#21 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 4:31:52 PM

in another country this would have been in the headlines

In Kenya, the life of a person is as good as that of a chicken

With the new jubilee/digital gava, you thought things would change lakini wapi? Same old stories, some even worse.

Who to condemn, the jubilee govt or the heartless thugs who three out passangers from a moving bus.

Every citizen, do we have checks on who is boarding these buses? If I want to be secure in a bus, what initiatives has the bus company put in place to ensure that is happens?
chris79
#22 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 4:42:08 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Honestly guys, are we not pushing to much to the government?
Bottom line you are in charge of your security before government comes in.

Whats your point, were we as citizens supposed to chase the bus or push the thugs out of the bus?

For example did the bus have a functioning speed governor? Hii tabia ya serikali saidia does not lead us anywhere, one must start by examining where they went wrong before running to serikal, you have been given an example of 2NK and 4NK and you are still asking for a point?

how would the speed governor have helped here? or thieves don't jack vehicles with speed governors?

Good question.
#23 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 5:26:12 PM

Primary responsibility for providing security (foundation of systems) is the gava and nothing exists so far. That is my beef, hope you have read the story of Kayole today which is replicated every where!
#24 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 5:41:13 PM

Primary responsibility for providing security (foundation of systems) is the gava and nothing exists so far. That is my beef, hope you have read the story of Kayole today which is replicated every where!

http://mobile.nation.co....l/-/hxf4wk/-/index.html

http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/5io80hz/-/index.html
#25 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 7:25:14 PM

Its really sad when thugs literally take over. But what's worse is when a discussion of the same in a forum of wazua's calibre degenerates into a jubilee/cord shouting match.

My take is simple. These criminals are talking to us, they are telling us they are invincible, they are telling us they can do as they wish and nobody can stop them. If you have followed the police vetting on TV, you will agree the thugs are partly right.

Now its time to talk back to them in a language they will understand. The language of sheer ruthlessness. They only understand the language of violence; its time to remind them that the govt actually has a legally sanctioned monopoly of violence.

About 10 years ago, criminals in zimmerman started attacking mama mbogas who leave the estate at 4am to go to marikiti. When they became too much, the residents lay in wait as the mama mbogas left their houses at their usual 4am. The thugs pounced as usual. They didn't know it was a trap. Residents going to work early in the morning found four bodies still burning.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how Zimmerman became one of the safest estates sometimes in 2003.
#26 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 7:57:50 PM

Its really sad when thugs literally take over. But what's worse is when a discussion of the same in a forum of wazua's calibre degenerates into a jubilee/cord shouting match.

My take is simple. These criminals are talking to us, they are telling us they are invincible, they are telling us they can do as they wish and nobody can stop them. If you have followed the police vetting on TV, you will agree the thugs are partly right.

Now its time to talk back to them in a language they will understand. The language of sheer ruthlessness. They only understand the language of violence; its time to remind them that the govt actually has a legally sanctioned monopoly of violence.

About 10 years ago, criminals in zimmerman started attacking mama mbogas who leave the estate at 4am to go to marikiti. When they became too much, the residents lay in wait as the mama mbogas left their houses at their usual 4am. The thugs pounced as usual. They didn't know it was a trap. Residents going to work early in the morning found four bodies still burning.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how Zimmerman became one of the safest estates sometimes in 2003.

Thankyou.

Someone asked what my point was.

That example has served a good illustration.

Before we ask government to step in lets do something for ourselves.

A gang of 5 taking 52 hostage is not acceptable.
#27 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 8:23:45 PM

Isorait, lets blame the indecently dressed lady for getting herself raped.
#28 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 8:38:43 PM

I recall that, I was a direct 'beneficiary' of that security as I lived there.

We need to adopt some ruthless measures. Guns are weapons of war (as one once said, bunduki sio jembe). Anyone who takes a gun against you has, in essence, declared war against you. Therefore, the rules of war apply: shoot on sight!

That said, we need to address the root cause of crime too.
#29 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 9:26:41 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
[quote=Angelica _ann]Primary responsibility for providing security (foundation of systems) is the gava and nothing exists so far. That is my beef, hope you have read the story of Kayole today which is replicated every where!

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/5io80hz/-/index.html[/quote]

oh, a 14 yr old girl,member of the gang severally stabbed a whole man?Pray Don't we have a black widow in the making here?

We have had gangs before.All that the cops need is permission to wipe them off the face of the earth.Who are they to stop people from living normal lives?

Let the human rights group cry murder if they want, but society must be rid of such gangs.

#30 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 9:40:36 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
[quote=Angelica _ann]Primary responsibility for providing security (foundation of systems) is the gava and nothing exists so far. That is my beef, hope you have read the story of Kayole today which is replicated every where!

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/5io80hz/-/index.html[/quote]

oh, a 14 yr old girl,member of the gang severally stabbed a whole man?Pray Don't we have a black widow in the making here?

We have had gangs before.All that the cops need is permission to wipe them off the face of the earth.Who are they to stop people from living normal lives?

Let the human rights group cry murder if they want, but society must be rid of such gangs.

@kysse, you are absolutely right. But can you imagine giving our police the carte Blanche to kill ? Therein lies our dilemma. Who can we trust to do a dirty job without leaving a mess ?

To quote the legendary mossad commander Meir dagan, "the dirtiest of jobs must be done by the most honest of men"