SME
Ideas
Upscale Bar/Club/Lounge a la SkyLux - Worth It?
Chaka wrote:@Swenani, Is this in the estate? Yes, it is in an estate Are you saying that the cops will ask for the Nacada licence failing which you then part with 500? Yes, I pay the chief askaris 100 bob per day, OCPD askaris 200 bob daily and the Nacada askaris 200bob daily. Did you pay goodwill? Nope i didn't pay any goodwill just paid 2 months rent deposit,water and electricity What of the following: Liqour Licence(Is this the same as the Nacada one?)-They are not the same, the liquir license will is issued by the licensing court at Nyayo house while Nacada is issued by Nacada, I have not obtained the nacada license though Business Licence(from City Hall) if in Nairobi Health Certificate for the waiter-Small business license 8K the health certificate for the waiter is her/his own cost Music Copyright licence - I have not obtained this one yetkizee1 wrote:Swenani wrote:I opened a small local bar with a sitting capacity of 30 pax after my encounter with alcoblow.So far am making gross sales of 5K-6K(on monday's i make sales of even 3K, of which 1K is my bill sometimes) per day and 20-25K for on Friday and Saturday combined.
My mark up is 35% daily expenses are as below Police(AP,chief,Nacada, OCPD)-500 Cleaning-200 Mislenous-500
Monthly expenses Rent-25K Waiter-17K Water-1K Electricity-2K
The bar operates from 5-11pm
I will be able to cut down on the police costs once i obtain the NACADA license which goes for 50K.
I anticipate the bar to breakeven by end of April 2014 and make some little profit if the daily sales steadily increase to 8-10k per day and 25-30k on Fridays and Saturdays
I hope and pray that more alcoblows to be introduced on the roads to encourage people to drink in their locals. whats your sitting capacity- 30 pax though am thinking of extending to the veranda which can accomodate 10 more pax gross margin of 35% is low,but guess its a neighborhood bar so that figures- Yes its an estate bar and thus my pricing is of a local bar what was your initial capital outlay? Total capital outlay Rent-2 months deposit 50,000.00 Water-One month deposit 2,000.00 electricity-One month deposit 2,500.00 Electrical wiring and labour 20,000.00 Tiles and labour 20,000.00 Counter and fittings 80,000.00 chairs 40,000.00 Tables 15,000.00 Glasses, flasks and heater 15,000.00 Licenses and facilitation fee(bribes) 20,000.00 Music system 50,000.00 2 TV's 80,000.00 DTSV installation 15,000.00 Beer stocks 60,000.00 Wines and spirits stock 80,000.00 Paintings 15,000.00 Washroom construction 50,000.00 Total 614,500.00 If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
With running a Pub in Kenya, I believe you will have to accept that you are dealing with Kenyans, and ensure you are at your Pub, 247 if you are to get anywhere, you will even have to take "stocko" yourself and weigh the wine dispensers and mark the TOT machines yourself. I don't think anybody in Kenya has ever succeed in running a pub as a "side business", unless you are talking of a huge establishment where you can employ professional management (cashiers, managers, accountant, even HR e.t.c), or someone who just has money to throw around in a PET business, or a MONEY LAUNDERER. Leaving a Kenyan pub to be run by others is leaving money in the open. A New Kenya
Rank: Member Joined: 9/29/2010 Posts: 679 Location: nairobi
Much Know wrote:With running a Pub in Kenya, I believe you will have to accept that you are dealing with Kenyans, and ensure you are at your Pub, 247 if you are to get anywhere, you will even have to take "stocko" yourself and weigh the wine dispensers and mark the TOT machines yourself. I don't think anybody in Kenya has ever succeed in running a pub as a "side business", unless you are talking of a huge establishment where you can employ professional management (cashiers, managers, accountant, even HR e.t.c), or someone who just has money to throw around in a PET business, or a MONEY LAUNDERER. Leaving a Kenyan pub to be run by others is leaving money in the open. being there 24/7 wont stop theft but you should probably quit your day job and run it yourself ideally a POS system would help but the capital outlay for this is 1mio plus so... the trick is ratio analysis and cost control..your gross margin is 35% set a reasonable cost income ratio of say 70% and you should be good, as a rule of thumb your payback period should not exceed 12 months or you are doing something wrong
Much Know wrote:With running a Pub in Kenya, I believe you will have to accept that you are dealing with Kenyans, and ensure you are at your Pub, 247 if you are to get anywhere, you will even have to take "stocko" yourself and weigh the wine dispensers and mark the TOT machines yourself. I don't think anybody in Kenya has ever succeed in running a pub as a "side business", unless you are talking of a huge establishment where you can employ professional management (cashiers, managers, accountant, even HR e.t.c), or someone who just has money to throw around in a PET business, or a MONEY LAUNDERER. Leaving a Kenyan pub to be run by others is leaving money in the open. am not there 24/7.But I check the daily purchases and sales records and reconciling with the banking slips. I personally do stock taking every Saturday morning from 7.00 -10 am. I only have one employee currently and she is supposed to check whether the beer is flat or not.If she opens a flat beer I deduct from her salo. For the tots, I expect 33 tots from a 1 litre bottle and 25 tots from a 750 ml any shortage is to be deducted from her salo. I have not encountered/detected/aware/noticed any fraud in the few weeks i have been running the bar.If there is any theft currently, it is very minimal.I could be wrong/right If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Much Know wrote:With running a Pub in Kenya, I believe you will have to accept that you are dealing with Kenyans, and ensure you are at your Pub, 247 if you are to get anywhere, you will even have to take "stocko" yourself and weigh the wine dispensers and mark the TOT machines yourself. I don't think anybody in Kenya has ever succeed in running a pub as a "side business", unless you are talking of a huge establishment where you can employ professional management (cashiers, managers, accountant, even HR e.t.c), or someone who just has money to throw around in a PET business, or a MONEY LAUNDERER. Leaving a Kenyan pub to be run by others is leaving money in the open. am not there 24/7.But I check the daily purchases and sales records and reconciling with the banking slips. I personally do stock taking every Saturday morning from 7.00 -10 am. I only have one employee currently and she is supposed to check whether the beer is flat or not.If she opens a flat beer I deduct from her salo. For the tots, I expect 33 tots from a 1 litre bottle and 25 tots from a 750 ml any shortage is to be deducted from her salo. I have not encountered/detected/aware/noticed any fraud in the few weeks i have been running the bar.If there is any theft currently, it is very minimal.I could be wrong/right All or one or two of the workers will take a solemn oath (kiapo - "i will rather die") to share proceeds from drinks that they will bring in. They could take 500/- each home daily, sema kutumia premises vikombe na system yako. You will never find out even if you do whichever maths. A New Kenya
@Swenani, Somethings you will not 'catch" unless you are there most of the time or 24/7. Some tricks includes: Whatever is sold is re-stocked so your stock does not move esp expensive items, when stock taking, empty crates can be stacked in the middle so move all items to one side to be sure all is well. Worst is is the day collections are good like one good weekend, the good lady vanishes in the this air! "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
This is quite insightful.
Gathige wrote:@Swenani, Somethings you will not 'catch" unless you are there most of the time or 24/7. Some tricks includes: Whatever is sold is re-stocked so your stock does not move esp expensive items, when stock taking, empty crates can be stacked in the middle so move all items to one side to be sure.
all is well. Worst is is the day collections are good like one good weekend, the good lady vanishes in the this air! Actually I have thought about that -On restocking, I am planning to be doing random impromptu stock taking over the weekdays on top of the usual one which takes place every Saturday On vanishing, I just pray to God for it not to happen If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Member Joined: 9/29/2010 Posts: 679 Location: nairobi
Swenani wrote:Gathige wrote:@Swenani, Somethings you will not 'catch" unless you are there most of the time or 24/7. Some tricks includes: Whatever is sold is re-stocked so your stock does not move esp expensive items, when stock taking, empty crates can be stacked in the middle so move all items to one side to be sure.
all is well. Worst is is the day collections are good like one good weekend, the good lady vanishes in the this air! Actually I have thought about that -On restocking, I am planning to be doing random impromptu stock taking over the weekdays on top of the usual one which takes place every Saturday On vanishing, I just pray to God for it not to happen it will happen so you need to thoroughly vet your staff, ask for a copy of ID and a guarantor may not sound like it will help but it does
kizee1 wrote: it will happen so you need to thoroughly vet your staff, ask for a copy of ID and a guarantor may not sound like it will help but it does
What about certificate of good conduct?
Chaka wrote:kizee1 wrote: it will happen so you need to thoroughly vet your staff, ask for a copy of ID and a guarantor may not sound like it will help but it does
What about certificate of good conduct? I think a copy of the ID and guarantor is more reliable than a certificate of good conduct If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Chaka wrote:kizee1 wrote: it will happen so you need to thoroughly vet your staff, ask for a copy of ID and a guarantor may not sound like it will help but it does
What about certificate of good conduct? I think a copy of the ID and guarantor is more reliable than a certificate of good conduct It will happen. Control the amout of float at any one time and surprise pop in (try to be unpredictable ...... advice for a bar ops In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:Chaka wrote:kizee1 wrote: it will happen so you need to thoroughly vet your staff, ask for a copy of ID and a guarantor may not sound like it will help but it does
What about certificate of good conduct? I think a copy of the ID and guarantor is more reliable than a certificate of good conduct It will happen. Control the amout of float at any one time and surprise pop in (try to be unpredictable ...... advice for a bar ops Mpesa deposits are done everyday at 7pm and bank deposits for the night are done the first thing the following morning If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:Chaka wrote:kizee1 wrote: it will happen so you need to thoroughly vet your staff, ask for a copy of ID and a guarantor may not sound like it will help but it does
What about certificate of good conduct? I think a copy of the ID and guarantor is more reliable than a certificate of good conduct It will happen. Control the amout of float at any one time and surprise pop in (try to be unpredictable ...... advice for a bar ops why not use cctv which can not only record but also be accessible from a computer.
mkenyan wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:Chaka wrote:kizee1 wrote: it will happen so you need to thoroughly vet your staff, ask for a copy of ID and a guarantor may not sound like it will help but it does
What about certificate of good conduct? I think a copy of the ID and guarantor is more reliable than a certificate of good conduct It will happen. Control the amout of float at any one time and surprise pop in (try to be unpredictable ...... advice for a bar ops why not use cctv which can not only record but also be accessible from a computer. Boss this is just a start up! Do you have any reasonabye priced cctv in mind? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:mkenyan wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:Chaka wrote:kizee1 wrote: it will happen so you need to thoroughly vet your staff, ask for a copy of ID and a guarantor may not sound like it will help but it does
What about certificate of good conduct? I think a copy of the ID and guarantor is more reliable than a certificate of good conduct It will happen. Control the amout of float at any one time and surprise pop in (try to be unpredictable ...... advice for a bar ops why not use cctv which can not only record but also be accessible from a computelr. Boss this is just a start up! Do you have any reasonabye priced cctv in mind? Get in touch with Pergamon Ist Floor Kimathi house,you should get a solution for less than 100k and it is very important in a bar.Had it been in Club Porkies,we would know who killed Thuo.
Swenani wrote:mkenyan wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:Chaka wrote:kizee1 wrote: it will happen so you need to thoroughly vet your staff, ask for a copy of ID and a guarantor may not sound like it will help but it does
What about certificate of good conduct? I think a copy of the ID and guarantor is more reliable than a certificate of good conduct It will happen. Control the amout of float at any one time and surprise pop in (try to be unpredictable ...... advice for a bar ops why not use cctv which can not only record but also be accessible from a computer. Boss this is just a start up! Do you have any reasonabye priced cctv in mind? nope. but can get some reasonably priced ones on the internet.
What about certificate of good conduct? I think a copy of the ID and guarantor is more reliable than a certificate of good conduct It will happen. Control the amout of float at any one time and surprise pop in (try to be unpredictable ...... advice for a bar ops Huh....Angelica runs a pub??? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
SME
Ideas
Upscale Bar/Club/Lounge a la SkyLux - Worth It?