wazua Fri, Aug 15, 2025

The size of a Standard Gauge Railway
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 4:09:14 PM

How big should a standard gauge railway be? Is there one where the size fits all, where it does not matter how big or small the train is. The small, the medium sized and the big can all pass through without any problem...Even Ummoiner buses!!! Adjustment should be automatic to make this possible. I think with the kind of money being spend, this is what we may get
majimaji
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 4:14:04 PM

How big should a standard gauge railway be? Is there one where the size fits all, where it does not matter how big or small the train is. The small, the medium sized and the big can all pass through without any problem...Even Ummoiner buses!!! Adjustment should be automatic to make this possible. I think with the kind of money being spend, this is what we may get

#3 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 4:23:42 PM

I have a feeling this thread is another fish,bread and aiport thread Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Wazuans are starved.

I suggest Wazuans should consider doing away with Mbuzi get together and instead consider having a bread pressing,fish mongering,landing and trains passing on SGR get together sessions

Those in favour of the motion say "Aye"
Those against the motion say "Aye"

The Aye's have it
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 4:28:40 PM

It is the men of wazua who are running amok. the ladies are fine despite being pressed!
Ole Lenku
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 4:34:20 PM

I have a feeling this thread is another fish,bread and aiport thread Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Wazuans are starved.

I suggest Wazuans should consider doing away with Mbuzi get together and instead consider having a bread pressing,fish mongering,landing and trains passing on SGR get together sessions

Those in favour of the motion say "Aye"
Those against the motion say "Aye"

The Aye's have it

Spot on my brother.
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 4:36:32 PM

It is the men of wazua who are running amok. the ladies are fine despite being pressed!

If you are pressed to be eaten and there are lots of willing wazuans men to eat you,You should support may motion.

We can all meet at the airport(Andy's Office) to brainstorm on this
Braza
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 5:02:26 PM

Mmm.... Boda boda and mkokotenis will also need to go across once in a while, when the train is away .
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 5:08:11 PM

If you are pressed to be eaten and there are lots of willing wazuans men to eat you,You should support may motion.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I support this motion.
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 5:10:41 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I support this motion.

hii maneno ya kukulwa na kukulana imetoka wapi kwa SGR...Bure kabisa
#10 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 8:18:12 AM

Big Chick me and you can kick of the first wazua landing session
MKWASI
#11 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 9:21:08 AM

How about that...this fish business will make you mad!!
#12 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:06:03 AM

There is a technology we call dual gauge, where the Metre-Gauge rail is superimposed on an SGR so that trains of different sizes can use the same track...its a common practice in Australia and parts of Canada.

#13 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:23:24 AM

There is a technology we call dual gauge, where the Metre-Gauge rail is superimposed on an SGR so that trains of different sizes can use the same track...its a common practice in Australia and parts of Canada.

This makes alot of sense..
#14 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:26:36 AM

Its the way its done in developed countries, hakuna story ya uproot watu wa Kibera and those on the way-leave (sp)...just superimpose the new SGR on the older track route and save money ans time.

#15 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:30:45 AM

Its the way its done in developed countries, hakuna story ya uproot watu wa Kibera and those on the way-leave (sp)...just superimpose the new SGR on the older track route and save money ans time.

anyone know why this was not implemented, looks like it would save a lot - unless kuna sababu.
githundi
#16 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:37:23 AM

anyone know why this was not implemented, looks like it would save a lot - unless kuna sababu.

It's important tests are done.
Otherwise we might end up with an sgr that is incompatible with our needs.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
bebeto
#17 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:50:37 AM

Engineer!
Basics talk of SAFETY first, so the 30m should be free of dwellings or habitation, whether SGR or dual.

To answer the question asked before the discussion went south, the SGR is 1,435mm wide, while the narrow/kenyan one is 1,000mm wide.
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#18 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 11:03:19 AM

If people like @Itumbi, @kutuny and @simonkabuga are the key advisors in Jubree gaament then its obvious the gaament could not see this.

Taking Art ggraduate teachers as technical advisors...SMH.

Sad Sad

#19 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 11:31:48 AM

If people like @Itumbi, @kutuny and @simonkabuga are the key advisors in Jubree gaament then its obvious the gaament could not see this.

Taking Art ggraduate teachers as technical advisors...SMH.

Sad Sad

Where are all our engineers? Kwani they never learnt that in campus? And am always surprised by the high number of engineers I get to meet in pubs....introducing themselves as sijui eti 'I am Engineer Kilonzo, Engineer Omollo, Engineer Kangethe' etc. They need to give us practical solutions to our problems, not just flaunting their titles in bars.
#20 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 11:38:44 AM

Wewe ni engineer kweli? Eng Kamau explained this quite well. With all the "sharp bends" of the museum track, will YOUR idea improve the speeds? How about weight issues? The SGR will be near-straight. Elezea, Mr Engineer.