and even the diluted curriculum
#40 Posted : Wednesday, March 05, 2014 7:17:25 AM

CLK wrote:
kamundu wrote:
CLK wrote:

This I agree.

There are times i envy these brats...

The same was said about us, the 8-4-4 brats when we were in Primary and Secondary school ...oooh sijui diluted curriculum, easier exams etc etc. My uncles and older nephews who had done the Form 6 thing didn't allow me a moment's peace; Now we make the same allegations against these youngsters. Times change, things change. There is more information, more tools and ways to disseminate it. They will turn out alright just like we did.
There was even a lot of fuss about the parallel program! And somewhere else on the forum there is a thread slamming the likes of KEMU and other "lesser" universities. They have to start somewhere.
Those who don't adapt die.
6 Pages«<23456>