wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

The Doll Test - what have we done to our children?
Sansa
#21 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 9:11:11 PM

It's kind of ironical that the black lady interviewing the kids in the 2nd video has a reddish weave or has dyed her hair a rather unnatural color for a black person.

Pedes
#22 Posted : Saturday, February 22, 2014 8:36:52 AM

This topic can go on forever the thing is we need to accept who we are and love what we have. buy our own and promote ourselves. Learn to say No to things that take away our dignity like living in such extreme places in Europe.

The problem is, the class that will champion this in Kenya is not doing much to promote our own. For others, their is not much dignity in poverty.
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#23 Posted : Sunday, February 23, 2014 12:12:46 PM

I don't think its much different in shags as some argue here. Any appearance of a mzungu is greeted with great smiles, kids waving n wanting to be "associated" with the mzungu. It happens all the time. Kids burst out in songs of "Kamzungu, kamzungu". Just late last year, during the Ndakaini marathon, as we run through sections of Ndakaini villages, children would burst into cheers on sight of mzungu. You would even hear them say "Huyu ni wangu, si ulichukua Hugo mwingine" In some instances an argument would ensue on who owns which mzungu.

There is a Lipa na Mpesa advert that is currently running where a little girl picks a certain black doll. I once heard someone ask how can she choose such an ugly doll while there are beautiful ones on the wall. It struck my mind at that point that when buying dolls for their kids, most people go for the white "beautiful" one. Oops...reminds me even in most art works devil/evil is black n God/good is white/coloured.
#24 Posted : Sunday, February 23, 2014 12:46:31 PM

I don't think its much different in shags as some argue here. Any appearance of a mzungu is greeted with great smiles, kids waving n wanting to be "associated" with the mzungu. It happens all the time. Kids burst out in songs of "Kamzungu, kamzungu". Just late last year, during the Ndakaini marathon, as we run through sections of Ndakaini villages, children would burst into cheers on sight of mzungu. You would even hear them say "Huyu ni wangu, si ulichukua Hugo mwingine" In some instances an argument would ensue on who owns which mzungu.

There is a Lipa na Mpesa advert that is currently running where a little girl picks a certain black doll. I once heard someone ask how can she choose such an ugly doll while there are beautiful ones on the wall. It struck my mind at that point that when buying dolls for their kids, most people go for the white "beautiful" one. Oops...reminds me even in most art works devil/evil is black n God/good is white/coloured.

indeed... that mindset needs to change!