wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

Time to sell Safaricom
pnyaga
#1 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:46:39 AM

with 40 Billion Shares and 10 Billion shares in the Market, I don't expect Safaricom to go to an impressive upward beyond the current levelShame on you . This is the time to sell these shares before they hit another low of 3 bob again very soon!
#2 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:52:01 AM

^^^^^ Thought you had facts kumbe ni panganga tupu!
Metasploit
#3 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:54:19 AM

pnyaga wrote:
with 40 Billion Shares and 10 Billion shares in the Market, I don't expect Safaricom to go to an impressive upward beyond the current levelShame on you . This is the time to sell these shares before they hit another low of 3 bob again very soon!

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
hisah
#4 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:56:10 AM

Mpesa bank is a cocktail on its own. At the current 11/- and assuming a 40cts pay, the div yield is 3.6%. The parent vodafone has just concluded a $130B sale. AT&T wants in on voda's europe biz which could lead to the largest merger & acquisition (M&A) deal in corporate history if permitted by EU and FCC.

With that cocktail mix, mpesa bank is not as easy to place on the firing lineup since the discounts will be greeted with open arms. Until 7.50 breaks down, the bulls hold the fort.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
uchumi
#5 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:57:30 AM

need to understand where safaricom has come from and where they are going.
“I don’t regret the things I’ve done, I regret the things I didn’t do when I had the chance.”
Metasploit
#6 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:57:47 AM

Laughing out loudly!

I love the swings..During corrections guys get crazy buy targets like someone who was waiting for safcom at 8 in Dec.

During bulls guys get crazy sell targets.

In the long run,they continously lose money or dont gain anything

Friend wait for safcom at 3 Ksh (Div yield of 16%)

The fixed market yields at approximately 8-11%

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
#7 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 12:02:06 PM

A case of buying high and selling low as is the norm on Wazua Sad
young
#8 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 12:33:27 PM

I M P A T I E N C E !!!

Hope you guys will not regret (as usual afterwards)

SAFCOM WILL REACH 16 THIS YEAR. WATCH OUT FOR FY 14.

Do not expect market to be bullish always because if the bull run continued that way SAFCOM would have been 40 in DEc 2014.
Let us be realistic and understand the market cycle.

For your info when the bulls return the new high of Safaricom will be 13.50 from 12.80 it attained at the peak of the bull.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#9 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 12:44:48 PM

Bookmarked thread.
Please do not post based on hallucinations. Some of us take stuff here seriously.

#10 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 12:50:07 PM

pnyaga wrote:

Mister, Ksh 11.15 to Ksh 3???

Let me indulge you. Why not Ksh 2.50 or 5.50 or 8? Why such a massive capitulation in share price?
#11 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 12:57:21 PM

Bookmarked thread.
Please do not post based on hallucinations. Some of us take stuff here seriously.

What i have learnt is to identify guys who give information with technical analysis and support their arguements with facts. Then you do your own homework and make your own move. No regrets.

I trust 3 guys calls at the NSE!
mkonomtupu
#12 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 1:25:17 PM

The real purpose of gambling is to lose, not to win. We gamblers lie to ourselves, pretending to be able to influence uncontrollable and unpredictable fate, and forever hoping for a killing at the gaming tables, a gigantic win that will recoup all of our losses and allow us to quit gambling at last.

Even though gamblers say they want to win, they keep gambling until they lose heavily, usually their whole bankroll. A gambler keeps playing when he is ahead because he's greedy, and he keeps playing when he is losing because he wants to win back his losses, or so he says.

Gotta know when to fold and leave the casino when it's past midnight and they start bringing you strong drinks
pnyaga
#13 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 1:40:48 PM

When talking about selling, not the guys who bought at 10 bob, but those guy who bought at 2.50 bob! they should sell before they get back to south and mark you, those who bought at 10 bob are corporates who are long-term investors with bulk of shares of 1 Million and above! That is a good dividend per annum. But guys with 100,000 shares to as little as 10,000, others have 200 shares ONLY, should sell. and wait for the share at southern pole. Looking carefully at the share, Safaricom offloaded too many shares as compared to any other organization in Kenya! Giving a 1 bob dividend is a dream coz it translate to Kshs.40 Billions, not as compared to BAT who give a 12 bob dividend.
The optimist
#14 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 2:08:41 PM

pnyaga wrote:
When talking about selling, not the guys who bought at 10 bob, but those guy who bought at 2.50 bob! they should sell before they get back to south and mark you, those who bought at 10 bob are corporates who are long-term investors with bulk of shares of 1 Million and above! That is a good dividend per annum. But guys with 100,000 shares to as little as 10,000, others have 200 shares ONLY, should sell. and wait for the share at southern pole. Looking carefully at the share, Safaricom offloaded too many shares as compared to any other organization in Kenya! Giving a 1 bob dividend is a dream coz it translate to Kshs.40 Billions, not as compared to BAT who give a 12 bob dividend.

Please have a look at various threads that have been made by some wazua experts regarding Safaricom analysis.
CASHFLOW202
#15 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 2:15:52 PM

The owner of this topic will have some backing from this report
http://www.itwebafrica.c...g-mobile-money-in-kenya
But I am strongly of the opinion that this new bank card have no chance of bitting the mobile money market share especially M-pesa.
SO SAFCOM WILL CONTINUE ITS JOURNEY TO HEAVEN BUT WITH A FEW TURNS TO HELL. AVOID THE TURNS ALWAYS
Monopoly was the industrial age money game and the name of the new game of money today in the information age is CASHFLOW
#16 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 2:33:30 PM

^^^^^ Let the guy dream on.
#17 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 2:58:53 PM

pnyaga wrote:

go ahead
hisah
#18 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 4:08:27 PM

CASHFLOW202 wrote:
But I am strongly of the opinion that this new bank card have no chance of bitting the mobile money market share especially M-pesa.
SO SAFCOM WILL CONTINUE ITS JOURNEY TO HEAVEN BUT WITH A FEW TURNS TO HELL. AVOID THE TURNS ALWAYS

The majority of mpesa bank's clientele is the villager. How do the banks expect to give the villlager an EMV debit card? The same villager who doesn't own a bank account or worse shuns anything to do with a traditional bank. Which is the denomination with the highest transfer volume 50/- or 1,000? There is no comparison between EMV and mpesa.

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#19 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 4:11:53 PM

hisah wrote:
CASHFLOW202 wrote:

The majority of mpesa bank's clientele is the villager. How do the banks expect to give the villlager an EMV debit card? The same villager who doesn't own a bank account or worse shuns anything to do with a traditional bank. Which is the denomination with the highest transfer volume 50/- or 1,000? There is no comparison between EMV and mpesa.

Simple facts are how great is 'okoa jahazi' is to these cadres of people and how much Safcom makes out of this - amazing!

Money is made enmass here and not those VIP cards that require far away outlets to operate!
#20 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 4:15:39 PM

hisah wrote:
CASHFLOW202 wrote:

Simple facts are how great is 'okoa jahazi' is to these cadres of people and how much Safcom makes out of this - amazing!

Money is made enmass here and not those VIP cards that require far away outlets to operate!

Are the EMV's similar to this Nakumatt Global card. because from observation i just found out that MPesa is one way, if not the best way, to top them up.
Left or right.... Mpesa still gets a cut. dayuuuum!