#21 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 11:40:57 AM

There is a technology we call dual gauge, where the Metre-Gauge rail is superimposed on an SGR so that trains of different sizes can use the same track...its a common practice in Australia and parts of Canada.

This makes alot of sense..

Its the way its done in developed countries, hakuna story ya uproot watu wa Kibera and those on the way-leave (sp)...just superimpose the new SGR on the older track route and save money ans time.

anyone know why this was not implemented, looks like it would save a lot - unless kuna sababu.

If people like @Itumbi, @kutuny and @simonkabuga are the key advisors in Jubree gaament then its obvious the gaament could not see this.

Taking Art ggraduate teachers as technical advisors...SMH.

Sad Sad

Where are all our engineers? Kwani they never learnt that in campus? And am always surprised by the high number of engineers I get to meet in pubs....introducing themselves as sijui eti 'I am Engineer Kilonzo, Engineer Omollo, Engineer Kangethe' etc. They need to give us practical solutions to our problems, not just flouting their titles in bars.

Those are arm-chair engineers like baba, real Engineers don't go around pubs announcing.
You can even see from the cars they drive.

If you see guys driving overly pimped car, brightly painted and with those LED lights on the wheels and side mirrors then know you are seeing a fake engineer.

Iganamagana
#22 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:19:27 PM

There is a technology we call dual gauge, where the Metre-Gauge rail is superimposed on an SGR so that trains of different sizes can use the same track...its a common practice in Australia and parts of Canada.

Its the way its done in developed countries, hakuna story ya uproot watu wa Kibera and those on the way-leave (sp)...just superimpose the new SGR on the older track route and save money ans time.

But can you see any buildings on the railway reserve? What would happen if wagons full of petrol were to derail in Kibera today? The people should be re-located for their own safety.
#23 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:20:14 PM

Ignorance will kill people.Superimposing is only done over short distances and where the railway track is a straight as possible and speeds are nothing to talk about eg,mining shafts,cane estates,inter-factory lines,godown tracks etc.

The question would rather have been,why can't we have a dual new line as opposed to an SGR??....Costs of course,awkwardness and 65% of railway tracks in the world are Stephenson.The new line has two things in mind.Cargo and passengers and therefore it fairly fits our requirements.If we were thinking high speeds and passengers alone,the world has gone Maglev.
MKWASI
#24 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:24:17 PM

Whereas the idea is good, constructions along the railway line is a death trap. Railway corridors needs to be safe guarded. Kenya is not short of land where the fellows can be settled.
#25 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:27:31 PM

MKWASI wrote:

Whereas the idea is good, constructions along the railway line is a death trap. Railway corridors needs to be safe guarded. Kenya is not short of land where the fellows can be settled.

Wooow...This looks cool...So why didnt we just improve on what is already there?
#26 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:46:31 PM

MKWASI wrote:

Wooow...This looks cool...So why didnt we just improve on what is already there?

The 'extra 400B'. The mboys are hungry.
#27 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2015 7:13:12 AM

sitaki.kujulikana
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2015 2:04:00 PM

The guys who put up the railway had a great resolve, kudos to the mzungu, after he left we fell back to our lazy ways.

If they cold build such a vast railway line using karai, we should be able to put up the sgr on our own.
wajuguna
#29 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2015 5:56:18 PM

As you quip, remember those karai carrying souls were godforsaken slaves, and I bet civil society groups were not born by then. Again it must have taken donkey years....and lives to complete.

Now paste that to 2015 and contrast.
sitaki.kujulikana
#30 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2015 7:34:51 PM

wajuguna wrote:
As you quip, remember those karai carrying souls were godforsaken slaves, and I bet civil society groups were not born by then. Again it must have taken donkey years....and lives to complete.

Now paste that to 2015 and contrast.

A good number of workers died, but the thing took only like 5 years from mombasa to kisumu, that was and is still a big achievement.

But considering the rail line technology has not changed since, its embarrassing that we have to get the Chinese to lay the tack for us, and also that we really never added to what the mzungu left us with.