Yaani ile 300 had zero effect?

Tulichukua loan ya kulipia parking fee

Absolutely no effect whatsoever. They should go to per hour from tomorrow.

If the govt does not make some very hard decisions, Nbi will be one big mess. The problem has been exported to other towns including Thika, Meru, Nakuru, Kisumu, Eldoret n the worst..... Mombasa.

Reform the public(or is it the private?) transport sector

You need to realize that the biggest cause of the PSV mess is traffic Jam. Deal with this, half the PSV problems will be gone- there will be no more overlapping, fare hikes etc. In my rural, and the many rural towns I have been to, PSV transport is very well organized. Ever noted how orderly these guys become in the dead of the night when traffic is near zero?

Several Indian cities have more than 3 times the population of Nairobi, with massive numbers of bikes, tuk tuks, pedestrians n numerous tiny cars.......how comes traffic seems to flow almost continuously?

1. Redesigning our roads as a matter of urgency......
2. Discouraging use of private cars.

1.Replace roundabouts and junctions with overpasses and underpasses
2.Synchronize the traffic lights and traffic control.
3.Make driving personal cars to the city expensive
4.Construct more bus stops on the road to avoid psvs picking and dropping passengers in the middle of the road.
5.Improve/modernize the railway commuter services within Nbi
6.Devolve employers to the countiessmile

On this, I agree. I happened to be on Juja road recently and noticed most of the entire stretch of that road, right from Outer Ring road, has woefully inadequate bus stops, most of which can barely accomodate 2 minibuses.

That dreadful road..... they should build two extra lane which should be bus stop lanes. The entire stretch is a residential area.
kiash
#122 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 9:30:24 PM

jguru wrote:
About time we doubled private cars import duty. Other than enriching the japs n draining our economy, what real economic benefit do these personal cars serve?

Wacha tu nivae ka
helmet kangu...

Boss, you want the 'middle-class' to stop taking huge crippling loans to buy their mitumba cars? Ati you haven't 'arrived' until you take a loan to buy a demio or an allion.

I say, raise the parking fees to Ksh500, raisel prices to Ksh130 a litre and import duty to 200%. Watu wanunue bicycles.

My thoughts exactly. Fuel levy for petrol triple it. Duty x3. Parking 700.

This is illogical.whatz kenyas population and how manh have cars.? Compare this to other developped countries and you will see kenya is nowhere near. If only people obeyed the traffic lights,stopped changing lanes any howly + remove the matatus and replace them with buses . I think everyone would be happy
#123 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 10:02:54 PM

One more thing I always ask myself, how about flexible working hours? Do we all have to report to work at 8 and leave at 5?
Ngogoyo
#124 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 10:28:06 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
One more thing I always ask myself, how about flexible working hours? Do we all have to report to work at 8 and leave at 5?

Actually some are already living it. I live in thika and report to westi @9 and leave @6-7pm. No jamsmile
african coloner
#125 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 10:48:08 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Good thinking but discipline on our roads is very poor. It is very unfortunate that we as a society tolerate the matatu industry to operate with impunity causing un necessary accidents. The poor discipline has been acquired by the new car/ middle class raising the question of standards in driving schools. Good traffic policing, proper use of lanes and road discipline is what we need for now. In the near future, road widening, underground trains and big buses will be a must.
#126 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:31:34 AM

kiash wrote:
jguru wrote:
About time we doubled private cars import duty. Other than enriching the japs n draining our economy, what real economic benefit do these personal cars serve?

Wacha tu nivae ka
helmet kangu...

Boss, you want the 'middle-class' to stop taking huge crippling loans to buy their mitumba cars? Ati you haven't 'arrived' until you take a loan to buy a demio or an allion.

I say, raise the parking fees to Ksh500, raisel prices to Ksh130 a litre and import duty to 200%. Watu wanunue bicycles.

This is illogical.whatz kenyas population and how manh have cars.? Compare this to other developped countries and you will see kenya is nowhere near. If only people obeyed the traffic lights,stopped changing lanes any howly + remove the matatus and replace them with buses . I think everyone would be happy

Dude, rudi kenya ujionee. You are wrong in every sentence.

1. people obey traffic lights here to a great extent, n traffic cops are strategically positioned but there is still jam.
2. People change lanes anyhowly? This is the cause of Nairobi jam?
3. Matatus were banned. Now we have minibuses n buses in the city.
4. Nairobi is saturated with cars. Ama unadhani wakenya wamelala?

Your proposed solutions cant help.
#127 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 7:35:31 AM

Nyef nyef nyef nyef,...people love attacking the middle class for the aspirations to a comfortable life, as if attacking them is a solution itself. Rubbish. It is like those who have recently quit smoking, drinking, eating meat or started an exercise regimen ;They hoist themselves on a soapbox to lecture poor others who have not been so enlightened.
Bicycle enthusiasts, bus riders and tree huggers will not let 'middle class' have peace here.
Save your sanctimonious bullshit and try enlighten yourself a little.
Taxation by itself cannot offer lasting solutions - it is like a pressure system, when one point is squeezed, the pain and other effects move elsewhere.It is the tool of leaders who lack economic insight.There are many ills that can be cured first before hammering an already over-burdened populace. Like ensuring corruption free tendering for road and rail construction.
Policy makers need to lure citizens away from cars by implementing cheaper and reliable options - like trains and shuttle systems - not shuffling them at gunpoint towards a crumbling public transport infrastructure. Doing so will only leave them at the mercy of bus and matatu operators who will hike prices for super-profits
while lower income people get priced out of public transport.
Let choice rule. An analogy here was university education a few years back. Those who couldn't get places in the public universities shipped out to study expensive
courses abroad. Many families were under massive strain, but look now - a few competent private universities have emerged and I believe the number of students heading to the west
has reduced. Choice, not force. It is my firm belief that people in Kenya buy cars (even taking loans to do it) because there is no other viable choice.
Anyone remember those snaking lines for Double M buses in town?
In other places, it is not that people don't have cars, they decide not to use them for the everyday commute - because public transport is well developed. THEY HAVE A CHOICE!
(The UK has approx 35 million cars, a population of 63 million. The US ~250 million cars. Pop~ 317 million. Germany ~60 million cars Pop ~80 million. South Africa ~10 million cars Pop ~52 million
Lastly - we should curb our legendary impatience. This country has been going to seed for the last 30 years. Infrastructure takes a long time to take shape. In any
case your impatience and indignation won't change anything.
Speculz
#128 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 7:47:20 AM

The simple truth is that as long as we do not have reliable public transport, the cars will still be on the road one way or the other, Taxation , parking fees does not really help and this are just first aid remedies.

Instead of focusing on short term remedies i time we came up with effective long term solutions.
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#129 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 7:48:06 AM

kiash wrote:
jguru wrote:

Wacha tu nivae ka
helmet kangu...

Dude, rudi kenya ujionee. You are wrong in every sentence.

1. people obey traffic lights here to a great extent, n traffic cops are strategically positioned but there is still jam.
2. People change lanes anyhowly? This is the cause of Nairobi jam?
3. Matatus were banned. Now we have minibuses n buses in the city.
4. Nairobi is saturated with cars. Ama unadhani wakenya wamelala?

Your proposed solutions cant help.

have you seen the way buses change lanes at roundabouts almost hitting the vehicles on the right lanes right in front of traffic policemen without any reprimand? what do you think that does when it comes to exiting the roundabout?
#130 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:02:42 AM

Taxation and other charges just increases corruption,stealing, deals etc middle class must survive!
#131 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:06:41 AM

for those who have had the privilege to travel widely, are there traffic jams in the developed countries ?
#132 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:11:46 AM

for those who have had the privilege to travel widely, are there traffic jams in the developed countries ?

In Europe most people use public transport (which is govt run) while Nairobi traffic is nothing compared to Lagos.
#133 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:21:00 AM

Yes!
London ...with winds and sheet rain.
US too ...4+ lane one way roads notwithstanding
majimaji
#134 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:23:50 AM

Jam eased today on msa rd. so we had the normal jam
wilyum
#135 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:38:04 AM

In Europe most people use public transport (which is govt run) while Nairobi traffic is nothing compared to Lagos.

i totally agree, and even our sister city Kampala is no better
#136 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:41:20 AM

majimaji wrote:

Hahaha jam eased but you still had "normal jam"Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#137 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:45:17 AM

Most of the jams I have seen in North America are usually caused by accidents.
#138 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 9:13:28 AM

majimaji wrote:

Hahaha jam eased but you still had "normal jam"Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Colonised mentality!
#139 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 9:20:33 AM

majimaji wrote:

Buster
#140 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 9:55:43 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

When Thika S/highway was completed it was fun in the morning. Now everyone decided to hama and take advantage Resulting in crazy traffic at the Drive-in bumps and Pangani underpass. It is better in the evenings heading back since guys are more flexible when it comes to closing time.