Lupita Nyong'o
 Eti I wrote who cakes, thanks for the correction! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Just bought the movie @50 bob. Looking forward to watching it.
jaggernaut wrote:Just bought the movie @50 bob. Looking forward to watching it. 50? Must have been from Lupita's pirate. No favors to her
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
McReggae wrote: Eti I wrote who cakes, thanks for the correction! I stayed up last night to watch it too. They can hardly pronounce her name
Mukiri wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Just bought the movie @50 bob. Looking forward to watching it. 50? Must have been from Lupita's pirate. No favors to her Yes it is pirated. Was at the petrol station when this hawker walked over and asked me to 'promote' him. Wish there was a place i could have bought a genuine copy.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
She bags yet another award: a SAG award for best actress in a supporting role
Shak wrote:She bags yet another award: a SAG award for best actress in a supporting role Let me watch the movie and see what has made her bag all these awards.
jaggernaut wrote:Mukiri wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Just bought the movie @50 bob. Looking forward to watching it. 50? Must have been from Lupita's pirate. No favors to her Yes it is pirated. Was at the petrol station when this hawker walked over and asked me to 'promote' him. Wish there was a place i could have bought a genuine copy. Uligongwa. Thika we get them at 40. Buy 5 get one free, so 200 for 6. Makes me feel nice getting back some of the profits stolen n repatriated by the colonialists. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Watched the movie and it's quite a moving and distressing story on slavery in the 1840s (don't know if Prof Nyongo watched Lupita's nude and rape scenes). The main actor (Ejiofor, the 'slave') and supporting actor (Fassbender, the 'master') are superb. Lupita is also good though, i think judging by her role and performance, she has been overrated. Maybe Hollywood and the film critics were looking for something different this yr, a real 'Nubian' chick....like Lupita.
jaggernaut wrote:Watched the movie and it's quite a moving and distressing story on slavery in the 1840s (don't know if Prof Nyongo watched Lupita's nude and rape scenes). The main actor (Ejiofor, the 'slave') and supporting actor (Fassbender, the 'master') are superb. Lupita is also good though, i think judging by her role and performance, she has been overrated. Maybe Hollywood and the film critics were looking for something different this yr, a real 'Nubian' chick....like Lupita. Sasa nunua original DVD ya 1500/= na utaona the difference  ! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Watched the movie and it's quite a moving and distressing story on slavery in the 1840s (don't know if Prof Nyongo watched Lupita's nude and rape scenes). The main actor (Ejiofor, the 'slave') and supporting actor (Fassbender, the 'master') are superb. Lupita is also good though, i think judging by her role and performance, she has been overrated. Maybe Hollywood and the film critics were looking for something different this yr, a real 'Nubian' chick....like Lupita. Sasa nunua original DVD ya 1500/= na utaona the difference  ! I would like to hear the views of others who have watched the movie.
jaggernaut wrote:Watched the movie and it's quite a moving and distressing story on slavery in the 1840s (don't know if Prof Nyongo watched Lupita's nude and rape scenes). The main actor (Ejiofor, the 'slave') and supporting actor (Fassbender, the 'master') are superb. Lupita is also good though, i think judging by her role and performance, she has been overrated. Maybe Hollywood and the film critics were looking for something different this yr, a real 'Nubian' chick....like Lupita. True, I agree with you. I liked her acting but never understood the hype. Was actually expecting more from her, based on the rave. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Meanwhile, Lupita is appearing in a new movie 'Non Stop' to be released next month. Here's the trailer, looks like it will be quite a hit:
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
jaggernaut wrote:Meanwhile, Lupita is appearing in a new movie 'Non Stop' to be released next month. Here's the trailer, looks like it will be quite a hit: This will be big! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
simonkabz wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Meanwhile, Lupita is appearing in a new movie 'Non Stop' to be released next month. Here's the trailer, looks like it will be quite a hit: This will be big! can't wait.
Kikuyus very good in "thieving" She is now Lupita Thiong'o.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/1/2009 Posts: 75 Location: nairobi
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here