githundi
#122 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 12:15:57 PM

mkenyan wrote:
githundi wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
The media misinformed people that Wambora has already been impeached. It's not yet over till this vote. In a few minutes but there's no hope for Nyaga Wambora

ironies....check the meaning of the word 'impeach' before you go about accusing the media for using a word you clearly don't understand.

You can't impeach against a court order.
Just wait and see.
On this fight for supremacy of arms of government.
The court will have the final word.

I hate to say, I told you so.

what are you talking about? what did you tell me that i disputed? my comment was on the meaning of the word impeach. please check the meaning of the word before you start prancing around here.

Re_Read my post carefully and stop overreacting.
Was making inference to what I had posted.

Democracy does not belong to the dead
#123 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 1:31:28 PM

If the senate ignored a court order, why are they now calling on the constitution?

I may not like wambora but when we have the national assembly pretending that they can't see court orders but then want us all to see their's that is a problem.

The law must be followed even when removing villains.

Hapa umenena ukweli. The Senate and NA's reaction is a school boys tantrum. I don't hear the same 'hullubarrows' being thrown around when the court overturned Emilio's appointments severally, and also Uhuruto's..

watulie. They will have a chance to fry/barbecue/boilo Wambora again.
#124 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 1:36:48 PM

kwani constitution ni ngumu aje, to the legal minds - what constitutes a 'valid' governor, if the senate got rid of him and the court has reinstated him.

does validity mean he will be paid a salary, or he will sit in the governor's office ... niambiwe tafadhali.
#125 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 2:27:40 PM

If the senate ignored a court order, why are they now calling on the constitution?

I may not like wambora but when we have the national assembly pretending that they can't see court orders but then want us all to see their's that is a problem.

The law must be followed even when removing villains.

The senate didn't ignore the court order, The court order was against the speaker of the senate to to introduce the discussion in the senate
#126 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 2:30:30 PM

KARMA IS ....

Martha KaruaVerified account‏@MarthaKarua·

When Senators fought with The National Assembly it's to the courts they ran. They now should & must obey the court orders favoring Governors

Admin has disabled twirra links ISORAIT
#127 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 8:42:22 PM

There is a serious legal issue here. Can the judiciary interfere with a parliamentary process? Can courts order either house of national parliament or even county assembly to do or not to do anything?
#128 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 7:36:26 AM

There is a serious legal issue here. Can the judiciary interfere with a parliamentary process? Can courts order either house of national parliament or even county assembly to do or not to do anything?

They can alright. The role of parliament is to set the laws, the executive enforces them, and the Judiciary interprets them and arbitrates disputes.
#129 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 9:02:31 AM

Robinhood wrote:

They can alright. The role of parliament is to set the laws, the executive enforces them, and the Judiciary interprets them and arbitrates disputes.

The Judiciary needs to rethink its role when dealing with other arms of government so as not to undermine them or embarrass themselves.
What's the point of stopping an unstoppable process or reinstating a Governor who will be impeached again a week after?

#130 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 10:04:14 AM

Robinhood wrote:

The Judiciary needs to rethink its role when dealing with other arms of government so as not to undermine them or embarrass themselves.
What's the point of stopping an unstoppable process or reinstating a Governor who will be impeached again a week after?

oth houses of Parliament have vowed to punish what they call “activist” judges as the bitterness between Parliament and Judiciary worsened following recent court rulings. Leaders from the Senate and National Assembly were Thursday spoiling for war and they signalled that MPs would press for a review of the vetting law to target judges employed under the new Constitution. They vowed to push for the amendment to the Vetting of Judges and Magistrates Act to ensure judicial officers employed after 2010, and who were exempted from the Board’s scrutiny are vetted “to weed out judicial activism.” The MPs further promised to introduce substantive motions that will see the conduct of individual judges discussed in the House, to ostensibly shame those allegedly acting in violation of the doctrine of separation of powers. National Assembly Minority Leader Aden Duale said MPs would amend the Vetting of Judges and Magistrates Act and introduce motions to discuss individual judges he claimed were working with former powerful Judicial Service Commission officers. “It is payback time. Those who got their jobs through these officers have to play by their rules. Corrupt individuals are now seeking reprieve in courts,” he said. The MPs included Duale, Kithure Kindiki (Majority Leader-Senate), Moses Wetang’ula (Minority Leader-Senate), Francis Nyenze (Minority Leader-NA) and Johnstone Muthama (Minority chief whip-Senate).
Read more at: http://standardmedia.co....-punish-activist-judges

#131 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 10:11:31 AM

Some members of Embu County Assembly sought to oust embattled governor Martin Wambora for a second time. Speaker Justus Mate, however, declined to re-table the Motion to impeach the ejected governor, arguing that the matter was still pending in court. Mate clarified that the county has no substantive governor at the moment as Wambora had not been reinstated by any court order. “I am aware that there is a court order temporarily staying the gazette notice number 1052 of February 17 issued by the Speaker of the Senate for the information of the public. However, I am not aware of a court order that reinstated the former governor,” said Kariuki. “I am, however, aware of such a prayer made before court, which was for the reinstatement of Martin Wambora as the governor, but a prayer which was not granted until the substantive hearing of the application on Monday.”
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...o-impeach-wambora-again
#132 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 12:22:17 AM

#133 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 5:32:31 PM

Embu governor back in because he was not granted right to fair hearing by Embu Assembly and Senate which impeached him, and they both contravened court orders.
http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/news...ouster-as-embu-governor/

So the process begins again...

#134 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 6:43:44 PM

he will not survive... those MCA's will impeach him again... this time procedurally... that deputy governor must be one happy girl.... and I can tell you for free she also doesn't want him back, she wants the reigns!!!

huyo alifutwa kazi kitambo!!!
jokes
#135 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 3:09:22 PM

he is back through the back door again
Haki hii ni kama vindyo ni kama ndramaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
jokes
#136 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 3:45:25 PM

before we had a powerful presidency,
then we had a powerful parliament,
now we are witnessing a growing powerful judiciary,
who controls the courts?
they are human after all.
we have activist judges in court with a potential to cause a crises like in Pakistan
#137 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 3:56:17 PM

kingfisher wrote:
he will not survive... those MCA's will impeach him again... this time procedurally... that deputy governor must be one happy girl.... and I can tell you for free she also doesn't want him back, she wants the reigns!!!

Maybe that's what most on this thread don't understand.

It's important to read.

The court did not say that Wambora was a saint.

It said that he was removed unprocedurally.

It was like a chef who boils chicken after you ordered roast chicken. It must be done right.

So hii maneno ya sijui activist judiciary is only meant to make us forget that the executive is not following laws.

The parliament makes it own laws then decides it will not follow them then blames the judiciary. Very funny.

Warudie tena. And this time follow their own law which they themselves created. Mambo ya Kanu mtawacha.
jokes
#138 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 4:37:56 PM

kingfisher wrote:

Maybe that's what most on this thread don't understand.

It's important to read.

The court did not say that Wambora was a saint.

It said that he was removed unprocedurally.

It was like a chef who boils chicken after you ordered roast chicken. It must be done right.

So hii maneno ya sijui activist judiciary is only meant to make us forget that the executive is not following laws.

The parliament makes it own laws then decides it will not follow them then blames the judiciary. Very funny.

Warudie tena. And this time follow their own law which they themselves created. Mambo ya Kanu mtawacha.

if you read their decision it was based on the fact that they were ignored in the process. in other words they were slighted.
#139 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 5:02:51 PM

Apana jokes...They said that there was a standing court order. It was not implemented.

Whether you like it or not, court orders are meant to be followed. By everyone, even Jesus followed the court order to appear before Pilate.

But if you think that your MP is too special to follow a court order, then you are the one who may be feeling slighted.

The Kanu gov't shouldn't come back through the back door of pretending that what they did was for the good of the country.

The good of the country means, you remove the governor using proper legal channels as the constitution says. If they think that is too hard for them, then they have another 3 years 4 months to deal with Wambora.

Wapeleke huyu mzee wakitumia sheria. Not crying all the time that the judiciary this judiciary that.
#140 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 6:33:49 PM

Apana jokes...They said that there was a standing court order. It was not implemented.

Whether you like it or not, court orders are meant to be followed. By everyone, even Jesus followed the court order to appear before Pilate.

But if you think that your MP is too special to follow a court order, then you are the one who may be feeling slighted.

The Kanu gov't shouldn't come back through the back door of pretending that what they did was for the good of the country.

The good of the country means, you remove the governor using proper legal channels as the constitution says. If they think that is too hard for them, then they have another 3 years 4 months to deal with Wambora.

Wapeleke huyu mzee wakitumia sheria. Not crying all the time that the judiciary this judiciary that.

sasa sirikal imetoka wapi, I thought this is a legislature issue not executive.