7 Pages<1234>»
300 bob parking fee: for or against?
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 2:47:32 PM

We try both, and see what works. Anyways folks are used to paying per hour in malls, airport, hospitals etc. Why not the city centre as well?

If we want to deconjest the town by charging more parking fees then we must also avail means of people getting to town without their cars, how do we achieve this when we are now banning PSVs and Taxis from town????

Only matatus that dont ply Nairobi County are banned from CBD.

You sure about that?
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 2:49:12 PM

We try both, and see what works. Anyways folks are used to paying per hour in malls, airport, hospitals etc. Why not the city centre as well?

If we want to deconjest the town by charging more parking fees then we must also avail means of people getting to town without their cars, how do we achieve this when we are now banning PSVs and Taxis from town????

You sure about that?

I heard that on the radio this morn...it wouldn't be logical to stop all psvs.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 2:51:34 PM

You sure about that?

So if you are coming from Nakuru you are dumped at Uthiru/Kangemi?
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 2:51:52 PM

If we want to deconjest the town by charging more parking fees then we must also avail means of people getting to town without their cars

Yaani nowadays days lazy middle class is called 'people'?smile
Very many people alight from mats, busses and trains outside CBD and still make it to work on time.

#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 3:00:21 PM

You sure about that?

Maybe at some bus stage outside CBD for upcountry mats. I'm sure Nairobi mats will add that to their route anyways.
theman192000
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 3:55:38 PM

You sure about that?

My understanding of CBD is the area that encompasses Uhuru highway, Univesity way, Moi Avenue and Haile Selassie Avenue.

So your Nakuru PSV can drop off passengers at Globe Cinema or Old Nation House along Tom Mboya Street.
seppuku
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 4:05:34 PM

Against. They should have fixed public transport first. Same way they should have killed corruption before raising the taxes. But we, it seems, are a country very good at putting the cart before the horse.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 4:24:37 PM

This is Kenya: we paid 13B in insurance for a railway we will prob never see.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 5:28:41 PM

Good move; 300/- is still low considering I may still not find parking in the CBD esp. after 8.00am
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 6:14:59 PM

500 should have been more apt. So that guys turn to PSV, PSV inturn gets organized n traffic jam eases. My 2 congole quails.
7 Pages<1234>»