wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

284 Pages«<236237238239240>»
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
Boris Boyka
#4741 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 11:23:51 AM

Metasploit wrote:
Kenya airways and ARM are like Afghanistan!No one wants to go there today even on a free ticket!

the 12 support level breaks on KQ!

@Obiero this thing has confused 11 ksh with 19 ksh

@metaspoilt wazuans are hidden in bankers watching through a small open hole to see what arsenal Mr market is hitting them with. nearly every one is affected ur just a composed one. waiting
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#4742 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 11:42:48 AM

PPT, where are we @ next week? :)
hisah
#4743 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:04:41 PM

That vacuum sucking sound... As US funds pull out $2.6B from EM stocks a spike similar to Feb 2011. Late comers poleni sana. Corrections are part of the game. It was getting frothy with some crappy counters pretending to shine. Luckily wanjikus are very few at NSE since they're still onto real estate. And I expect those shamba threads to become plenty this year.

Let's see if 2014 will offer the expected discounts (volatile shakeouts) on the value counters for the next attack on 5000 - 5500 resistance forest.

No need for PPT since the Hydrocarbon play is still intact as a long term support for the expected push beyond 6161 to new all time highs as Wanjikus join the party enmass.

@aguy - value stocks (without froothy valuations) that get a haircut should be were to load up. I still fancy the laggards.

Don't fight the trend, let the market do its thing. The dust always settles, but before then the ulcers and the nightmares of the shakeouts can be very testing.

** Just as a reminder, risk management will be key this year as volatility makes a come back.**

Remember, last straw, Eurobond. Bad reception and 2011 is back on the cards...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Metasploit
#4744 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:17:49 PM

Mwenye macho haambiwi tazama

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
#4745 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:24:13 PM

hisah wrote:
That vacuum sucking sound... As US funds pull out $2.6B from EM stocks a spike similar to Feb 2011. Late comers poleni sana. Corrections are part of the game. It was getting frothy with some crappy counters pretending to shine. Luckily wanjikus are very few at NSE since they're still onto real estate. And I expect those shamba threads to become plenty this year.

Let's see if 2014 will offer the expected discounts (volatile shakeouts) on the value counters for the next attack on 5000 - 5500 resistance forest.

No need for PPT since the Hydrocarbon play is still intact as a long term support for the expected push beyond 6161 to new all time highs as Wanjikus join the party enmass.

@aguy - value stocks (without froothy valuations) that get a haircut should be were to load up. I still fancy the laggards.

Don't fight the trend, let the market do its thing. The dust always settles, but before then the ulcers and the nightmares of the shakeouts can be very testing.

** Just as a reminder, risk management will be key this year as volatility makes a come back.**

Interesting perspective.

Meanwhile, one research note review of yesterday indicating we should "expect a more volatile market but the upward trend should be maintained with a 4600 – 5900 trading range for the year."

Please expound on the hydrocarbon play.
#4746 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:30:23 PM

This is when i become a drunkard
#4747 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:34:02 PM

If the house owner knew,the thief would not have striked and thats how mr.market catches us.
jerry
#4748 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:43:13 PM

PPT, where are we @ next week? :)

What's that? PPT! We are saving for the EuroBond...
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#4749 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:47:02 PM

The big boys must be watching to shake out panic sellers then decide next play next week. The value of shares traded today Vs yesterday should be an indicator when we have the figures.
The Merchant
#4750 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:47:30 PM

hisah wrote:
Bearish against 180 (double top) on the FTSE NSE15 index weekly chart. The weekly has been toppish since the Nov 24 2013 upthrust week with the roof at 184. Likely for the entire Jan 2014 rally to be erased all the way down to Dec 2013 levels around 165 - 168. If this play out the same will be mirrored on NSE20 which means it'll lose the 5000 handle. Interesting this is happening just before results check in as well as the eurobond uptake. Reminds me of the infamous call back in Feb 2011 when I saw banks selloff hard even after announcing rosy 2010 results and USD went to 90/- and above...

Risk management will be key. Volatility is coming back...

Check post #2 - http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=11082

Actually, if it drops to the 165 level (the neck line), it would confirm a double top. After that a drop equal to the height of the two tops would be seen. A break of 165 if definitely something to worry about.Sad
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#4751 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 12:48:18 PM

hisah wrote:

#Word
@SufficientlyP
#4752 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:00:43 PM

#TeamNBK holding strong.

Year of the laggards people. I can also see MSC fighting ANY Ksh. 2/= bob vibes Laughing out loudly
brizzy
#4753 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:01:47 PM

Quite fascinated by this current market trends
The closer you look the less you see
Metasploit
#4754 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:17:17 PM

Bargain window closing!

I have picked HFCK at 30,CFC at 85, KQ between 11.45 and 11.70 and Safcom at 11

Tried Kengen at 11.60 but it failed.

All in all thanks to the sellers!

And watch Kenya Re (the volumes)

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
jerry
#4755 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:20:00 PM

Metasploit wrote:
Bargain window closing!

Interesting~!
Any relationship with Osuji? smile
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
bartum
#4756 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:35:46 PM

jerry wrote:
Metasploit wrote:
Bargain window closing!

Interesting~!
Any relationship with Osuji? smile

is it timing the market
Cde Monomotapa
#4757 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:50:10 PM

I think to re-balance the view on the Eurobond, we should also consider QE from the BoJ, ECB & BoE.
hisah
#4758 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:16:16 PM

Will be interesting to see if EABL closes below 220 - 230 levels as the shaking continues. I don't think the rally is done on this counter. At some point it'll retest 400 again and head higher in future.

People should be excited with corrections? This is where you make your money, buying discounts on quality counters always offers nice bargains.

My watchlist so far - WTK, NMG, EABL, mpesa bank, KPLC, TCL and now adding MSC after yesterday's vol spike and USDKES cross. Buys for 2014 are NMG and WTK joining KQ (late 2013 buy) as posted on the wazua group as the first defence lines for this volatility pending the eurobond outcome. But that nice US Q4 GDP print might spook the eurobond uptake with a stronger USD.

If USDKES breaks above 87.50, I'll get more defensive and will be forced to sell some counters when that time comes.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#4759 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:37:56 PM

The Merchant wrote:
hisah wrote:
Bearish against 180 (double top) on the FTSE NSE15 index weekly chart. The weekly has been toppish since the Nov 24 2013 upthrust week with the roof at 184. Likely for the entire Jan 2014 rally to be erased all the way down to Dec 2013 levels around 165 - 168. If this play out the same will be mirrored on NSE20 which means it'll lose the 5000 handle. Interesting this is happening just before results check in as well as the eurobond uptake. Reminds me of the infamous call back in Feb 2011 when I saw banks selloff hard even after announcing rosy 2010 results and USD went to 90/- and above...

Risk management will be key. Volatility is coming back...

Check post #2 - http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=11082

Actually, if it drops to the 165 level (the neck line), it would confirm a double top. After that a drop equal to the height of the two tops would be seen. A break of 165 if definitely something to worry about.Sad

@Merchant - How about this ATM on the FTSE NSE15. Redness back to May 2013 levels during the funny euphoria period post elections. The neckline has been tested today as Jan closes. Feb should see the haircuts continue.

Cde Monomotapa
#4760 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:38:42 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
I think to re-balance the view on the Eurobond, we should also consider QE from the BoJ, ECB & BoE.

@hisah I'm looking at it from a perspective that there must be yield seekers out there. So if they have devaluing Yens, Euros & or GBPs, then why not buy into a USD frontier sovereign bond and make 6-7%? Especially one with a strong emerging mineral & hydrocarbon play? Glorified by the IMF too. smile (distorts the Junk Bond look in the long run - tenor)

What do you think?