wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

3 Pages<123
Bribes don't help the police.
brav
#41 Posted : Wednesday, September 18, 2013 3:13:03 PM

@Guka what are those leaves with red stalks sold along Nakuru Nairobi road called
streetwise
#42 Posted : Wednesday, September 18, 2013 3:26:29 PM

In my opinion it’s not only traffic police who are corrupt...alot of us are..and do it without a blink of the eye...look around and you will see..

My suggestion, those who are in offices and jobs who are likely to be bribed should pay a higher income tax..

In addition set a flat rate for different type of bribes e.g obstruction 200.00, ovespeeding 500.00 etc

seppuku
#43 Posted : Wednesday, September 18, 2013 3:46:54 PM

jguru wrote:
seppuku wrote:
Until they clean up the system, I will bribe without batting an eyelid. See, sometime ago I rear-ended a government vehicle at the Waiyaki Way - James Gichuru juntion. After speaking to the driver and his transport manager, we agreed that if I fixed the scratched bumper, we could put the matter to rest. After assessing the damage on both cars, I reasoned that it would be a good idea to obtain a police abstract and get my insurer to make the repairs.

So we decided to drive to the nearby Muthangari police station to report the incident. We told the policeman that we had agreed to settle the matter between ourselves and all I wanted was an abstract about the case. The officer recorded the details on the incident and promised to report it to the Nairobi Area police station - which is where accidents involving GOK vehicles are handled. He assured me it would be a small matter and they would soon call me for the abstract. Both the GOK driver and myself left the police station.

I received a call from Nairobi Area at around 9:00am. The accident had happened at about 6:30am. They said that in order to issue me with an abstract, I should take my car for inspection since that was the standard procedure for accidents involving GOK vehicles. Faithfully, I voluntarily drove to the police station.

To cut a long story short, both the GOK driver and I were harassed, threatened with prosecution and my vehicle impounded for the night. By the next morning, I reasoned it was not worth it trying to follow the straight and narrow. I bribed a senior officer and dejectedly drove out of the police station. I never got the abstract.

Of course I went on to fix both cars with my own money. But from that day I swore never to waste time with traffic cops trying to follow the law. I don't bend it that often, the law, but on the few occasions when it happens, I am not going to watch a miserable, barely-literate, underpaid cop with bribe targets to meet take me in circles for a whole day because of a few hundred shillings. No.

Ok. Alright.

Still driving on the right side of the highway, I see.

@jguru, get lost! smile
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
seppuku
#44 Posted : Wednesday, September 18, 2013 3:56:14 PM

majimaji wrote:

The traffic and justice system is designed to intimidate. You cannot escape bribing the police.

True. Sometimes it makes sense to give a bribe to avoid alot of hustle and i have done it a few times.

Scenario 1. I was driving from Nbi to Eldoret for some business on a saturday. Then at Nakuru town I was arrested for speeding i.e. doing 62kph in a 50kph zone. The cops asked me to pay a bond of 3k and that I was to appear at the Nakuru lawcourts the follwoing monday to answer to overspeeding charges. It didn't make sense for me to follow the law to the letter and suffer such inconvenience and therefore after some talk i gave some small bribe and continued with my business.

Scenario 2. I was stopped by a cop hapo waiyaki way and was asked to give him my driving license. He then noticed that I had not signed the license after renewal. He said it was an offense and we should go to the station. Of course 100bob did the trick after which I promptly signed the license and proceeded with my business.

Scenario 3. Not having a life saver. That was before we were reminded that they are mandatory.

Scenario 4. One of my side mirrors was ripped off by thieves only for me to be arrested a few hours later for driving without one. Of course I had to give the cop something small.

Scenario 5. Allegedly driving with a 'worn out tyre'. Some time back my car had some problem with alignment of one of the front wheels and so it became slightly worn out on the outer side. I was arrested for this and after a long argument regarding the definition of a worn out tyre, I decided to part with something small since the cop wad adamant that we drive to station and I pay a bond to appear in court the next day.

Na hii watu kama Coolio na radio, mkipatikana na makosa kwa barabara mnafanya nini? Maybe you will redeem us from this unscrupulousness. People with uncles in the police force need not answer. smile
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#45 Posted : Wednesday, September 18, 2013 8:13:36 PM

livie wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
The traffic enforcement system is rigged against the motorist right from the word go. From experience, these guys more or less know all the matatus in their routes. Whenever they see a new one, they'll arrest your driver on trumped up charges (like a worn out spare tyre) just so that the owner can present themselves eti 'wajue ni nani'. The more brazen ones will keep harassing your driver, especially if you insist on not 'tipping', in an attempt to force him to quit. When this happened severally to me, one of them had the audacity to tell me to my face 'eti wewe futa hiyo dereva yako tukupatie dereva mzuri upee yeye kazi'. The shock must've been evident in my silence. Of course I never acceded to this. Nilisema ka mbaya ni mbaya, played some dirty tricks of my own, earned my respect.

please share....

Can't say much, you never know who's watching. All I'll say is, I got to know intimately how the justice system 'works', and I played the game to my benefit.
CLK
#46 Posted : Wednesday, September 18, 2013 9:26:05 PM

majimaji wrote:

The traffic and justice system is designed to intimidate. You cannot escape bribing the police.

disagree, if you dont give in to the intimidation you can go scot-free without paying a fine or giving a bribe, done it severally.

A policeman relative of mine, used the bribes to go to school, graduated and managed to get into the UN, guy is somewhere earning serious money, kids in those jungu schools, posh residence in one of the leafy suburbs of Nairobi.
streetwise
#47 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 8:31:36 AM

Everyone pays one way or the other, either by cash...or lost time going to inefficient judicial system.

Frankly speaking I think the police do not like going to court that why when you are adamant they often tells you..we enda tu..nimekuachilia
#48 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 8:45:58 AM

@seppuku, I learnt early a few things. .:

- try observe the stipulated traffic laws
- when stopped be very very police...habari boss, habari ya kazi, et al ...it disarms them!
- don't be arrogant! tell him u dont have cash but the moment u get some you will fix whatever is not in order
- express your willingness to cooperate if he insists on taking u court! don't show any fear of the court process
- pray to be kept away from evil
- be lucky
#49 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 8:48:41 AM

CLK wrote:
majimaji wrote:

disagree, if you dont give in to the intimidation you can go scot-free without paying a fine or giving a bribe, done it severally.

A policeman relative of mine
, used the bribes to go to school, graduated and managed to get into the UN, guy is somewhere earning serious money, kids in those jungu schools, posh residence in one of the leafy suburbs of Nairobi.

Congrats CLKApplause Applause Applause Applause

enjoy ur hard earned bribes.. hope the guilt doesnt affect u!!!
seppuku
#50 Posted : Friday, September 20, 2013 2:07:14 PM

seppuku wrote:
majimaji wrote:

True. Sometimes it makes sense to give a bribe to avoid alot of hustle and i have done it a few times.

Scenario 1. I was driving from Nbi to Eldoret for some business on a saturday. Then at Nakuru town I was arrested for speeding i.e. doing 62kph in a 50kph zone. The cops asked me to pay a bond of 3k and that I was to appear at the Nakuru lawcourts the follwoing monday to answer to overspeeding charges. It didn't make sense for me to follow the law to the letter and suffer such inconvenience and therefore after some talk i gave some small bribe and continued with my business.

Scenario 2. I was stopped by a cop hapo waiyaki way and was asked to give him my driving license. He then noticed that I had not signed the license after renewal. He said it was an offense and we should go to the station. Of course 100bob did the trick after which I promptly signed the license and proceeded with my business.

Scenario 3. Not having a life saver. That was before we were reminded that they are mandatory.

Scenario 4. One of my side mirrors was ripped off by thieves only for me to be arrested a few hours later for driving without one. Of course I had to give the cop something small.

Scenario 5. Allegedly driving with a 'worn out tyre'. Some time back my car had some problem with alignment of one of the front wheels and so it became slightly worn out on the outer side. I was arrested for this and after a long argument regarding the definition of a worn out tyre, I decided to part with something small since the cop wad adamant that we drive to station and I pay a bond to appear in court the next day.

Na hii watu kama Coolio na radio, mkipatikana na makosa kwa barabara mnafanya nini? Maybe you will redeem us from this unscrupulousness. People with uncles in the police force need not reply. smile

I am seriously hoping for an answer to this one.
#51 Posted : Friday, September 20, 2013 2:34:50 PM

radio wrote:

- when stopped be very very police...habari boss, habari ya kazi, et al ...it disarms them!
- don't be arrogant! tell him u dont have cash but the moment u get some you will fix whatever is not in order
- express your willingness to cooperate if he insists on taking u court! don't show any fear of the court process
- be lucky

Seconded!!!, as for CLK how many years did you serve in the Force???
seppuku
#52 Posted : Friday, September 20, 2013 7:40:12 PM

Coolio wrote:
radio wrote:

- be lucky

@radio. Hadn't noticed your post. It's a reasonable strategy, I must say. I know someone who's wriggled out of police trouble like that on a couple of occasions. But I think you have to belong to a certain demographic to pull that off. You know, a suited-up middle-aged man with shoes that wear out more on one side of the heel than the other. Maybe even with a wife in the passenger seat and two or three uniformed kids in the back. That's a powerful picture for any policeman. When you are a seemingly hot-blooded twenty-something year old wearing jeans and riding alone with the volume turned up, the boys in blue are far more inclined to waste your time and ride out your whining until you pay up. Or at least that's how it seems to me.

Disclaimer: Any personal resemblance to the descriptions above is purely coincidental.
#53 Posted : Friday, September 20, 2013 7:59:33 PM

seppuku wrote:
Coolio wrote:
radio wrote:

- be lucky

@radio. Hadn't noticed your post. It's a reasonable strategy, I must say. I know someone who's wriggled out of police trouble like that on a couple of occasions. But I think you have to belong to a certain demographic to pull that off. You know, a suited-up middle-aged man with shoes that wear out more on one side of the heel than the other. Maybe even with a wife in the passenger seat and two or three uniformed kids in the back. That's a powerful picture for any policeman. When you are a seemingly hot-blooded twenty-something year old wearing jeans and riding alone with the volume turned up, the boys in blue are far more inclined to waste your time and ride out your whining until you pay up. Or at least that's how it seems to me.

Disclaimer: Any personal resemblance to the descriptions above is purely coincidental.

FYI, I am way below 30 and no kids! Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly and I haven't suited up this year! but I have pulled this stunt several times successfully! Police are humans with seemingly bruised egos! From the look the are normally ready for a confrontation but never allow then to get that from me!
seppuku
#54 Posted : Friday, September 20, 2013 8:56:12 PM

radio wrote:
seppuku wrote:
Coolio wrote:
radio wrote:

- be lucky

FYI, I am way below 30 and no kids! Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly and I haven't suited up this year! but I have pulled this stunt several times successfully! Police are humans with seemingly bruised egos! From the look the are normally ready for a confrontation but never allow then to get that from me!

Maybe it's the shoes then smile smile smile
#55 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 12:24:36 PM

radio wrote:

- be lucky

@radio, unajitetea stylo hii

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
#56 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 1:15:40 PM

Dash wrote:
Arent they the ones who own rentals and fleets of matatus?

And breakdowns.

I get shocked every time the fine/bail for motor vehicle related offenses are raised because that just raises the bribe. I hear if you are caught for drink-driving the new bribe is 30k! un-negotiable.

The only way to end bribes especially on the road is people have to be declared innocent and freed until proven guilty or unless there's a video recording of the offense. There's no way the traffic police's word can be the final and only word. Mutunga needs to look at this closely because it is wrong for you to be arrested and advised that you must plead guilty or you go in.

#57 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 1:26:48 PM

radio wrote:

- be lucky

Scratch that!!Sad Sad Sad Sad
#58 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 2:35:04 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
livie wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
The traffic enforcement system is rigged against the motorist right from the word go. From experience, these guys more or less know all the matatus in their routes. Whenever they see a new one, they'll arrest your driver on trumped up charges (like a worn out spare tyre) just so that the owner can present themselves eti 'wajue ni nani'. The more brazen ones will keep harassing your driver, especially if you insist on not 'tipping', in an attempt to force him to quit. When this happened severally to me, one of them had the audacity to tell me to my face 'eti wewe futa hiyo dereva yako tukupatie dereva mzuri upee yeye kazi'. The shock must've been evident in my silence. Of course I never acceded to this. Nilisema ka mbaya ni mbaya, played some dirty tricks of my own, earned my respect.

please share....

Can't say much, you never know who's watching. All I'll say is, I got to know intimately how the justice system 'works', and I played the game to my benefit.

Hehe... Reminds me of a time when a neighbour friend of mine bought a Toyota DX common for ferrying passengers between upcountry towns then, prior to the Probox. His newly employed driver was arrested by the base commander himself and charged with 8 counts of offenses ranging from;
-Carrying fare paying passengers without Uniform
-" " without displaying his photo in the vehicle
- " " without a PSV badge
-" " Without a yellow line on the vehicle
- " " Without without class ... Insurance
- " " Without TLB licence

etc....etc...

He was arrested, charged and sentenced to six months in prison without an option of fine. Later we learned that the Base commander usually takes 2k per any new psv before it can operate the route.Sad Pray
#59 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 3:41:53 PM

#60 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 8:00:12 PM

Tebes wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
livie wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

please share....

Hehe... Reminds me of a time when a neighbour friend of mine bought a Toyota DX common for ferrying passengers between upcountry towns then, prior to the Probox. His newly employed driver was arrested by the base commander himself and charged with 8 counts of offenses ranging from;
-Carrying fare paying passengers without Uniform
-" " without displaying his photo in the vehicle
- " " without a PSV badge
-" " Without a yellow line on the vehicle
- " " Without without class ... Insurance
- " " Without TLB licence

etc....etc...

He was arrested, charged and sentenced to six months in prison without an option of fine. Later we learned that the Base commander usually takes 2k per any new psv before it can operate the route.Sad Pray

I was a victim of that too when I began, kwanza huyo base wa Sagana. Sema kuhangaishwa? Wacha tu.