wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

12 Pages«<34567>»
Mavuno - Whats up?
#81 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 7:31:57 AM

captain kirk wrote:
oi oi oi...didn't know the comments I saw on social media jana were about mavuno. I thought it was all about that Americann church. Whatever the content of the sermon, the pic is wrong! Are we later going to turn our churches to strip clubs to get attention from sinners? This has crossed the line!!

Which American church?

The naked worshippers!
#82 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 7:35:00 AM

I don't think that this poster warrants the negative reactions and condemnation given so far. If anything, I think it's an application of what advertisers are taught to use to get customers. For example, a similar poster could be used to 'lure' youngsters to cigarette smoking or some other lifestyle product like alcohol. So why shouldn't Mavuno compete with these 'well advertised' products?

The evil some of us are seeing is basically the evil in our hearts.

At least with these other fellows after customers, we know their end is profits. Why is Mavuno competing with worldly products in the first place? Subliminal messages are dangerous; The poster surreptitiously fuses messages from the world of erotica and hip-hop. These are not models of morality. How able are they to look people in the eye and tell them -fornicating is a sin. How can they ask the youth not to fall into this trap when the poster pinned to the door says otherwise?
#83 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 10:00:13 AM

quicksand wrote:
I don't think that this poster warrants the negative reactions and condemnation given so far. If anything, I think it's an application of what advertisers are taught to use to get customers. For example, a similar poster could be used to 'lure' youngsters to cigarette smoking or some other lifestyle product like alcohol. So why shouldn't Mavuno compete with these 'well advertised' products?

At least with these other fellows after customers, we know their end is profits. Why is Mavuno competing with worldly products in the first place? Subliminal messages are dangerous; The poster surreptitiously fuses messages from the world of erotica and hip-hop. These are not models of morality. How able are they to look people in the eye and tell them -fornicating is a sin. How can they ask the youth not to fall into this trap when the poster pinned to the door says otherwise?

While these 'other fellows' may explicitly state that they are after profits, it's not difficult see, hear, and feel how this pursuit depends on capturing the mind and souls to succeed. And this capturing involves subliminal messages that are tailored to fit.

Electricity is dangerous; but is useful. And what else? If you know how to handle it you can enjoy much comfort. The same with subliminal messages. For example, do you think Man could exist without subliminal communication?

Hip hop is about morality. It's an evaluation of life, and a prescription for what the good life is. Isn't the Church or any other traditional institution competing against hip hop morality? How can Christ speak to the young person riding on hip hop morality? Christ must be in the hip hop.

Why is it that most people claim to know what Christ would do when they dare not be Christ himself?

#84 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 10:05:32 AM

If Pwani Oil and Vaseline ads received criticism, how much more this one?

Criticism is good. It's an attempt at understanding. Problems arise when we lack optimal tools of understanding.
#85 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 11:44:55 AM

Mtu Biz
#86 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 11:53:58 AM

I have no problem with people propagating whatever in whichever way they wish.

BUT

If you are going to call what you are doing preaching THE Gospel or Teaching and Instructing in righteousness with the bible as the basis then you have to conform to scripture.

Why don't people just go ahead and start a 'positive thinking your best life now' religion like Oprah, they can call it MAVUNINSANITY or whatever and have akina Oprah, Joel Osteen , Deepak Chopra and others of this genres content as their scriptures... they can then hypnotize and high five themselves in their seminars and conferences till they are blue in the face.... they can compete with akina tahiti and apple bees in their posters to capture their target audience and stay 'relevant'.

Why drag the bible and Jesus the Christ into all this?

A teen in 2014 looking for truth is under no illusions about sex physically but is probably lost with regard to sex in its proper context.

So you fill a Church with teens drawn by a sexually suggestive poster to then lead them to the way of truth?

How?

The very nature of the Gospel goes contrary to the flesh in every way.. how then can you use devices of the flesh to lead anyone to the truth of the Gospel?

There is no precedent to this in all of scripture nor is it there in church history.

Consider this text,

2nd Peter 2
Peter talking about false teachers

17 These people are springs without water and mists driven by a storm. Blackest darkness is reserved for them. 18 For they mouth empty, boastful words and, by appealing to the lustful desires of the flesh, they entice people who are just escaping from those who live in error. 19 They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of depravity—for “people are slaves to whatever has mastered them.” 20 If they have escaped the corruption of the world by knowing our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and are again entangled in it and are overcome, they are worse off at the end than they were at the beginning. 21 It would have been better for them not to have known the way of righteousness, than to have known it and then to turn their backs on the sacred command that was passed on to them.

Sola Scriptura

#87 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 12:08:45 PM

#88 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 12:11:27 PM

Sisemi kitu.

kollabo
#89 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 12:14:22 PM

Only time will tell as to the fruitfulness what Mavuno is indulging in right now.
Mtu Biz
#90 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 12:24:53 PM

kollabo wrote:
Only time will tell as to the fruitfulness what Mavuno is indulging in right now.

Time?

My friend, the only yardstick available to the slave of Christ with regard to what is Good and what is evil is the Bible.

The question to ask is What does the bible say? and answer that questing with due regard to scriptural context.

How i wonder will you measure the 'fruitfulness' of this ?

Is it...

The growth number of teens attending for example?

SMH!

By the Time Jesus the Christ Died he had 72 plus the 12 who could be identifiable as his disciples.

What happened to the 5000 he fed, and the other 3000 ? and the thousands upon thousands of people who would follow him around everywhere ?

Let me pause there...

Sola Scriptura

#91 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 12:29:27 PM

@Mtu biz, you're right about the Gospel being contrary to the flesh. But everything other thing you've added is so much pro flesh. Otherwise your insistence that the poster implies sexual license, a verdict seemingly expressed by many couldn't be.

The spiritual battles within a teenager don't respect long clothes, or men who don't care about their looks. The battle is too sophisticated. Temptation is whispering in your ear, saying delightful things. And you're there smiling and willing to fall for the seducer. That is, this picture could as well be a depiction of Adam and Eve in the garden.

This picture means what you want it to mean, or what an interactive conversation would want it to mean.
#92 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 12:52:50 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
kollabo wrote:

Time?

My friend, the only yardstick available to the slave of Christ with regard to what is Good and what is evil is the Bible.

The question to ask is What does the bible say? and answer that questing with due regard to scriptural context.

How i wonder will you measure the 'fruitfulness' of this ?

Is it...

The growth number of teens attending for example?

SMH!

By the Time Jesus the Christ Died he had 72 plus the 12 who could be identifiable as his disciples.

What happened to the 5000 he fed, and the other 3000 ? and the thousands upon thousands of people who would follow him around everywhere ?

Let me pause there...

This is neither about waiting to see what happens, or claiming to know Scripture without truthful and loving conversation. 'Sola scriptura' was only a weapon against the Pope. After that not even Luther could avoid the grip of politics, culture and tradition. Mavuno owes its existence to this 'sola scriptura', so do the Jehovah's witness or whoever.

So this yardstick is created in the living Church and not at some 'exclusive' school of theology.
Mtu Biz
#93 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 1:06:04 PM

@Mtu biz, you're right about the Gospel being contrary to the flesh. But everything other thing you've added is so much pro flesh. Otherwise your insistence that the poster implies sexual license, a verdict seemingly expressed by many couldn't be.

The spiritual battles within a teenager don't respect long clothes, or men who don't care about their looks. The battle is too sophisticated. Temptation is whispering in your ear, saying delightful things. And you're there smiling and willing to fall for the seducer. That is, this picture could as well be a depiction of Adam and Eve in the garden.

This picture means what you want it to mean, or what an interactive conversation would want it to mean.

Ok...

So the picture is neutral and any meaning can be derived from it.

The picture means what you want it to mean... it is devoid of inherent meaning in and of itself.

Sawa, that is the worldview of mr tycho.

Everything is relative, no absolutes, lets debate and discuss our way to the truth right ?

Sola Scriptura

#94 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 1:20:11 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

Ok...

The picture means what you want it to mean... it is devoid of inherent meaning in and of itself.

Everything is relative, no absolutes, lets debate and discuss our way to the truth right ?

I don't think that what I've said translates to what you're trying to say. I could hardly take my thoughts to the inconsistency that your argument or claim implies. Like wouldn't the position you are positing imply an absolute relativity?

I am only stating that any absolutes are mediated by communication not just between God and the individual, but amongst the 'commuinity'. The absolute that can love the unseen and the seen.

If anything, now do you want to imply that you and many here know the absolute even without having the conversation here?
Muriel
#95 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 1:27:31 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

Ok...

I don't think that what I've said translates to what you're trying to say. I could hardly take my thoughts to the inconsistency that your argument or claim implies. Like wouldn't the position you are positing imply an absolute relativity?

I am only stating that any absolutes are mediated by communication not just between God and the individual, but amongst the 'commuinity'. The absolute that can love the unseen and the seen.

If anything, now do you want to imply that you and many here know the absolute even without having the conversation here?

I know there are absolutes some very simple e.g. If you get cut, you bleed.

The picture could have other meanings but in this context, it had a specific meaning and it was intentionally chosen to communicate its relevant message. It was not a mistake, an 'oops-did-not-mean-that' picture.
Mtu Biz
#96 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 1:30:54 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

Ok...

Please confirm that you want to stand by the words in bold above before i respond.
Sola Scriptura

InnovateGuy
#97 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 1:44:37 PM

You've hit the nail on the head. People bitching about nothing. Some of them don't even go to church yet they're lecturing us about what churches should do and should not do! They're pharisees.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
captain kirk
#98 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 2:20:16 PM

This is what takes place when the congregation is told to close their eyes.
#99 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 2:54:27 PM

Muriel wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Ok...

I know there are absolutes some very simple e.g. If you get cut, you bleed.

The picture could have other meanings but in this context, it had a specific meaning and it was intentionally chosen to communicate its relevant message. It was not a mistake, an 'oops-did-not-mean-that' picture.

Nothing could be further from the truth. If I take Mr. Ndung'u's corpse and cut it, won't it also bleed? What entails the perfect communication that you seem to believe in?

Again, why does having a specific meaning exclude moments of 'I didn't mean that?'
#100 Posted : Monday, February 24, 2014 2:56:43 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

Ok...

Please confirm that you want to stand by the words in bold above before i respond.

Is this a threat or what? Make your move.