Nyeri to ban polythene packaging
Impunity wrote:Too much hype for nothing...they should first fill the gapping pot holes before thinkig plastic. IIN:Kisumu MCAs will be visiting Germany to see how waste plastic is managed...the key word here is SEE. Ai yawa In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Impunity wrote:Too much hype for nothing...they should first fill the gapping pot holes before thinkig plastic. IIN:Kisumu MCAs will be visiting Germany to see how waste plastic is managed...the key word here is SEE. This negative energy will take this country nowhere, it is the small incremental good things performed over time that will bring that super country we all wanna have!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:Impunity wrote:Too much hype for nothing...they should first fill the gapping pot holes before thinkig plastic. IIN:Kisumu MCAs will be visiting Germany to see how waste plastic is managed...the key word here is SEE. This negative energy will take this country nowhere, it is the small incremental good things performed over time that will bring that super country we all wanna have!!!! They will also visit the 'university' Baba went to! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Member Joined: 10/8/2010 Posts: 763 Location: Intersection
Supermarkets should also start allowing us to enter with our ciondo's...(even if they insist it has to be empty) so that we can have somewhere to put our groceries. We wont need those paper bags. Afterall, they have sensors to catch shoplifters.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
It works perfectly in Rwanda & Zanzibar but Kenya always gives excuses because the same people who benefit from plastic production are the same people who're supposed to support anti-plastic by laws. Until we let go of the greed and think about the future, the plastic ban is far from ever happening Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Angelica _ann wrote:Impunity wrote:Too much hype for nothing...they should first fill the gapping pot holes before thinkig plastic. IIN:Kisumu MCAs will be visiting Germany to see how waste plastic is managed...the key word here is SEE. Ai yawa No one has told them that they can SEE that in youtube, they can even see more than just Germany. Na kwani McR ni MCA "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
danas10 wrote:Supermarkets should also start allowing us to enter with our ciondo's...(even if they insist it has to be empty) so that we can have somewhere to put our groceries. We wont need those paper bags. Afterall, they have sensors to catch shoplifters. @Danas10 Nakumat & Tuskys had tried the 'do not use plastic bags,but the green re-useable bags' thing.. But sasa after you buy the bag and head home with your shopping.. Shida usually comes the next time you come in with that kaBag for Reuse, yaani first the watchie at the main entrance treats you like you're smuggling something into the supermarket(and you know the way watchies can be intimidating), then the packing guy at the cashier's frowns when you unleash your kaBag,and sometimes gets a little confused when it comes to separating your shopping(normally by putting it into smaller plastic bags) and by the time you head home,you're not too sure the entire experience is worth it(you still have small plastic bags in your environmental friendly bag). The supermarkets need to educate their staff about the reUsable bags first Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Rank: Member Joined: 10/8/2010 Posts: 763 Location: Intersection
leona wrote:danas10 wrote:Supermarkets should also start allowing us to enter with our ciondo's...(even if they insist it has to be empty) so that we can have somewhere to put our groceries. We wont need those paper bags. Afterall, they have sensors to catch shoplifters. @Danas10 Nakumat & Tuskys had tried the 'do not use plastic bags,but the green re-useable bags' thing.. But sasa after you buy the bag and head home with your shopping.. Shida usually comes the next time you come in with that kaBag for Reuse, yaani first the watchie at the main entrance treats you like you're smuggling something into the supermarket(and you know the way watchies can be intimidating), then the packing guy at the cashier's frowns when you unleash your kaBag,and sometimes gets a little confused when it comes to separating your shopping(normally by putting it into smaller plastic bags) and by the time you head home,you're not too sure the entire experience is worth it(you still have small plastic bags in your environmental friendly bag). The supermarkets need to educate their staff about the reUsable bags first You are right...trying to reason with a watchie who is under instructions not to listen is like giving milk to a snake...I believe the part in bold is possible. It works elsewhere and i don't see why it can't work in Kenya. There are places where you even pay for the plastic bag (though very little, but its annoying paying for a plastic bag while you have enough baskets at home), just to encourage you to bring your own basket next time.
danas10 wrote: You are right...trying to reason with a watchie who is under instructions not to listen is like giving milk to a snake...I believe the part in bold is possible. It works elsewhere and i don't see why it can't work in Kenya. There are places where you even pay for the plastic bag (though very little, but its annoying paying for a plastic bag while you have enough baskets at home), just to encourage you to bring your own basket next time.
stevkipronoh wrote:I don't think it's the right way to go. We only need to be more disciplined on disposal of such non-biodegradable wastes. In Japan, they have a waste separation plant that seperates the waste into recyclable and non-recyclable. Compare with your size Mister. work to prosper
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
Good Initiative.Lets support it with ideas so that iy works then we csn replicate it in other counties. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Impunity wrote:Too much hype for nothing...they should first fill the gapping pot holes before thinkig plastic. IIN:Kisumu MCAs will be visiting Germany to see how waste plastic is managed...the key word here is SEE. Ai yawa No one has told them that they can SEE that in youtube, they can even see more than just Germany. Na kwani McR ni MCA @murchir, my response was strictly to @Impunity's 1st part of the post. Quote:Too much hype for nothing...they should first fill the gapping pot holes before thinkig plastic. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/7/2010 Posts: 1,279 Location: nbi
Nyeri is going places. Potholes not an issue infact, more tarmac is being laid as we speak. Kudos Gachagua, though the coffee ideas is silly The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Wa_ithaka wrote:Nyeri is going places. Potholes not an issue infact, more tarmac is being laid as we speak. Kudos Gachagua, though the coffee ideas is silly more progress in Nyeri County i.am.back!!!!
I have seen biodegradable plastic bags in Europe. Why can't our bag manufacturers adopt the same?
jaggernaut wrote:I have seen biodegradable plastic bags in Europe. Why can't our bag manufacturers adopt the same? Leta details...why cant me and you import these things and make money? We just need to lobby the county governments to make them compulsory and ensure only us are importing...
Hii ilifika wapi? ION, C&P: Uganda's National Environment Management Authority (Nema) backed by the police and the Uganda Revenue Authority raided supermarkets and impounded packs of polythene bags (kaveera) as a ban on their use took effect. The officials, headed by Mr Tom Okurut, the Nema executive director, launched impromptu operations at various supermarkets around Kampala to ensure the stakeholders were implementing the law to conserve the environment. “We are enforcing the law and proceeding with the ban on buveeras that are below 100 microns. We had a meeting with supermarket managers in March and we must ensure compliance,” Mr Okurut told journalists yesterday. Their first stop at Game saw 15,400 polythene bags confiscated after management failed to declare them to the authorities. But the floor manager, Ms Winnie Atyang, said they had kept them to wait for their suppliers to collect them on Friday. RINKp.s. plural ya kaveera ni buveera Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
washiku wrote:jaggernaut wrote:I have seen biodegradable plastic bags in Europe. Why can't our bag manufacturers adopt the same? Leta details...why cant me and you import these things and make money? We just need to lobby the county governments to make them compulsory and ensure only us are importing...  possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:washiku wrote:jaggernaut wrote:I have seen biodegradable plastic bags in Europe. Why can't our bag manufacturers adopt the same? Leta details...why cant me and you import these things and make money? We just need to lobby the county governments to make them compulsory and ensure only us are importing...  Good move! This should promote use of sisal and banana fiber bags
maka wrote:washiku wrote:jaggernaut wrote:I have seen biodegradable plastic bags in Europe. Why can't our bag manufacturers adopt the same? Leta details...why cant me and you import these things and make money? We just need to lobby the county governments to make them compulsory and ensure only us are importing...  Two questions @maka. Is there a chance of a busybody going to court and blocking this ? And secondly, as @masukuma has been telling us to look at everything from a personal interest point of view, what business opportunities will arise here. The khaki bags manufacturing, importing, distribution ?
Nyeri to ban polythene packaging