wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

7 Pages«<34567>
KCPE 2013 Results
#81 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 11:58:51 PM

Our schools are more focused on passing exams and appearing on paper.There's hardly any time left for kids to discover their potential and work towards realizing them.
The option left is to create paid for clubs for self talent discovery.
From Karate/swimming/scouts/music/drama/dance etc,a child has to belong or end up a nerd.

What we call schools especially private 'middo crass' academies lost the plot a long time ago.

they hardly have space for playing even kata, no PE no fun no games no interschool drama athletics soccet etc

tuition starts in kindergarten . our schools are mills of social misfits. We need to relook at our curriculum.
And you wonder at the kind of artistes .ke producesSad Shame on you
"๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜กKQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ " overheard in Wazua
#82 Posted : Sunday, January 19, 2014 12:10:51 AM

Siringi wrote:

Our schools are more focused on passing exams and appearing on paper.There's hardly any time left for kids to discover their potential and work towards realizing them.
From Karate/swimming/scouts/music/drama/dance etc,a child has to belong or end up a nerd.

What we call schools especially private 'middo crass' academies lost the plot a long time ago.

they hardly have space for playing even kata, no PE no fun no games no interschool drama athletics soccet etc

tuition starts in kindergarten and you wonder at the kind of artistes .ke produces

public schools have space,but the constant strikes,congestions etc don't make them better choices either.
Education today is all about the school and not the kid,we prefer better learning environment.

Talent is best discovered at home and nurtured.

#83 Posted : Sunday, January 19, 2014 12:52:39 PM

Siringi wrote:

tuition starts in kindergarten . our schools are mills of social misfits. We need to relook at our curriculum.
And you wonder at the kind of artistes .ke producesSad Shame on you

I don't think its the curriculum that has an issue nor the schools - actually the latter play out their role which is basically educational perfectly.
Its mostly to do with the parents who see schools as prisons which help keep away their small troubles and house helps as guardians to their children.

A parent should notice and help mould a kids talent - that's not the work of a school.
#84 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 9:37:38 AM

[quote]Kenya: Secondary education in Kenyaโ€™s top public schools is slowly becoming a preserve of students from well-to-do families as head teachers ignore Government guidelines to keep fees affordable. Parents are now struggling to shoulder the cost of secondary education that has gone through the roof, and many have even been forced to remove children admitted to national schools after failing to keep up fees payments. Ministry of Education guidelines recommend that public schools charge Sh18,000 per year, while the Government tops up Sh10,265 for every student. But the fees have soared to as high as Sh100,000, driven up by a raft of new levies introduced by head teachers. The state of affairs that seemingly offers education to the highest bidder has put the future of thousands of bright but needy students in jeopardy
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...ya-s-top-public-schools[/quote]
Um Sayala
#85 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 9:42:10 AM

So education in Public secondary school is more expensive than in our public Universities.Only in Kenya. GFF
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#86 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 9:46:46 AM

Um Sayala wrote:
So education in Public secondary school is more expensive than in our public Universities.Only in Kenya. GFF

Public day secondary schools are supposed to 'free' as far as the garment is concerned yet I'm paying 28K for my nephew in form four!!!!!
#87 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:18:49 AM

Um Sayala wrote:

Public day secondary schools are supposed to 'free' as far as the garment is concerned yet I'm paying 28K for my nephew in form four!!!!!

What would you say are the extra-ordinary items in that amount which you can say are suspect?
#88 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:21:00 AM

Um Sayala wrote:

What would you say are the extra-ordinary items in that amount which you can say are suspect?

You dont find that amount too high for something that should be FREE???
Um Sayala
#89 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:21:26 AM

Um Sayala wrote:

I got chances in two National schools. Guess the fees per year: 117k 1nd 109k respectively. Na shopping bado. Thats almost all that CHACHA gave me during my stone-throwing period.
#90 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:27:43 AM

[quote=Swenani]
Kenya: Secondary education in Kenyaโ€™s top public schools is slowly becoming a preserve of students from well-to-do families as head teachers ignore Government guidelines to keep fees affordable. Parents are now struggling to shoulder the cost of secondary education that has gone through the roof, and many have even been forced to remove children admitted to national schools after failing to keep up fees payments. Ministry of Education guidelines recommend that public schools charge Sh18,000 per year, while the Government tops up Sh10,265 for every student. But the fees have soared to as high as Sh100,000, driven up by a raft of new levies introduced by head teachers. The state of affairs that seemingly offers education to the highest bidder has put the future of thousands of bright but needy students in jeopardy
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...ya-s-top-public-schools[/quote]

To add on the fees, the Head teachers are now auctioning places for the needy students who fail to report for their slots especially in the National Public schools!!!
#91 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:29:19 AM

Um Sayala wrote:

I got chances in two National schools. Guess the fees per year: 117k 1nd 109k respectively. Na shopping bado. Thats almost all that CHACHA gave me during my stone-throwing period.

Two chances in National Schools for one child?
Um Sayala
#92 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:38:17 AM

Tebes wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

Two chances in National Schools for one child?

Yes Tebes. Selected by one National school, but I walked into another and they offered him a chance too. so I have two admission letters. Do I make myself clearer?
#93 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:40:36 AM

Um Sayala wrote:

Sad Sad Kumbe ni wewe?Sad
Um Sayala
#94 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:56:19 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

Yeah. Coz all Unis went on strike at one time or the other then. And all students are assumed to have participated thats why ALL were sent home. So my 'yes' is iplied.
InnovateGuy
#95 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:07:56 AM

Um Sayala wrote:

Boss, 28 K per year ama per term?

Assuming that the fee for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd terms is 8K, 6K, and 5K respectively, that total fee is fair considering that your nephew is in form four and examination fee is kinda expensive.

If the maths doesn't add up, check that fee structure again with macro-lenses. These young people are capable of anything. 2,800 could be made 28 K.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#96 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:11:49 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

Boss, 28 K per year ama per term?

Assuming that the fee for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd terms is 8K, 6K, and 5K respectively, that total fee is fair considering that your nephew is in form four and examination fee is kinda expensive.

If the maths doesn't add up, check that fee structure again with macro-lenses. These young people are capable of anything. 2,800 could be made 28 K.

Hahaha, the garment pay the tution fees and according to the same gava Public day schools bure....just like 'Free Primary education'......it's all a hoax!!!!
#97 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:13:49 AM

Link: High School Fees

Form One students at Limuru Girls High School are paying Sh128,000 per year. Students joining State House Girls, a county school, will pay Sh71,000 this year. Moi Girls High School Eldoret is charging Sh102,000, Alliance High School Sh120,000 and Nairobi School Sh96,000. Lenana School is charging Sh96,000.

Starehe Sh150,000. Kabarak more than Sh200,000.

keraka
#98 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:15:05 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

Whats really happening in kenya.This middle class mentality of accept and move on and not asking the hard questions is our greatest bane.Now how how does a public high school supported by the Government with Teachers on the Government payroll charge more than a private high school whose foremost objective is to make profits.How now does one public School charge double the other in the same country(my nephew has an admission letter from Ribe High with an annual fees of KShs.56,000, Kisii High's annual fees is approximately 110,000. As we run helter skelter chasing the ghosts of corruption in Govt bealive me High School principals are the latest Millionaires we are minting from corruption.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#99 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:21:26 AM

keraka wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

Whats really happening in kenya.This middle class mentality of accept and move on and not asking the hard questions is our greatest bane.Now how how does a public high school supported by the Government with Teachers on the Government payroll charge more than a private high school whose foremost objective is to make profits.How now does one public School charge double the other in the same country(my nephew has an admission letter from Ribe High with an annual fees of KShs.56,000, Kisii High's annual fees is approximately 110,000. As we run helter skelter chasing the ghosts of corruption in Govt believe me High School principals are the latest Millionaires we are minting from corruption.

All the while, some deserving top students such as this one suddenly find themselves with no placements for one reason or another.
#100 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:31:18 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
keraka wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

Whats really happening in kenya.This middle class mentality of accept and move on and not asking the hard questions is our greatest bane.Now how how does a public high school supported by the Government with Teachers on the Government payroll charge more than a private high school whose foremost objective is to make profits.How now does one public School charge double the other in the same country(my nephew has an admission letter from Ribe High with an annual fees of KShs.56,000, Kisii High's annual fees is approximately 110,000. As we run helter skelter chasing the ghosts of corruption in Govt believe me High School principals are the latest Millionaires we are minting from corruption.

All the while, some deserving top students such as this one suddenly find themselves with no placements for one reason or another.

Nowadays all headteachers of public primary schools drive in the village yet kitambo it was baiskeli pekee yake!!!!