wazua Wed, May 6, 2026

11 Pages«<891011>
Ban on Night Travel Coast Bus Behaving Badly
#91 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 8:40:53 PM

today have been cornered.wanted to travel to mombasa by night bus. being a peculiar kenyan went to riverroad to look for one.
I found a sunbird leaving at 8pm and booked promptly.

I then went around to look for a fish in the nearby eateries as I wait for 8pm.

got a delicious fried tilapia at a restaurant called Olives.'toka kwa pipa'

when I came back the conductor told the full bus that the government has just banned night travel and we should wait till tomorrow 5am.

now now I'm still in the bus .

I feel so stupid !!

I need fish.
Prime
#92 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 8:56:16 PM

today have been cornered.wanted to travel to mombasa by night bus. being a peculiar kenyan went to riverroad to look for one.
I found a sunbird leaving at 8pm and booked promptly.

I then went around to look for a fish in the nearby eateries as I wait for 8pm.

got a delicious fried tilapia at a restaurant called Olives.

when I came back the conductor told the full bus that the government has just banned night travel and we should wait till tomorrow 5am.

now now I'm still in the bus .

I feel so stupid !!

I need fish.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you How now? Sunbird? Ni Vile umelipa. Otherwise ungeenda hapo corner ya mash na dreamline. And get a ka "personal". Last week there were about 3 cars lookin for passengers... Hakuna ujanja na basi. Travel daytime.
#93 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 9:05:41 PM

and the gist of the matter is that touts are using underhand tricks to get their buses fully booked.
they managed to con a busfull.
I find chania and their mutations more honest and reliable.

I still support cs kamau. despite my troubles.mimi ndio nimechelewa.

I support any measure that saves some lives.we've had fewer fatal massacres on the roads since Dec 24

#94 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 4:27:42 AM

C&P

I arrived in Nairobi about an hour ago, after a long drive from Kisii, via Trans Mara. The road was devoid of buses and other public service vehicles, presumably as a result of the ban on their night travel. 

Whilst the lightness of the traffic made for an easier drive (particularly as I was driving myself), I thought about the PSV night travel ban. I have to say I am not persuaded regarding the wisdom of the ban.

Firstly, for a country that continues to express commitment to achieving a so called 24 hour economy, the ban seems to me to militate against that goal! Secondly many non PSV vehicles continue to be involved in accidents at night. Whats the basis of what appears to be a discriminative ban? Charles Nyachae can drive his private vehicle from Kisii to Nairobi at night, but Moraa who does not have a private vehicle, cannot travel by bus the same route at the same time!!!

Thirdly and most importantly, is this otherwise (at least to my mind), extreme measure because everything else has failed? Is it an admission that we are a society which will never be able to follow rules and develop an acceptable road culture as is the case in many other countries? That we are completely incapable of enforcing existing laws and letting traffic offenders experience the consequences of their actions.? By the way, this morning I personally witnessed a motor cyclist ride past two traffic police officers between Bobaracho and Kisii town. He rode past them with, not one, not two, but three passengers, meaning that the motorcycle had four people on it! Yet if there is a category of road users that has proved to be the greatest threat to life and limb, it is these motorcycles!

There is definitely a case for urgently addressing the issue of accidents on our roads. But is the banning of night travel the solution? I don't think so!

Us
#95 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 4:55:58 AM

Another useless Kenian who hasn't read and understood the regulations. There is NO ban. Buses have decided not to comply to arm twist gov, just like they did on the michuki rules. Passagers should now start boarding compliant buses those who cant toe the line should close shop. There's need for sanity in the transport business
#96 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 8:39:00 AM

Siringi wrote:
C&P

I arrived in Nairobi about an hour ago, after a long drive from Kisii, via Trans Mara. The road was devoid of buses and other public service vehicles, presumably as a result of the ban on their night travel. 

Whilst the lightness of the traffic made for an easier drive (particularly as I was driving myself), I thought about the PSV night travel ban. I have to say I am not persuaded regarding the wisdom of the ban.

Firstly, for a country that continues to express commitment to achieving a so called 24 hour economy, the ban seems to me to militate against that goal! Secondly many non PSV vehicles continue to be involved in accidents at night. Whats the basis of what appears to be a discriminative ban? Charles Nyachae can drive his private vehicle from Kisii to Nairobi at night, but Moraa who does not have a private vehicle, cannot travel by bus the same route at the same time!!!

Thirdly and most importantly, is this otherwise (at least to my mind), extreme measure because everything else has failed? Is it an admission that we are a society which will never be able to follow rules and develop an acceptable road culture as is the case in many other countries? That we are completely incapable of enforcing existing laws and letting traffic offenders experience the consequences of their actions.? By the way, this morning I personally witnessed a motor cyclist ride past two traffic police officers between Bobaracho and Kisii town. He rode past them with, not one, not two, but three passengers, meaning that the motorcycle had four people on it! Yet if there is a category of road users that has proved to be the greatest threat to life and limb, it is these motorcycles!

There is definitely a case for urgently addressing the issue of accidents on our roads. But is the banning of night travel the solution? I don't think so!

Us

Firstly, there's no ban as such but there are conditions to be fulfilled for an operator to be allowed to operate at night or 24hrs.

You do however raise valid points. Anyone who had ever operated or owned a PSV in Kenya will probably tell you one thing: that the (traffic) laws as currently enforced only serve to punish those who comply while letting scot-free the law breakers. How? Take an example of the speed limits. If I have mine with a functional speed governor at 80, others without will make more trips than me and eventually passengers label mine a 'tortoise' and no one will wanna board it. What to do?

In short, ours is more of an enforcement problem rather than a lack of proper laws. Take the two examples of horrific accidents that happened last year: Ntulele and Mwingi. In the former case, was there not a single cop who saw that the bus was in defiance of its TLB-allocated route? Na ile ya Mwingi in which the bus was overloaded with even some standing passengers, yaani kwa hiyo barabara yoote kutoka Nairobi, past Thika and all the way to Matuu, hakuna askari hata mmoja angeinua mkono, asimamishe hilo basi, aulize swali moja tu: mbona una abiria wengi kupita kiasi?

Of course, we as passengers also cannot abdicate our responsibilities. Who forces us to board overloaded vehicles? Truth is, we mostly make a decision to board filled vehicles ostensibly because we're running late, etc. but if we all said no, hakuna makanga atakuja na nyahunyo kutuchapa eti kwa sababu tumekataa kuingia garini ilhali limejaa tayari.
#97 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 8:45:35 AM

Another useless Kenian who hasn't read and understood the regulations. There is NO ban. Buses have decided not to comply to arm twist gov, just like they did on the michuki rules. Passagers should now start boarding compliant buses those who cant toe the line should close shop. There's need for sanity in the transport business

Actually, there's no incentive to get a night operating license if they can simply increase the fares and earn more or less the same as they would have earned before while operating 24/7. If anything, there's less wear & tear on the vehicle and they don't have to hire extra shift drivers as envisaged in the new regulations as a precondition for nighttime operations. The way I see it, the status quo benefits the operators.
#98 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 10:30:32 AM

GoK vs Bus firms, who shall blink first? Customers have dwindled.

Fact: No major bus accident since the "ban", so gava won't relent.

Fact: Numbers of travellors appear to have halved.......=reduced profits......so bus firms will have to comply to remain profitable.

Eng Kamau wins in advance!
#99 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 2:38:55 PM

GoK vs Bus firms, who shall blink first? Customers have dwindled.

Fact: No major bus accident since the "ban", so gava won't relent.

Fact: Numbers of travellors appear to have halved.......=reduced profits......so bus firms will have to comply to remain profitable.

Eng Kamau wins in advance!

any measure that. saves kenyans from themselves is welcome.
#100 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 4:48:19 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Actually, there's no incentive to get a night operating license if they can simply increase the fares and earn more or less the same as they would have earned before while operating 24/7. If anything, there's less wear & tear on the vehicle and they don't have to hire extra shift drivers as envisaged in the new regulations as a precondition for nighttime operations. The way I see it, the status quo benefits the operators.

Less dead people on the roads, that was the main objective of the regulations in the first place.
11 Pages«<891011>