Investor
Economy
East Africa's largest economy?
It appears we lost the bragging rights way back, but characteristically african, we are still "illegally holding onto power" at least in our hapless media. Views? http://www.newafricanmag...-fastest-growing-economyTULIA.........UFUNZWE!
What really matters in these rankings? GDP per capita? Nominal GDP? GDP PPP? Budget Estimates? Seems Ethiopia attained supersonic with a very enviable growth rate in the foreseeable future, as we crawl n quarrel. Tz is hot on our heels. We need more quails people! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
That happened siku za Meles. He was very vocal about it. Our GDP is/was 40+Billion theirs 41+B and growing at +7%. Any matters here is the world bank link this one is ugly ----> http://databank.worldban...ta/download/GDP_PPP.pdf
Nominal http://databank.worldban...rg/data/download/GDP.pdf"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
[quote=murchr]That happened siku za Meles. He was very vocal about it. Our GDP is/was 40+Billion theirs 41+B and growing at +7%. Any matters here is the world bank link this one is ugly ----> http://databank.worldban...ta/download/GDP_PPP.pdf
Nominal http://databank.worldban...g/data/download/GDP.pdf[/quote] Missed the news bw muchiri. Goes a long way to show how useless our media is, reporting untruths without the slightest shame. It kind of confuses me why Abyssinia, despite a larger economy, a double digit economic growth n higher taxation regime, still registers little tax collection n hence lower budget estimates. Hii macroeconomics ni ngumu kweli. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Corruption boss. We have the means and our people are a hard working lot, not to mention that we haven't been plagued by wars (like the Ethiopians with Eritrea). Corruption has brought with it inflation, making this a very expensive country, with nothing much to show for it.
Mukiri wrote:Corruption boss. We have the means and our people are a hard working lot, not to mention that we haven't been plagued by wars (like the Ethiopians with Eritrea).
Corruption has brought with it inflation, making this a very expensive country, with nothing much to show for it. Agreed. Huko vitu bei kali sana. But there is a serious construction boom last time I checked. Addis was one massive construction site~chinese roads, urban rail n hundreds of buildings. We need to reclaim our pride among east african dwarfs. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:[quote=murchr]That happened siku za Meles. He was very vocal about it. Our GDP is/was 40+Billion theirs 41+B and growing at +7%. Any matters here is the world bank link this one is ugly ----> http://databank.worldban...ta/download/GDP_PPP.pdf
Nominal http://databank.worldban...g/data/download/GDP.pdf[/quote] Missed the news bw muchiri. Goes a long way to show how useless our media is, reporting untruths without the slightest shame. It kind of confuses me why Abyssinia, despite a larger economy, a double digit economic growth n higher taxation regime, still registers little tax collection n hence lower budget estimates. Hii macroeconomics ni ngumu kweli. Ongeza opposition on everything, before you implement something someone has already gone to court to stop you from doing it. Alafu ongeza uzembe. Ethiopians are like bees they work really hard. Ethiopians are smart they know if they invite hawks into their economy then their Menelik and sons will not prosper. We have to learn to protect our market from hawks who will kill investments here "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
[quote=simonkabz]It appears we lost the bragging rights way back, but characteristically african, we are still "illegally holding onto power" at least in our hapless media. Views? http://www.newafricanmag...fastest-growing-economy[/quote] we discussed it on the same year we were overtaken All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Ghana is on our tails! piganeni tu! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
The way I am seeing here is that you have chosen countries with high populations as role models. China, India and now Ethiopia According to wikipedia Ethiopia = 94mil people Wherever there is a big population there is cheap labour and exploitation. That's a heaven for investors who's only aim is to make a quick profit. That is how growth is accelerated in this countries at the expense of the majority of it's citizens. So in order to achieve fast growth, we either strike oil(like Ghana) or we create a baby boom in order to fill the factories of the future. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
mpobiz wrote:The way I am seeing here is that you have chosen countries with high populations as role models. China, India and now Ethiopia According to wikipedia Ethiopia = 94mil people Wherever there is a big population there is cheap labour and exploitation. That's a heaven for investors who's only aim is to make a quick profit. That is how growth is accelerated in this countries at the expense of the majority of it's citizens. So in order to achieve fast growth, we either strike oil(like Ghana) or we create a baby boom in order to fill the factories of the future. Really? Baby boom to fill the factories of the future? Why can't we have present day factories to be filled by our unemployed youths? What baby boom did Taiwan ,Singapore or South Korea have to grow their economies?
Sasha should tell us what Ethiopians are doing differently.
And some kipi is opposing construction of the railway? Vita vya panzi! Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
If as the world bank claims, mobile money transactions make up 20% of our GDP and last year we transacted 1.7 trillion ksh (20 billion USD) doesn't that make our GDP closer to 100 billion USD? This means the figure of 40 billion USD being mentioned is a gross underestimate of our economic size.
Devolution (read county governments), implemented in the right way,can bail us out. If so, we should be doing 8-9% growth by 2018. Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Africa's combined total GDP is less than 3% of the world's combined GDP.... as Museveni once said, arguing who is the largest economy in this area is arguing about who is the tallest dwarf! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Toshy wrote:If as the world bank claims, mobile money transactions make up 20% of our GDP and last year we transacted 1.7 trillion ksh (20 billion USD) doesn't that make our GDP closer to 100 billion USD? This means the figure of 40 billion USD being mentioned is a gross underestimate of our economic size. This finally makes sense. Our GDP is generally much larger than quoted simply because many of the units of activities in our economy are never counted. Picture this, somewhere in deep Murang'a, a housewife ties a baby to her back and spends the day collecting firewood for boiling Githeri. End result is the family feeds that day, impact on economy is nil coz the household planted the maize and beans used to make the Githeri in their subsistence shamba. now in the UK, wifey goes to work at the tube and earns 1,500 pounds per month, takes children to a nanny who charges 300 pounds per month, in the evening she buys premade frozen food for more pounds and cooks it with electricity and freezes it with electiricity, The activities for the UK household are recorded and add to the size of the economy without improving the individuals life while the Kenyans are not recorded and wrongly depress ours. Trust me if you are middo crass in Kenya, you are missing nothing in this world "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Toshy wrote:If as the world bank claims, mobile money transactions make up 20% of our GDP and last year we transacted 1.7 trillion ksh (20 billion USD) doesn't that make our GDP closer to 100 billion USD? This means the figure of 40 billion USD being mentioned is a gross underestimate of our economic size. This finally makes sense. Our GDP is generally much larger than quoted simply because many of the units of activities in our economy are never counted. Picture this, somewhere in deep Murang'a, a housewife ties a baby to her back and spends the day collecting firewood for boiling Githeri. End result is the family feeds that day, impact on economy is nil coz the household planted the maize and beans used to make the Githeri in their subsistence shamba. now in the UK, wifey goes to work at the tube and earns 1,500 pounds per month, takes children to a nanny who charges 300 pounds per month, in the evening she buys premade frozen food for more pounds and cooks it with electricity and freezes it with electiricity, The activities for the UK household are recorded and add to the size of the economy without improving the individuals life while the Kenyans are not recorded and wrongly depress ours. Trust me if you are middo crass in Kenya, you are missing nothing in this world come on people, are we argueing about GDP? Ask yourself, what's your GDP?....... your school can be number 1 in the nation but if you have a D+, you still will be known by your D+ not by your school ranking!
Rollout wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Toshy wrote:If as the world bank claims, mobile money transactions make up 20% of our GDP and last year we transacted 1.7 trillion ksh (20 billion USD) doesn't that make our GDP closer to 100 billion USD? This means the figure of 40 billion USD being mentioned is a gross underestimate of our economic size. This finally makes sense. Our GDP is generally much larger than quoted simply because many of the units of activities in our economy are never counted. Picture this, somewhere in deep Murang'a, a housewife ties a baby to her back and spends the day collecting firewood for boiling Githeri. End result is the family feeds that day, impact on economy is nil coz the household planted the maize and beans used to make the Githeri in their subsistence shamba. now in the UK, wifey goes to work at the tube and earns 1,500 pounds per month, takes children to a nanny who charges 300 pounds per month, in the evening she buys premade frozen food for more pounds and cooks it with electricity and freezes it with electiricity, The activities for the UK household are recorded and add to the size of the economy without improving the individuals life while the Kenyans are not recorded and wrongly depress ours. Trust me if you are middo crass in Kenya, you are missing nothing in this world come on people, are we argueing about GDP? Ask yourself, what's your GDP?....... your school can be number 1 in the nation but if you have a D+, you still will be known by your D+ not by your school ranking! my GDP is better than most people's! i am in the top 0.08% of this world and quite possibly the 5,067,405 richest person on the planet - jaribu yako! http://www.globalrichlist.com/ All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Investor
Economy
East Africa's largest economy?