wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

15 Pages«<1011121314>»
Pan Africa Insurance 1H13 PAT jumps 266%
mypesa
#221 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 1:26:54 AM

mibbz wrote:
guru267 wrote:
[quote=theking]how far will this share go? when will results be announced?

Results coming very soon and are likely to be underwhelming for the 126bob share price...

Good luck to the people who are still in here!

@guru267 did you not exit Pan Africa for Home Afrika.....i shall take my chances,am very sure the results are solid. Good luck on home afrika!!

@guru267 with max respect I have followed your comments on several occasions and realised you are a critic esp to other Wazuans in praise of stocks they strongly believe in . Any stock not in your 'waki envelope' is non-performer . That's why you differ with @Obiero...
As long as our diverse investment strategies work kudos to all Wazuans
Even In The Most Severe Drought In The Jungle Lions Will Never Feed On Grass.
mibbz
#222 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 2:41:32 AM

mkeiy
#223 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 7:19:02 AM

mibbz wrote:
the constant debates we have had over the year are finally proving what most of us thought and the stratergy is paying off.i shall alight at my stage in a few days,which is at ksh 200

Pray Pray Pray Wish you luck!
Magnate
#224 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 7:29:14 AM

welcome wazuans to panafric airlines today will be flying at altitudes of 130s
No diagnosis,no pragnosis,no pragnosis no profit......Jesse livermore
#225 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:56:11 AM

mypesa wrote:
mibbz wrote:
guru267 wrote:
theking wrote:
how far will this share go? when will results be announced?

Results coming very soon and are likely to be underwhelming for the 126bob share price...

@guru267 did you not exit Pan Africa for Home Afrika.....i shall take my chances,am very sure the results are solid. Good luck on home afrika!!

@guru267 with max respect I have followed your comments on several occasions and realised you are a critic esp to other Wazuans in praise of stocks they strongly believe in . Any stock not in your 'waki envelope' is non-performer . That's why you differ with @Obiero...

Guys relax... I am allowed to comment on a share price or investment strategy according to my own opinion even if it disagrees with your opinion..

I sold Pan Africa to buy Kenya re because I felt the price was over extended and there was limited upside..

I feel investors buying expecting bonus issues etc will be caught out in the classic "buy the rumour and sell the news"

Instead of taking things personal defend the reason why an investor should buy Pan Africa at these levels?
ngapat
#226 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 9:31:36 AM

guru267 wrote:
mypesa wrote:
mibbz wrote:
guru267 wrote:
theking wrote:
how far will this share go? when will results be announced?

Guys relax... I am allowed to comment on a share price or investment strategy according to my own opinion even if it disagrees with your opinion..

I sold Pan Africa to buy Kenya re because I felt the price was over extended and there was limited upside..

I feel investors buying expecting bonus issues etc will be caught out in the classic "buy the rumour and sell the news"

Instead of taking things personal defend the reason why an investor should buy Pan Africa at these levels?

I hesitated boarding this bus though i wanted to buy so much especially due to the 266% rise in half year net profit.
What worried me though was the driver of this rise in profit i.e fair value gains from unlisted investments
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#227 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 9:46:51 AM

Hahahaaa...guys are calculating 10% everyday and pegging their asking price near there.
Magnate
#228 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 10:49:53 AM

Magnate wrote:
welcome wazuans to panafric airlines today will be flying at altitudes of 130s

@134
Demand 37000
Supply 2000

Its intresting to note one investor is willing to put in approx 2mil for this share @ current prices.iko kitu hapa
No diagnosis,no pragnosis,no pragnosis no profit......Jesse livermore
Boris Boyka
#229 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 11:17:11 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Hahahaaa...guys are calculating 10% everyday and pegging their asking price near there.

this thing is on steroids my friend
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#230 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 11:19:35 AM

For those with a good memory, they shall remember that guru never bought panafrica shares in real life. she used her own words to state it was a buy at only kes 13 or lower!!! well, it never reached there.. and she now wants you to sell a gem ndio muende mununue eveready, kenyare au home afrika. tafadhali shikilieni kwa walio ndani ya panafrica express

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Metasploit
#231 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 11:27:48 AM

For those with a good memory, they shall remember that guru never bought panafrica shares in real life. she used her own words to state it was a buy at only kes 13 or lower!!! well, it never reached there.. and she now wants you to sell a gem ndio muende mununue eveready, kenyare au home afrika. tafadhali shikilieni kwa walio ndani ya panafrica express

Kenya Re is good.

Check the volume price movements of late and esp the volume spike on 31 Jan 2014.

All indications point to a break above 20 (upper BB)

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
#232 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 11:31:45 AM

Metasploit wrote:

Kenya Re is good.

Check the volume price movements of late and esp the volume spike on 31 Jan 2014.

are u comparing the gains between kenyare and panafrica?

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Metasploit
#233 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 11:59:02 AM

Metasploit wrote:

Kenya Re is good.

are u comparing the gains between kenyare and panafrica?

Panafrica headroom now is limited.Making an entry now is dangerous coz the volume movement indicate profit taking and the tide might change anytime ( I dont mean that the share wont go up any further,but making an entry now is pure gambling).For kenya Re,what i see is big money taking position

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
mibbz
#234 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:00:36 PM

@Guru267 i respect your right to a dissenting opinion but its good to argue with facts.i shall defend the position of why this counter is a buy unlike Kenya Re.

As you are aware Sanlam was on a quest to buy stock in the open market in this company till it reaches 60%;as of November the deficit was approximately 4 Million shares for them to reach the promised land.I posted about this earlier,let me look for it so as to further elaborate the reason why i bet big on this.
mibbz
#235 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:15:53 PM

mibbz wrote:
But lets crunch the numbers using available data,both from wazua page and the BD story;

Pan Africa has 96,000,000 issued shares as per data on the wazua stock profiler page
Allow me to copy paste the BD article here with acknowledgment of the author, George Ngigi

'Regulatory filings to the Capital Markets Authority shows Sanlam bought 108,600 shares in the eight months to August, raising its total shareholding to 53.6 million shares.

This is in line with the company’s disclosure of intention to increase its stake in the insurer to 60 per cent from the 50 per cent held then. As at end of August its stake was 55.81 per cent, from 55.69 per cent in December.'

In August 2013 Sanlam had accumulated 53.6 Million shares equivalent to approximately 55.83%. This is 4.17% or approximately 4 Million shares below their target of 60% acquisition.

I can confidently state since August this year not more than a million Pan Africa shares have traded;i check the stock every single day and the most action it has seen this year was almost 450k shares moving last 2 weeks within which a notable
block of approximately 300k shares was available at a price of 70 bob earlier on in the price rally.In fact appetite at 70 was so high thus the reason it edged to 73 where 4k shares existed momentarily then went to 75-76 range till yesterday.

Lets be real,if you were the investment manager to the anonymous buyer(Sanlam) would you wait for price to reach 100 bob then buy or start buying now?!

What might have spooked huge anonymous buyer(Sanlam) into buying was the report on insurance sector valuation released last week;Pan Africa had the biggest upside in valuation thus anticipated capital gains and possibly existing shareholders firmly clutching onto their stock.

Lastly, remember the Insurance act is to be amended to allow foreign ownership of insurance firms to exceed 60%,that shall be the last nail on the coffin of doubt as to the future of valuations in this sector as it shall open it up to M n A....

Factor the above into the price and you shall see why the price is edging higher;it can only stop if you sell 3 Million shares to Sanlam or unless someone convinces them to change strategy on an investment that has made them 2 Billion this year.

The above is my theory on the whole Pan Africa issue;Thanks

1.Sanlam buy
That was in November 2013;a post on this thread.Sanlam was left with a deficit of slightly more than 3 Million shares to buy in the open market so that they achieve their 60% target. This stock started pushing huge volumes mid January so i can assure you they are still trying to buy and have not yet achieved full quota.

2.Insurance act

This act aims to allow insurance companies to be owned/controlled by foreign companies.The current cap on foreign shareholders is 66% and its set to be removed. Treasury had anticipated the bill would be law by Sept 2013 but hiccups in the system saw the other insurance compensation act go through but this one is still pending.While all Kenyan insurane companies stand to benefit;Sanlam might just revise their plan and increase their holdings from 60 to lets say 75%

3.Runda plots
Set to be sold in H2,these shall specifically bring a crazy amount of income;with half acres going for roughly ksh 20Mil;i believe PanAfrica shall make a kill from this and it shall be reflected in the books.

Lastly,Kenya Re might rise but the only insurer with a triple digit growth in Profitability for 2013 FY is Pan Africa. One of the things the wise mzee @young told us a few days ago;a sure way of knowing gems in the NSE is profit growth,invest in companies with growth in profits and you shall not go wrong.
Metasploit
#236 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:21:26 PM

mibbz wrote:
@Guru267 i respect your right to a dissenting opinion but its good to argue with facts.i shall defend the position of why this counter is a buy unlike Kenya Re.

As you are aware Sanlam was on a quest to buy stock in the open market in this company till it reaches 60%;as of November the deficit was approximately 4 Million shares for them to reach the promised land.I posted about this earlier,let me look for it so as to further elaborate the reason why i bet big on this.

Mibbz you are missing the point!

Today (18th Jan 2014),Panafrica vs Kenya Re,which one is a BUY ????

For those on Panafrica bus Dont sell until the trend changes..But for New comers i wouldnt advise a buy

vastcapital
#237 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:22:53 PM

The only problem being that the market is hugely overbought...who will sell to who? In a market where everyone is a seller expect an avalanche soon. unless the FY results meet the already massive expectations!!!
mibbz
#238 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:37:21 PM

Metasploit wrote:
mibbz wrote:

For those on Panafrica bus Dont sell until the trend changes..But for New comers i wouldnt advise a buy

@metaspolt really depends on profile of the potential investor.its akin to asking,would you buy NMG at ksh 310 or SGL at 28.

Aguytrying
#239 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 2:23:13 PM

mibbz wrote:
Metasploit wrote:
mibbz wrote:

@metaspolt really depends on profile of the potential investor.its akin to asking,would you buy NMG at ksh 310 or SGL at 28.

If the fire is too hot, stay out of the kitchen. wacha tu-enjoy bana.
I wouldnt have advised anybody to buy above 80.00 coz target was 100. for fy 2013 results mind you. midterm to long term. let people do what they want, even sanlam is still buying!
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#240 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 2:34:11 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
mibbz wrote:
Metasploit wrote:
mibbz wrote:

If the fire is too hot, stay out of the kitchen. wacha tu-enjoy bana.
I wouldnt have advised anybody to buy above 80.00 coz target was 100. for fy 2013 results mind you. midterm to long term. let people do what they want, even sanlam is still buying!

What do you mean "sanlam is still buying"?