wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Weighbridges
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 10:20:18 PM

Why would a truck carrying a full container load of goods (sealed),pass mariakani weighbridge without hustle,but upon reaching mlolongo it's detained for having 3tons excess weight and a penalty of 40k-50 slapped on the transporter?

I have heard all manner of excuses that are not convincing.
I hear that this happens a lot to trucks once they reach mlolongo.How do they pass mariakani?
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 10:35:13 PM

Why would a truck carrying a full container load of goods (sealed),pass mariakani weighbridge without hustle,but upon reaching mlolongo it's detained for having 3tons excess weight and a penalty of 40k-50 slapped on the transporter?

I hear that this happens a lot to trucks once they reach mlolongo.How do they pass mariakani?

Wacha stress. Call @Mawinder to sort you out.
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 10:46:18 PM

jguru wrote:

Wacha stress. Call @Mawinder to sort you out.

I have heard excuses like; goods tilt,it's the gradient,drivers lift sijui what under the truck.
Just how do they pass mariakani?
Mkimwa
#4 Posted : Friday, February 14, 2014 8:54:48 AM

The weighbridges are not entirely calibrated to the same levels. The worst is Busia, which usually adds a tonne or two to the weight.

That said, find out how he passed Mariakani.. walipatiana kitu kidogo? It may have been overweight all through..

Could also be that the per axle loads have changed due to terrain, but the Gross vehicle weight remains the same. Also, it is expected that at Mlolongo, the weight is less because of the fuel consumed between Msa and NRB (about 200kgs or thereabout).

If you dont want issues at weighbridge, dont overload. Know the weight of your vehicle when empty, give some allowance to avoid issues.
mkeiy
#5 Posted : Friday, February 14, 2014 10:56:00 PM

At Mariakani it's easier to do business. That's why trucks "create" traffic jam,wait for the right hour to weigh. That's how they pass.

But the thing is,the rules are stupid. Kenya's overall gross weight is about 45/48tons, i am not sure. But you will be lucky to pass with a contaner weighing 30tons without issues. A truck plus empty trailer cannot possibly weigh 15/18tons. If in some of our neighboring countries the weight limit is upto 52tons, it makes me wonder why the loe tonnage for our truck loads?
#6 Posted : Saturday, February 15, 2014 6:35:26 AM

mkeiy wrote:

At Mariakani it's easier to do business. That's why trucks "create" traffic jam,wait for the right hour to weigh. That's how they pass.

But the thing is,the rules are stupid. Kenya's overall gross weight is about 45/48tons, i am not sure. But you will be lucky to pass with a contaner weighing 30tons without issues. A truck plus empty trailer cannot possibly weigh 15/18tons. If in some of our neighboring countries the weight limit is upto 52tons, it makes me wonder why the loe tonnage for our truck loads?

That's too high and yes our rules on max weight are unrealistic.
The truck with goods weighing 29 mtons ie was detained because it had 3tons'extra weight.

What's the weight of a 40ft empty truck?
The 3 mtons 'extra' is what concerns me.
mkeiy
#7 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 11:09:47 AM

mkeiy wrote:

That's too high and yes our rules on max weight are unrealistic.
The truck with goods weighing 29 mtons ie was detained because it had 3tons'extra weight.

What's the weight of a 40ft empty truck?
It's between 3tons and 4tons depending on the flooring and other fittings of the container.
Permissible weight for hicube 40ft is 30.5tons
The 3 mtons 'extra' is what concerns me.
I would think the issue is not about gross weight but axle load. One of the axle carrying more than allowed.

specky
#8 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 1:54:51 PM

The w/bridge is the biggest challenge to the transporter.Bottom line know ur vehicle, a 40ft on a flat bed is heavier than the same 40ft on a skeleton, in as much as Kuna bribes kwa w/brigde, its true "mzigo Hua unarudi nyuma" depending on wht is loaded