Talk2Us
Wazua/SK charity Club-Update on Ruiru rehab child sponsorship
McReggae wrote:sheri wrote:alma wrote:For this one please don't raise your voice if you didn't participate.
The boy may not have performed as well as the A+ but vision and co did a job worthy of human beings. Who said that the only people who need support at those that get an A?
So what happens to the fools like me who could never pass an exam?
Given his upbringing, I'm happily surprised that he actually finished his exams. Given the amount of time, effort and monies given by wazuans on this projuct, you should be ashamed for commenting here if all you do is go for mbuzis and take pikshas.
Congrats to the guys who held this boy from form 1 to finishing high school. I am happy for samuel. Its sad to read some comments here at wazua. The boy can now join a technical college, kenya need plumbers, electricians, mechanics, etc. Negative energy imenjaa wazua. Can all students be "A" material? Hii mafeelings and trying to gag others haina maana, I'm sure if the boy had scored all As we would all be here congratulating him, what is the problem in asking about the many Ds???? I am sure those not wanting us to comment on the very poor performance would be very concerned if their own kids came home with that many Ds. Or would they hug them and tell them that all kids are gifted differently? The least one would expect when they are paying someones fees is for the student to work hard and get some acceptable grades, not 5 Ds.
I don't think anyone has gagged anyone. Just saying that on some issues, comment with some facts behind your sentences. On this particular occasion, you are so wrong its a bit sad to see you trying to work your way out of it. Sure we would have loved to see A's. We didn't. But trying to say it was a failure coz he didn't score a maranda A is the epitome of trying to justify one's own issues. The young man got an C-. His future had been he would have been a parking boy in form 2 in Thika. That was forestalled thanks to the men and women who participated in trying to right something. Heko kwao and hope they don't read your posts and wonder why they should try and help the next one. Or maybe we should start helping others only if they wear a T-Shirt saying I gotta hava A. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:I don't think anyone has gagged anyone.
Just saying that on some issues, comment with some facts behind your sentences. On this particular occasion, you are so wrong its a bit sad to see you trying to work your way out of it.
Sure we would have loved to see A's. We didn't. But trying to say it was a failure coz he didn't score a maranda A is the epitome of trying to justify one's own issues.
The young man got an C-. His future had been he would have been a parking boy in form 2 in Thika. That was forestalled thanks to the men and women who participated in trying to right something.
Heko kwao and hope they don't read your posts and wonder why they should try and help the next one. Or maybe we should start helping others only if they wear a T-Shirt saying I gotta hava A. C'mon boss, why don't lay these facts bare for all to see, are they so secret that they can't be shared? Heck we have even seen results from Prisoners, pity does not help us solve any problem!!!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Macman I don't want to comment anymore on this issue. The fact is that someone on wazua had the will to organise others to help another who was in an extremely bad spot. Wazuans were called to participate. Some did others didn't. For 4 years, some wazuans walked hand in hand with this young man who's future was considered worthless. He may not be Alliance material but he's a young man who worked to stay off the streets. This is probably one of the few things I can name that wazua members have ever done. Now to come 4 years later to say how sharp maranda kids are compared to this one is very, not kosher. People used to come from other countries to see this young boy. His report cards were discussed and some of your concerns raised. But at least these guys were not domo domo tu. They tried to do something. Sending meager funds, spending their time, sending books. I wonder what this young would think if he ever saw posts here insinuating that he's a failure since he didn't get a bush A. Not to me. I think he's done very well in view of his circumstances and if passing form 4 exams was the measure of a man, I dare say that we would be a very different country. Kudos to the young man. Kudos to vision2030 for doing the impossible. Kudos to the men and women who sacrificed their time and lives to help out. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:Macman I don't want to comment anymore on this issue.
The fact is that someone on wazua had the will to organise others to help another who was in an extremely bad spot. Wazuans were called to participate. Some did others didn't.
For 4 years, some wazuans walked hand in hand with this young man who's future was considered worthless. He may not be Alliance material but he's a young man who worked to stay off the streets.
This is probably one of the few things I can name that wazua members have ever done.
Now to come 4 years later to say how sharp maranda kids are compared to this one is very, not kosher.
People used to come from other countries to see this young boy. His report cards were discussed and some of your concerns raised. But at least these guys were not domo domo tu. They tried to do something. Sending meager funds, spending their time, sending books.
I wonder what this young would think if he ever saw posts here insinuating that he's a failure since he didn't get a bush A.
Not to me. I think he's done very well in view of his circumstances and if passing form 4 exams was the measure of a man, I dare say that we would be a very different country.
Kudos to the young man. Kudos to vision2030 for doing the impossible. Kudos to the men and women who sacrificed their time and lives to help out. I don't want to downplay the efforts made by Vision 2030 and company, indeed it was a great and may God bless the to continue with the same heart. I still insist that I find nothing wrong with people asking why there are so many Ds in his results!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 4/6/2010 Posts: 741 Location: Nairobi
Everybody deserves an opportunity.
chepkel wrote:Everybody deserves an opportunity. Including an opportunity to land and be landed If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:chepkel wrote:Everybody deserves an opportunity. Including an opportunity to land and be landed Of course
chepkel wrote:Swenani wrote:chepkel wrote:Everybody deserves an opportunity. Including an opportunity to land and be landed Of course There you go. @Swenani will be following up on this shortly.
chepkel wrote:Swenani wrote:chepkel wrote:Everybody deserves an opportunity. Including an opportunity to land and be landed Of course ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
chepkel wrote:Swenani wrote:chepkel wrote:Everybody deserves an opportunity. Including an opportunity to land and be landed Of course Am currently looking for an opportunity? Let me know where to find you . Thanks in advance If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:chepkel wrote:Swenani wrote:chepkel wrote:Everybody deserves an opportunity. Including an opportunity to land and be landed Of course Am currently looking for an opportunity? Let me know where to find you . Thanks in advance Panda ndege to the land of the Pharaohs
newfarer wrote:hi wazuans below are the kcse results for samuel.the wazua charity kid.
MEAN GRADE C-
ENG 101 C+ KIS 102 C MAT 121 D PHY 232 D- CHE 233 D GEO 312 D+ CRE 313 B- BUS 565 D- he may not have made it to being a doctor as we had anticípated but given the círcumstances and the way he was performing at school level last year .i can say he has pleasantly surprised me. got this from vision2030 could you at the very least afford him some privacy? like not provide his name and index number on the internet?
mkenyan wrote:newfarer wrote:hi wazuans below are the kcse results for samuel.the wazua charity kid.
XXXXXXX INDEX: XXXXXXX MEAN GRADE C-
ENG 101 C+ KIS 102 C MAT 121 D PHY 232 D- CHE 233 D GEO 312 D+ CRE 313 B- BUS 565 D- he may not have made it to being a doctor as we had anticípated but given the círcumstances and the way he was performing at school level last year .i can say he has pleasantly surprised me. got this from vision2030 could you at the very least afford him some privacy? like not provide his name and index number on the internet? Hahaha, you go ahead to quote the post with his name and index number on the internet. #Unahitajimaombi If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:mkenyan wrote:newfarer wrote:hi wazuans below are the kcse results for samuel.the wazua charity kid.
MEAN GRADE C-
ENG 101 C+ KIS 102 C MAT 121 D PHY 232 D- CHE 233 D GEO 312 D+ CRE 313 B- BUS 565 D- he may not have made it to being a doctor as we had anticípated but given the círcumstances and the way he was performing at school level last year .i can say he has pleasantly surprised me. got this from vision2030 could you at the very least afford him some privacy? like not provide his name and index number on the internet? Hahaha, you go ahead to quote the post with his name and index number on the internet. #Unahitajimaombi edited. now go land in the land of pharaohs.
mkenyan wrote:Swenani wrote:mkenyan wrote:newfarer wrote:hi wazuans below are the kcse results for samuel.the wazua charity kid.
MEAN GRADE C-
ENG 101 C+ KIS 102 C MAT 121 D PHY 232 D- CHE 233 D GEO 312 D+ CRE 313 B- BUS 565 D- he may not have made it to being a doctor as we had anticípated but given the círcumstances and the way he was performing at school level last year .i can say he has pleasantly surprised me. got this from vision2030 could you at the very least afford him some privacy? like not provide his name and index number on the internet? Hahaha, you go ahead to quote the post with his name and index number on the internet. #Unahitajimaombi edited. now go land in the land of pharaohs. I have also edited my above post. Ion, I will be holding a fundraiser during the wazuan meet(which is being organized by MC) to fundraise for my flight expenses to Tahir square to enable me further my landing activities If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
chepkel wrote:Swenani wrote:chepkel wrote:Swenani wrote:chepkel wrote:Everybody deserves an opportunity. Including an opportunity to land and be landed Of course Am currently looking for an opportunity? Let me know where to find you . Thanks in advance Panda ndege to the land of the Pharaohs now if that plane lands in the land of the pharaohs will swenani also land or the landing of the plane shall be enough?
good evening wazuans!
its been quite a long time!
life hustles have made me disappear for this long but all has been well. now let me express my gratitude to all wazuans and in particular wazua skcharity members who have held strong since 2008.
it is with great sacrifice that you have enabled samuel go through form 1 to form 4. alot of challenges arose right from the beginning.from the rehab denying us an opportunity to take samuel to boarding school to persistent poor grades.
we consistently talked to samuel to improve.
at times we almost gave up but as @alma put it we were dealing with a former street boy who had gone through great psychological stress in formative years.
his discipline was mostly unquestionable according to the managers. he could wake up early in the morning to study but grades were not improving.
he even requested us to give him an opportunity to repeat classes but we felt that this may not have much impact on the grades
at school level he was scoring D+ and below.
so isnt a C- at national level something to celebrate?
for your information our last visit at the rehab was on 21st september2013 .leona and i paid him a visit and we made it clear that we need results .
it appears that he took us very seriously because in the previous exam he had scored
a D-. so i find an improvement from D- to C- terrífic. i hope it now clearer.
lets now think of a technical course for samuel.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
Fellow Wazuans.. I have very little to add to what @vision2030 has written above.. We started the journey with this boy several years ago,and IF you're a member of the charity club since then,you would know the boy's story. He had a very tough past from the streets,we gave him a chance to go back to school.. and whilst all might seem rosy seeing as he was being housed in a rehab centre/home and having his school fees paid,he had so much to deal with from his past,his present and surroundings,it's amazing that he came this far,regardless To cut the long story short, when we last visited the centre with @Vision2030 in Sept, i was totally heartbroken. I cannot explain here the psychological issues the boy was going through,but having spent hours talking to him and to the home managers.. I'm surprised he even scored a C- If you knew his story, you would appreciate his performance To all those who supported the boy since we took him up,and also occasionally sent food & clothes to the rest of the kids at the center.. Many thanks and May the Good Lord continue blessing you abundantly We have brought him this far,and even though he didn't score an A, i believe the C- is good enough for him and he'll have a much brighter future than the harsh street life. I know of people who never scored A's in life but are doing great in life. Attitude is what matters,plus knowing exactly what one wants to do with their life To @Vision2030, @Lutz, @Kingfisher @Alma @Gk @RK and @'guy who lives in Ruiru' Thank you a million times more,for availing yourselves to mentor these former street kids and for sacrificing your time to pay them a visit whenever you can. Ahsanteni sana & God bless Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
alma wrote:Macman I don't want to comment anymore on this issue.
The fact is that someone on wazua had the will to organise others to help another who was in an extremely bad spot. Wazuans were called to participate. Some did others didn't.
For 4 years, some wazuans walked hand in hand with this young man who's future was considered worthless. He may not be Alliance material but he's a young man who worked to stay off the streets.
This is probably one of the few things I can name that wazua members have ever done.
Now to come 4 years later to say how sharp maranda kids are compared to this one is very, not kosher.
People used to come from other countries to see this young boy. His report cards were discussed and some of your concerns raised. But at least these guys were not domo domo tu. They tried to do something. Sending meager funds, spending their time, sending books.
I wonder what this young would think if he ever saw posts here insinuating that he's a failure since he didn't get a bush A.
Not to me. I think he's done very well in view of his circumstances and if passing form 4 exams was the measure of a man, I dare say that we would be a very different country.
Kudos to the young man. Kudos to vision2030 for doing the impossible. Kudos to the men and women who sacrificed their time and lives to help out. Very well said @Alma I remember the last time we had a sit down with the young man just before the final exams, he said that although he knows he doesn't get A's, he really does try his best. People who took time to visit the young man in the 5years,and speak to him plus the other kids(and support them in any way) will appreciate the results. Those who have no clue.. will of course criticize. We did our bit,and we'll continue doing so. One child off the streets,one life given some hope Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Talk2Us
Wazua/SK charity Club-Update on Ruiru rehab child sponsorship