wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

8 Pages«<45678>
Has the bubble got burst????
#101 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 3:05:43 PM

Tamarind restaurant

ION
A Kenyan woman has been arrested in Arizona for smuggling of quail eggs.

The woman was intercepted on Monday evening at the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

The woman, whose name was not immediately released, was on a flight from Nairobi via London.
http://www.nation.co.ke/...04/-/bttytq/-/index.html
#102 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 3:22:23 PM

Ok. Now back to basics. What does the subject of this thread really mean? "Has the bubble got burst?"

It's not a bubble. Yes, there has been a surge in market activity, but I don't see evidence of 'speculation'. Testimony of reselient farmers who won't quit is evidence for this.

But what has hit the venture? The deflationary forces of the cyberspace, and a general failure to maximize on information by all market players. Prices for quail eggs aren't necessarily going to fall further, but they will stabilize where information is maximized. Market maximization is information maximization.

It's a 'cut down'.

#103 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 3:28:10 PM

Ok. Now back to basics. What does the subject of this thread really mean? "Has the bubble got burst?"

It's not a bubble. Yes, there has been a surge in market activity, but I don't see evidence of 'speculation'. Testimony of reselient farmers who won't quit is evidence for this.

But what has hit the venture? The deflationary forces of the cyberspace, and a general failure to maximize on information by all market players. Prices for quail eggs aren't necessarily going to fall further, but they will stabilize where information is maximized. Market maximization is information maximization.

It's a 'cut down'.

I disagree, once the mysticism around them gets quashed - the eggs will fall into their proper price. the farmers who are sticking it in are hoping to sell them eggs abroad not here and the promise is that they will sell them for kitu 1000 per egg!

once the fact that the eggs are no better than chicken eggs is brought to the fore - they will be like omena.... smaller pocket friendly alternatives for people who cannot afford to buy ngege or tilapia!
#104 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 3:44:36 PM

Why doesn't the govt buy all these quails and eggs and feed the starving people of turkana?
#105 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 5:05:04 PM

[quote=Swenani]Tamarind restaurant

ION

The woman was intercepted on Monday evening at the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

The woman, whose name was not immediately released, was on a flight from Nairobi via London.
http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/bttytq/-/index.html[/quote]
They dont need to release the name, we know!
#106 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 5:11:58 PM

Allias608 wrote:
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly d'oh!

.......Kenyans, kenyans....I love them!!!! Why don't we send them to pick all from Naivas - Tray of 12pcs - K.sh 300, Nakumatt - tray of 18pcs - K.sh 720....a guy who spammed me a tray of 30pcs - K.sh 1,500.

I think the writer who used to do "when the deal looks too good think twice" should do that column.

.....Now, the Doctors spoke and the quail egg is hitting K.Sh 10 bob......panic,off-loading...name it, can we see K.sh 5 bob since you need at least 4 at the breakfast!!!.

I like entrepreneuers, but, before you invest, look ahead, do some research (due diligence). You invest on hype, family,friends..... etc success stories........you are in for a rude shock.

...Sorry guys but I need Quail meet.....

Quail meat will help you improve your spelling!
#107 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 5:16:34 PM

It's a 'cut down'.

I disagree, once the mysticism around them gets quashed - the eggs will fall into their proper price. the farmers who are sticking it in are hoping to sell them eggs abroad not here and the promise is that they will sell them for kitu 1000 per egg!

once the fact that the eggs are no better than chicken eggs is brought to the fore - they will be like omena.... smaller pocket friendly alternatives for people who cannot afford to buy ngege or tilapia!

I think you're too harsh on the quail egg. Per 100gm, the quail egg fares better on quantities of some vitamins and minerals. For example, http://zonefitness.com.n....XMr0KuAT.NW77m6jx.dpbs offers what I may call a fair comparison of the quail and chicken egg. While the writer prefers the chicken egg, it's also difficult for those who need the minerals more to ignore the quantity difference of these nutrients and keep entirely on the chicken egg. For example an anaemic won't be indifferent to the more vitamin B12, or iron in 100gm of quail eggs. An alternative to this would be more chicken eggs perhaps or a visit to the pharmacy.

Not even a fit person will fail to appreciate the nutritional difference occasionally. Or would you?

Then the price of an item doesn't just depend on utility value. Demand is one other factor, branding, product innovation and the like.

#108 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 5:21:00 PM

Allias608 wrote:
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly d'oh!

.......Kenyans, kenyans....I love them!!!! Why don't we send them to pick all from Naivas - Tray of 12pcs - K.sh 300, Nakumatt - tray of 18pcs - K.sh 720....a guy who spammed me a tray of 30pcs - K.sh 1,500.

I think the writer who used to do "when the deal looks too good think twice" should do that column.

.....Now, the Doctors spoke and the quail egg is hitting K.Sh 10 bob......panic,off-loading...name it, can we see K.sh 5 bob since you need at least 4 at the breakfast!!!.

I like entrepreneuers, but, before you invest, look ahead, do some research (due diligence). You invest on hype, family,friends..... etc success stories........you are in for a rude shock.

...Sorry guys but I need Quail meet.....

Quail meat will help you improve your spelling!

He he Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#109 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 5:22:01 PM

Why doesn't the govt buy all these quails and eggs and feed the starving people of turkana?

Or, the farmers use their 'excesses' to feed the famine stricken and use this as an opportunity to spread less sensational information and build the market. They donate quails and eggs, others donate transport and use the media effectively.

Then they can come up with new and interesting food products like the Philippines' 'kwe kwe'.
#110 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 5:29:25 PM

[quote=Swenani]
They dont need to release the name, we know!

You are asking for a punch below the belt,right?

githundi
#111 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 6:39:22 PM

It's a 'cut down'.

Well said @Masukuma.
In short the nutritional value of a quail egg over a chicken egg (if any)
Is insignificant.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
Buster
#112 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 8:40:04 PM

C & P

(READ: Kenyans in 'overwhelming' rush for quail farming)

A police spokesperson told the media that authorities found a box of small raw bird eggs in her suitcase which were then taken for an intensive agriculture inspection.

“We found 103 small eggs in a small plastic container,” read a statement released by the US Customs and Border Protection officials in Phoenix.

HEART CONDITION

She told police that she had intended to use the eggs as medicine for her heart.

An airport official who spoke to KVOA, a local TV channel, said the eggs were destroyed and the woman reprimanded.

Authorities said the eggs were seized under a regulation that restricts their importation into the US.

It was not immediately clear whether she would be charged in court.

Importation of some agricultural products into the United States is a serious Federal crime whose conviction can attract hefty fines or long jail terms.
Ole Lenku
#113 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 8:47:15 PM

Buster wrote:
C & P

A police spokesperson told the media that authorities found a box of small raw bird eggs in her suitcase which were then taken for an intensive agriculture inspection.

“We found 103 small eggs in a small plastic container,” read a statement released by the US Customs and Border Protection officials in Phoenix.

HEART CONDITION

She told police that she had intended to use the eggs as medicine for her heart.

An airport official who spoke to KVOA, a local TV channel, said the eggs were destroyed and the woman reprimanded.

Authorities said the eggs were seized under a regulation that restricts their importation into the US.

Importation of some agricultural products into the United States is a serious Federal crime whose conviction can attract hefty fines or long jail terms.

i refer you to post 105 of this thread.
#114 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 8:58:19 PM

C&P

Egg and Meat Production

As the Japanese quail is easily managed, fast growing, small in size, and can produce eggs at a high rate, the Japanese quail has been farmed in large quantities across the globe. Countries such as Japan, India, China, Italy, Russia, and the United States all have established commercial Japanese quail farming industries. This animal provides developing countries with a stable source of animal proteins and developed countries with a suitable alternative to chicken. However, this animal finds its true economic and commercial value in its egg production, as domesticated lines of the Japanese quail can lay up to 300 eggs a year at an incredibly efficient feed to egg conversion ratio.

#115 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 9:18:13 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
Buster wrote:
C & P

HEART CONDITION

i refer you to post 105 of this thread.

smile smile
#116 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 9:24:34 PM

Kenyans making millions from quails....

#117 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 10:34:55 PM

Kumbe @kiash has been eating quail huko mayuu all along, where its regarded as premium game meat?? I thought kenyan farmers are the ones who discovered quail! Kenyan farmers should move in this direction and stock quail kwa supermarkets, not just eggs...

#118 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 8:25:37 AM

Jokes aside. Quailonomics: the key to economic growth

What makes quail farming innovative and why it needs to be replicated is that Kenya is famous for wild animals. We can create lots of industries and spur economic growth through game farming like in South Africa.

KWS issues permits to keep quails. Why not issue permits to keep other wild animals? I would love to keep lions to replace the small dogs that guard our homes. Why not give Kenyans permits to keep antelopes, warthogs, hippos in ponds, leopards, rhinos and other endangered species?
#119 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 8:47:33 AM

Any initiative to provide more protein to this malnourished poor country, where some children are suffering from kwashiakor, should be supported. Whether it's though production of more quail and eggs, more fish farming, chicken, dairy farming etc. If quail is the most efficient, then let us focus there.
#120 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 9:33:12 AM

Any initiative to provide more protein to this malnourished poor country, where some children are suffering from kwashiakor, should be supported. Whether it's though production of more quail and eggs, more fish farming, chicken, dairy farming etc. If quail is the most efficient, then let us focus there.

We should also consider food as the best medicine we have, and encourage lifestyles that rely on natural health, which should be affordable and enjoyable.