wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

47 Pages«<7891011>»
Matatu Business
Prime
#161 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 4:59:21 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
timuka wrote:
Wazua, I want to try the 33- seater bus town services preferably metrotrans kikuyu route or 105 kikuyu route, anyone with experience? in terms of the cost of entry,requirements, daily net collections and ROI

smile Following closely for my neighbor....

Lugha ni ile ile ya my friend...smile
jerry
#162 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 10:19:04 PM

Prime wrote:
jerry wrote:
Prime wrote:
@Prime did you finally succeed?

Almost there. I managed to get the windows today. Will be through with the paintwork leo. Im out of cash so I will only change 2 tyres for now. We are yet to be given TLBs. Been told to wait. And pray. They say the cabinet secretary for transport must approve the issuance... So Im just waiting

Sawa. I wish you all the best. Tuombe kabisa.

That's good progress @Prime. Yottu'll help me get the windows when mine arrives end of this month.

Sawa Jerry. You may be lucky to get yours registered. Hebu liaise with your sacco guys. The guy who got me the windows is called jomo on 0725271529. Call him before the car arrives. tell him to reserve for you. Mwambie ni yule kijana wa imani shuttle. Someone had promised me that they would get last week at a much cheaper price. I will enquire for you and revert hapa in the course of the week.

I believe the windows arrived. I've not "bothered" to call Kamau or Jomo since my "matatu" is arriving on 31/01/2013. If it's not registrable as a matatu I may not need the windows and I will go for plan B!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#163 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 7:59:25 AM

jerry wrote:
Prime wrote:
jerry wrote:
Prime wrote:
@Prime did you finally succeed?

Almost there. I managed to get the windows today. Will be through with the paintwork leo. Im out of cash so I will only change 2 tyres for now. We are yet to be given TLBs. Been told to wait. And pray. They say the cabinet secretary for transport must approve the issuance... So Im just waiting

Sawa. I wish you all the best. Tuombe kabisa.

That's good progress @Prime. Yottu'll help me get the windows when mine arrives end of this month.

Sawa Jerry. You may be lucky to get yours registered. Hebu liaise with your sacco guys. The guy who got me the windows is called jomo on 0725271529. Call him before the car arrives. tell him to reserve for you. Mwambie ni yule kijana wa imani shuttle. Someone had promised me that they would get last week at a much cheaper price. I will enquire for you and revert hapa in the course of the week.

I believe the windows arrived. I've not "bothered" to call Kamau or Jomo since my "matatu" is arriving on 31/01/2013. If it's not registrable as a matatu I may not need the windows and I will go for plan B!

I'm curious...
jerry
#164 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 12:07:45 PM

@Rankaz13, I don't mean taking a "short-cut". I'll sell it or do a different job with it.
#165 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 12:33:29 PM

jerry wrote:
@Rankaz13, I don't mean taking a "short-cut". I'll sell it or do a different job with it.

That, sir, was my curiosity, hiyo ingine washana naye.
Prime
#166 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 5:15:34 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
jerry wrote:

Hata Mimi Im very curious. My reasoning was based on the fact that one day you may need to sell it. a majority of the customers for these vans are matatu guys. if it is not registered by TLB guys, you will not stand a very good chance of selling at a premium price. Furthermore the prices are bound to fall. The moment you stay with it for 6 months you will not get a good price. However, if it will be a mat, Chances are high that even after 2 years you may sell at the price you bought it at, as long as bado imesimama. The same thing that happened with 5L. The moment that 7L came in with a much higher duty, the 5Ls shot up in price. The moment 3000 cc 7Ls come in (1KD?) then the 2500 cc 7Ls will have their prices shooting upwards (2KD). Guys will obviously prefer 2500 ccs to 3000 ccs and the latter's duty will be much higher. Jaribu kwanza ku-i register
jerry
#167 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 7:36:20 PM

Prime wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
jerry wrote:

Hata Mimi Im very curious. My reasoning was based on the fact that one day you may need to sell it. a majority of the customers for these vans are matatu guys. if it is not registered by TLB guys, you will not stand a very good chance of selling at a premium price. Furthermore the prices are bound to fall. The moment you stay with it for 6 months you will not get a good price. However, if it will be a mat, Chances are high that even after 2 years you may sell at the price you bought it at, as long as bado imesimama. The same thing that happened with 5L. The moment that 7L came in with a much higher duty, the 5Ls shot up in price. The moment 3000 cc 7Ls come in (1KD?) then the 2500 cc 7Ls will have their prices shooting upwards (2KD). Guys will obviously prefer 2500 ccs to 3000 ccs and the latter's duty will be much higher. Jaribu kwanza ku-i register

Good advice. I will keep you updated as always.
jerry
#168 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:08:09 PM

Kindly advise on IDF procedures. At what stage do I acquire one and from where?
matatuman
#169 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 8:45:20 PM

jerry wrote:

Your unit should have landed today... Usually its advisable to engage your clearing agent as soon as you get your documents since IDF can be done before the vehicle lands. I suggest you get in touch with your agent ASAP.
jerry
#170 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 11:00:41 PM

matatuman wrote:
jerry wrote:

Your unit should have landed today... Usually its advisable to engage your clearing agent as soon as you get your documents since IDF can be done before the vehicle lands. I suggest you get in touch with your agent ASAP.

Thanks @matatuman, I was "young and stupid" as @Vj would put it but I'm almost "old and wise". Problem now is whether I will avoid the port "demurrage charges". There is also the risk of tampering of car due to prolonged stay at "port".
jerry
#171 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 12:17:55 AM

jerry wrote:
matatuman wrote:
jerry wrote:

Thanks @matatuman, I was "young and stupid" as @Vj would put it but I'm almost "old and wise". Problem now is whether I will avoid the port "demurrage charges". There is also the risk of tampering of car due to prolonged stay at "port".

I have just realized that the vessel docked on 27/01 according to KPA web-site and off-loading (of the ship) seems to have been done already. This is despite the ETA being 31/01/2014 at 4 PM on the docs.
#172 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 9:28:40 AM

jerry wrote:

I have just realized that the vessel docked on 27/01 according to KPA web-site and off-loading (of the ship) seems to have been done already. This is despite the ETA being 31/01/2014 at 4 PM on the docs.

Thank God it arrived earlier but small tip of advise. An agent/forwader takes the hustle of tracking,updating,clearing and delivery to door.
They know what caused delays etc etc.

You can do your own IDF-it only costs kes 5,000 and is processed through kra after proof of payment at the Bank.

You require your PIN NO,and personal infor-ie importers details-Name,add, then wait for at least 3 days for it to pass.

This is why the idf application or the whole clearance process needs to start while goods are still on the high sea.

ok I hope i have helped a bit.
Prime
#173 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 10:23:56 AM

Jerry. You need to change your clearing agent ONCE YOU ARE DONE WITH THIS DEAL. He is obviously a let down. Let me pray that the car first month of registration is January 2007. Let me hope that your "agent" recommended a CFS that has a longer storage duration. 4 days is BAD especially if you ran into complications like I did with sbt. Did you forward the documents to the agent and he did not tell you about IDF, passport + ID for the Online PIN?
If the CFS will give you at least 15 days you will manage. If not then I suggest that you use a little cash to push things lest the demurrage accumulates sana as you clear the car. once you clear it let us know. We need to evaluate things and compare notes for the future. Usife moyo. Its called gaining experience.
bartum
#174 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 12:27:12 PM

the info you get at wazua is just awesome keep it guys. i imported nissan Vanette and landed early this month and had to pay ksh5000 ati for inspection and inspection was done in japan,is this true ama ni kugongwa by my agent.
matatuman
#175 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 2:46:41 PM

bartum wrote:
the info you get at wazua is just awesome keep it guys. i imported nissan Vanette and landed early this month and had to pay ksh5000 ati for inspection and inspection was done in japan,is this true ama ni kugongwa by my agent.

That should be for the radiation screening they do at the port, cant recall the exact amount I paid.
Prime
#176 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 5:08:04 PM

bartum wrote:

Radiation is a K. It is a requirement that commercial vehicles are inspected before the number plates are issued. You weka chevrons, reflectors etc then pay to KRA for inspection. You still have to chotea the inspectors. They should issue you with the certificate and sticker on the windscreen. All commercial cars have to be inspected. So you were not conned. You could have decided to pick the car with temporary plates then you have the inspection done then you start chasing the plates. In my opinion the clearing agent did the best thing for you. Mine costed me 4k but its okay!!
jerry
#177 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 6:42:38 PM

Prime wrote:
Jerry. You need to change your clearing agent ONCE YOU ARE DONE WITH THIS DEAL. He is obviously a let down. Let me pray that the car first month of registration is January 2007. Let me hope that your "agent" recommended a CFS that has a longer storage duration. 4 days is BAD especially if you ran into complications like I did with sbt. Did you forward the documents to the agent and he did not tell you about IDF, passport + ID for the Online PIN?
If the CFS will give you at least 15 days you will manage. If not then I suggest that you use a little cash to push things lest the demurrage accumulates sana as you clear the car. once you clear it let us know. We need to evaluate things and compare notes for the future. Usife moyo. Its called gaining experience.

@kysse, You surely have made a positive contribution. The following is not common knowledge... "This is why the idf application or the whole clearance process needs to start while goods are still on the high sea."
@Prime, Thanks. I'll report papa hapa. Someone has this signature "Before you can be old and wise you have to be young and stupid." I accept making some errors which are likely for a first timer.
Prime
#178 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 6:23:37 PM

Week 2 at the job. Still trying to get in synch with my driver. Cant complain much. If everything goes well and things pick up then I will say that it was worth the investment. So far averaging around 4k/ day. Some days very good. Actually majority good. One or two days very bad. I am still young at the whole thing but I have sat on the shoulders of giants at the trade. It is still too early to make conclusions but i will post my observations slowly by slowly.

1. It is a business like any other. When you start a business, your input, both financial and time are still required. I have had to learn that the mat cannot and should not stand by itself from the word go. Majority, including mine are partially financed by loans. By partially covering its costs, e.g. service and Insurance, and topping up the loan payments will always go a long way into getting debt free and covering up for any unforeseen circumstances which may require you to come up with urgent cash. Similarly during the duration of the loan repayment, the matatu cash should strictly go into the repayments. I always try to remember that the mat will not always be on the road for one reason or the other. So the earlier I get the repayment done the better. A cushion of about 50k is always to be on standby for any matter that arises that may keep the matatu off the road. Within a year, the loan should have been re-payed, assuming all goes well. After that the mat can now take care of itself. My mentor supports any new mat he has acquired for 6 months. Paying everything from his pocket then frees the mat to now start earning him some income. So in short, It is a seed. Not to be eaten but sowed, tendered, watered and all measures put in place to ensure a bountiful harvest IN THE FUTURE.

2. FUEL. I have made it mandatory that the driver MUST fill the tank at the petrol station of my choice. A worksheet is a must everyday showing the trips done, the cash received, the starting mileage and ending mileage. over time I have noted that the mat does around 10bob of diesel per KM. The last time I allowed him to fill up at a station of his choice ended disastrously after claiming he filled 5200 for a day that should have only taken 4100 or thereabout. The concept of full tank is just to avoid scenarios where he says he topped up a 1000 when he only did 500 worth of fuel. So for the fuel, ONLY DO FULL TANK at the end of the day, Majority of times in my presence BUT at a petrol station of my choice. Where quality is assured and najua the attendants will watch out for me. More to come
matatuman
#179 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 7:54:15 PM

Prime wrote:
Week 2 at the job. Still trying to get in synch with my driver. Cant complain much. If everything goes well and things pick up then I will say that it was worth the investment. So far averaging around 4k/ day. Some days very good. Actually majority good. One or two days very bad. I am still young at the whole thing but I have sat on the shoulders of giants at the trade. It is still too early to make conclusions but i will post my observations slowly by slowly.

1. It is a business like any other. When you start a business, your input, both financial and time are still required. I have had to learn that the mat cannot and should not stand by itself from the word go. Majority, including mine are partially financed by loans. By partially covering its costs, e.g. service and Insurance, and topping up the loan payments will always go a long way into getting debt free and covering up for any unforeseen circumstances which may require you to come up with urgent cash. Similarly during the duration of the loan repayment, the matatu cash should strictly go into the repayments. I always try to remember that the mat will not always be on the road for one reason or the other. So the earlier I get the repayment done the better. A cushion of about 50k is always to be on standby for any matter that arises that may keep the matatu off the road. Within a year, the loan should have been re-payed, assuming all goes well. After that the mat can now take care of itself. My mentor supports any new mat he has acquired for 6 months. Paying everything from his pocket then frees the mat to now start earning him some income. So in short, It is a seed. Not to be eaten but sowed, tendered, watered and all measures put in place to ensure a bountiful harvest IN THE FUTURE.

2. FUEL. I have made it mandatory that the driver MUST fill the tank at the petrol station of my choice. A worksheet is a must everyday showing the trips done, the cash received, the starting mileage and ending mileage. over time I have noted that the mat does around 10bob of diesel per KM. The last time I allowed him to fill up at a station of his choice ended disastrously after claiming he filled 5200 for a day that should have only taken 4100 or thereabout. The concept of full tank is just to avoid scenarios where he says he topped up a 1000 when he only did 500 worth of fuel. So for the fuel, ONLY DO FULL TANK at the end of the day, Majority of times in my presence BUT at a petrol station of my choice. Where quality is assured and najua the attendants will watch out for me. More to come

@Prime: A tracker will save you lots of headache with regards to trips and fuel. I suggest you go with tramigo. You dont need to be on the net. An android phone is all you need and you have a visual of your vehicle- map and exact location. Just my 2 cents. Worksheets never worked for me, all these drivers think they are smart.
#180 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 10:24:36 PM

Prime wrote:

2. FUEL. I have made it mandatory that the driver MUST fill the tank at the petrol station of my choice. A worksheet is a must everyday showing the trips done, the cash received, the starting mileage and ending mileage. over time I have noted that the mat does around 10bob of diesel per KM. The last time I allowed him to fill up at a station of his choice ended disastrously after claiming he filled 5200 for a day that should have only taken 4100 or thereabout. The concept of full tank is just to avoid scenarios where he says he topped up a 1000 when he only did 500 worth of fuel. So for the fuel, ONLY DO FULL TANK at the end of the day, Majority of times in my presence BUT at a petrol station of my choice. Where quality is assured and najua the attendants will watch out for me. More to come.

That. Over time, I have come to realize that the single most expensive 'spare part' in a shark is the engine, and when it gets to the end of its life, hata 'kufunga engine' haitasaidia. For that reason then, I advocate to always have some amount in its account that would be sufficient to purchase an (ex-japan, good quality) engine just in case the need arises. It is an ideal I always strive towards, after some harsh lessons learnt along the way.