Insecurity in Karen
dunkang wrote:What will we do when we get a lot of money. Living in a posh estate looks like not an option.
Living in a Kawaida estate (Mwiki, Kayole, Zimmer et. al.) sounds like been too mean to ourselves and family.
Do we give away this money every end month or we wait for it to be taken away from us, by force, by gangsters. Chief. Are those kawaida estates? I thought kawaida estates are Buru, South b/c, southlands etc....
jaggernaut wrote:More crime...Police records show that a robbery incident has happened every night in the exclusive estates in the last two months. http://www.nation.co.ke/counties/nairobi/Nairobi-Crime-Burglaries-Robberies/-/1954174/2208534/-/88g0ws/-/index.htmlC&P The latest of such attacks happened at Mimosa Grove estate in Runda on Thursday night last week when three men armed with improvised explosives – a bicycle wire and match stick phosphorus broke into the house of Margaret Kamene Matheka, an auditor with the Education Ministry. They stole two mobile phones and a Toyota Rav 4. On Tuesday of the same week, Felister Muli, who works at the Ministry of Public Works, was waylaid by four thugs – two armed with pistols outside her house in Tabere Crescent in Kileleshwa. She was robbed of Sh24,000, an iPhone and forced to reveal her ATM and M-Pesa PINs where they withdrew Sh20,000 from each of the account in the 10 pm incident. The thugs then abandoned her along Rhapta Road and drove off in her Toyota Prado. Last Monday, seven thugs armed with an AK-47 rifle and a pistol stole household goods worth Sh805,000 from Dr Saaio Mauro’s house in Miotoni Ridge in Karen. They also stole Sh9,000, $300 (Sh25,500) and €600 Euros (Sh70,800). The same night, four thugs shot and critically injured a guard at Saminaa Mohammed’s home in Karen during a 1 am robbery incident. They stole Sh1,000, six mobile phones and jewellery. February 8 appears to have been the busiest for the thieves. At 4.45 am, six men armed with crude weapons cut through the kai-apple fence of Briton Jim Cheatle’s homestead in Runda Estate but did not steal anything after the alarm went off. Earlier that night, three men, also armed with crude weapons, raided the home of Mr Pierre Parson at Pepo Lane in Karen at 3.10 am and stole a CPU, two wedding rings and a phone. They injured one of the guests on their way out. At 1 am, businessman Alfayaz Sundaji was ambushed in his Range Rover just after the security guard opened the gate to his Royal Park home on Rhapta Road. The gang ransacked his house and stole Sh350,000, $4,000 (Sh340,000), two iPads, a laptop and a log book. The previous night, Fardorisa Yusuf had been blocked from behind outside her home on Githunguri Road in Kileleshwa by two armed men in a saloon car, who drove off in her car. Makueni Member of Parliament Daniel Kitonga Maanzo and his wife were Wednesday morning attacked and injured at their residence in Hardy, Nairobi Police spokesperson Zipporah Mboroki said the legislator was robbed of household goods and cash of unknown value. The attackers, armed with crude weapons, also hit the legislator on the head and he is admitted in hospital in a stable condition. “He was hit on the head and is at the Nairobi Hospital for a head scan,” said Ms Mboroki. The MP said that the attackers arrived at his house around 3am and broke the locks before they entered and stole the valuables before beating them. According to the police, the robbers cut the window grills and went straight to the house girl’s bedroom. They then took her to Mr Maanzo’s bedroom where they demanded for cash and other valuables. The MP's driver Peter Mwalali said on phone that he had heard commotion when he got there he found the legislator and his wife injured before rushing them to hospital. Mr Mwalali said that he was not able to see how many the attackers were. “I sleep in the servant quarters therefore when I heard commotion I rushed in the house when I found my employers had been attacked before rushing them to the hospital” said Mr Mwalali. The attack happened when the Administration Police (AP) officer guarding the residence. However, the officer appeared intoxicated and could not explain well where he was. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Bangladesh High Commissioner to Kenya Wahidur Rahman was on Saturday night attacked and robbed of cash and valuables at his residence in Karen, Nairobi. Police and guards at his compound said Rahman escaped unhurt after the 9pm incident in which he was robbed more than Sh170, 000, a laptop, mobile phones, a TV set and other electronic goods. The High Commissioner was in his house with his family when a gang of about six raided and ordered him to surrender the valuables. He said his wife was shocked following the incident and taken to hospital. Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...obbed-in-his-karen-home
Rank: Member Joined: 1/24/2011 Posts: 407 Location: Nairobi,Kenya
jokes wrote:As a victim of a violent robbery i can attest there is nothing you can do if you're not equally armed. When thugs attack your house you are on your own until they decide to leave. Your neighbours will cower in their houses and pray they don't come to their houses. The cops will wait until they leave to share in the loot. The estate security watchmen who are probably in cohorts or your part of the gang will blow whistles aimlessly to scare and distract would be rescuers and are in constant communication will the gang. Let me tell you this robberies are not planned on the whim. These are long term plans with intelligence gathering i.e some guys assigned to monitor you or your activities and your business and family. These guys can be part of your family i.e children spouse brother etc who can either ardently or inadvertently leak out sensitive personal information, gardeners, house girls, Fundis who leak reconstruction plans and weaknesses. Then there is a safe house who is your neighbour which is unbelievable but true to hide the thugs and stolen loot as you go around looking for the thugs. But the worst are the cops the level of evidence gathering is non existent. The questions they ask are what was stolen period. let me say never underate those watchies fundis house girls boda boda operators the information they have is unbelievable and deep they know everything and who does what and what is going to happen. how is this possible? cause they live in the same neighbourhood "slums" have the same "code" and probably grew up together and this is what probably their parents did for a living. what can save you is to own a weapon that can overpower these guys, our ancestors didn't carry weapons around and sleep outside guarding their families and granaries for the fun of it. We should legalize the right to own guns and equalize any encounter we might have with the enemy. mr jokes.. you are spot on..that is the sad reality in Nairobi and Kenya as a whole..if you can afford it get some good deadly force(legally)..they range from 150k..Once they realize that you are armed and ready to fight them...chances are that they will back off..However if its an ambush ie outside your gate and you cant reach it,just cooperate Hope is not a strategy
sanity wrote:jokes wrote:As a victim of a violent robbery i can attest there is nothing you can do if you're not equally armed. When thugs attack your house you are on your own until they decide to leave. Your neighbours will cower in their houses and pray they don't come to their houses. The cops will wait until they leave to share in the loot. The estate security watchmen who are probably in cohorts or your part of the gang will blow whistles aimlessly to scare and distract would be rescuers and are in constant communication will the gang. Let me tell you this robberies are not planned on the whim. These are long term plans with intelligence gathering i.e some guys assigned to monitor you or your activities and your business and family. These guys can be part of your family i.e children spouse brother etc who can either ardently or inadvertently leak out sensitive personal information, gardeners, house girls, Fundis who leak reconstruction plans and weaknesses. Then there is a safe house who is your neighbour which is unbelievable but true to hide the thugs and stolen loot as you go around looking for the thugs. But the worst are the cops the level of evidence gathering is non existent. The questions they ask are what was stolen period. let me say never underate those watchies fundis house girls boda boda operators the information they have is unbelievable and deep they know everything and who does what and what is going to happen. how is this possible? cause they live in the same neighbourhood "slums" have the same "code" and probably grew up together and this is what probably their parents did for a living. what can save you is to own a weapon that can overpower these guys, our ancestors didn't carry weapons around and sleep outside guarding their families and granaries for the fun of it. We should legalize the right to own guns and equalize any encounter we might have with the enemy. mr jokes.. you are spot on..that is the sad reality in Nairobi and Kenya as a whole..if you can afford it get some good deadly force(legally)..they range from 150k..Once they realize that you are armed and ready to fight them...chances are that they will back off..However if its an ambush ie outside your gate and you cant reach it,just cooperate Which one is that @Sanity. Do you have it?
Rank: Member Joined: 1/24/2011 Posts: 407 Location: Nairobi,Kenya
Jump-steady wrote:sanity wrote:jokes wrote:As a victim of a violent robbery i can attest there is nothing you can do if you're not equally armed. When thugs attack your house you are on your own until they decide to leave. Your neighbours will cower in their houses and pray they don't come to their houses. The cops will wait until they leave to share in the loot. The estate security watchmen who are probably in cohorts or your part of the gang will blow whistles aimlessly to scare and distract would be rescuers and are in constant communication will the gang. Let me tell you this robberies are not planned on the whim. These are long term plans with intelligence gathering i.e some guys assigned to monitor you or your activities and your business and family. These guys can be part of your family i.e children spouse brother etc who can either ardently or inadvertently leak out sensitive personal information, gardeners, house girls, Fundis who leak reconstruction plans and weaknesses. Then there is a safe house who is your neighbour which is unbelievable but true to hide the thugs and stolen loot as you go around looking for the thugs. But the worst are the cops the level of evidence gathering is non existent. The questions they ask are what was stolen period. let me say never underate those watchies fundis house girls boda boda operators the information they have is unbelievable and deep they know everything and who does what and what is going to happen. how is this possible? cause they live in the same neighbourhood "slums" have the same "code" and probably grew up together and this is what probably their parents did for a living. what can save you is to own a weapon that can overpower these guys, our ancestors didn't carry weapons around and sleep outside guarding their families and granaries for the fun of it. We should legalize the right to own guns and equalize any encounter we might have with the enemy. mr jokes.. you are spot on..that is the sad reality in Nairobi and Kenya as a whole..if you can afford it get some good deadly force(legally)..they range from 150k..Once they realize that you are armed and ready to fight them...chances are that they will back off..However if its an ambush ie outside your gate and you cant reach it,just cooperate Which one is that @Sanity. Do you have it? in other words .....a Gun...yaani Bunduki ..I wish I had one too. Hope is not a strategy
sanity wrote:Jump-steady wrote:sanity wrote:jokes wrote:As a victim of a violent robbery i can attest there is nothing you can do if you're not equally armed. When thugs attack your house you are on your own until they decide to leave. Your neighbours will cower in their houses and pray they don't come to their houses. The cops will wait until they leave to share in the loot. The estate security watchmen who are probably in cohorts or your part of the gang will blow whistles aimlessly to scare and distract would be rescuers and are in constant communication will the gang. Let me tell you this robberies are not planned on the whim. These are long term plans with intelligence gathering i.e some guys assigned to monitor you or your activities and your business and family. These guys can be part of your family i.e children spouse brother etc who can either ardently or inadvertently leak out sensitive personal information, gardeners, house girls, Fundis who leak reconstruction plans and weaknesses. Then there is a safe house who is your neighbour which is unbelievable but true to hide the thugs and stolen loot as you go around looking for the thugs. But the worst are the cops the level of evidence gathering is non existent. The questions they ask are what was stolen period. let me say never underate those watchies fundis house girls boda boda operators the information they have is unbelievable and deep they know everything and who does what and what is going to happen. how is this possible? cause they live in the same neighbourhood "slums" have the same "code" and probably grew up together and this is what probably their parents did for a living. what can save you is to own a weapon that can overpower these guys, our ancestors didn't carry weapons around and sleep outside guarding their families and granaries for the fun of it. We should legalize the right to own guns and equalize any encounter we might have with the enemy. mr jokes.. you are spot on..that is the sad reality in Nairobi and Kenya as a whole..if you can afford it get some good deadly force(legally)..they range from 150k..Once they realize that you are armed and ready to fight them...chances are that they will back off..However if its an ambush ie outside your gate and you cant reach it,just cooperate Which one is that @Sanity. Do you have it? in other words .....a Gun...yaani Bunduki ..I wish I had one too. and if they know you have it they may target you just for it.
Karen residents have now adopted "nyumba kumi". Are they trying to say that it is the residents who have been robbing each other?
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
jaggernaut wrote:Karen residents have now adopted "nyumba kumi". Are they trying to say that it is the residents who have been robbing each other? That question crossed my mind too when I watched that news clip yesterday. How effective is it if the thieves are coming from outside and therefore aren't members of 'Karen Nyumba Kumi'? Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Lets be realistic. Police to people ratio in Kenya is 1:1200 while UN standards recommend a ratio of 1:150. Police simply cannot handle security in the country. I am an ardent supporter of arming private security firms and go the American/South African way. If the bad guys already have firearms, why dont we give guns to vetted civilians to protect themselves. No thief will attack if he/she knows there life will also be in danger.Thieves are like bullies:they just prey on raw fear.
Insecurity in Karen