5 Pages«<2345>
Advanced Metastatic Stomach Cancer
#61 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 11:00:46 AM

Euge wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
All above, poleni sana for your loss.

From anecdotal observations especially in the traditional coffee growing areas of Meru, Embu and Murang'a, these cancers of the gastrointestinal system are becoming quite common.

I really wish we had an equivalent of CDC locally to study this disturbing phenomenon.

I hear its coz of the chemicals used to spray the coffee. They are inhaled and also washed down stream and the water consumed.

I have my suspicions it could be it. In most of these areas, piped water for domestic use was not a reality until the mid 90s and most still don't have it. You can imagine the ramifications when it rains after you've just sprayed your crop and all this is washed into the very stream you rely on for water.

KEMRI, I'm not so sure. Besides their facilities in Nbi & Kilifi, any other?
kollabo
#62 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 1:28:13 PM

Pole sana brother.
#63 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 3:19:58 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
Oh God! So sorry Rahatupu ....

But i do think that there is something going in in the world in regards to this cancer thing!

Something must have changed drastically in the last 20 yrs.

I suspect foul play ......

Whereas indeed it is true a lot has changed so that now cancer is more prevalent, it could also be equally true that more cases that would otherwise have been classified as death due to unknown causes are now being diagnosed and identified as cancer due to advancement in detection and diagnostic techniques.

On foul play, may be. There are claims for instance that Kaposi's sarcoma was a disease primarily affecting people of Jewish extraction but somewhere along the way, something is suspected to have changed so that now it is seen more in black people. Locally we see it mostly in patients with either undiagnosed or poorly managed advanced HIV/AIDS or in those with treatment failure.

Some cancers are also known to be associated with viruses (or other organisms) e.g Epstein-Barr Virus is associated with Hodgkin's and Burkitt's lymphomas as well as nasopharyngeal cancers, while Hepatitis B & C viruses are associated with liver cancer and Human Papilloma Virus is associated with cervical cancer. It therefore follows that control of such viruses/bacteria would go a long way towards reducing incidence of such cancers. For instance, it is widely known that HPV is spread sexually and thus safe sex, besides protecting against the usual STIs & pregnancy, is also beneficial in so far as cervical cancer is concerned. Thus, when we tell young girls to abstain from sex and delay their first sexual encounter for as long as possible, this is one of the less obvious reasons as to why. In recent times, due to prevalence of oral sex, this same HPV is now being implicated in cases of throat cancer. As a result there now is a drive to vaccinate prepubescent boys (as opposed to gals only) with the antiHPV vaccine (I believe one of the brands is Cervarix, made by GSK) in an attempt to protect them against throat cancer in much the same way it protects girls & women against cervical cancer.

According to research done in Australia & New Zealand (I forget the details, it's been a while), there is indisputable link between stomach cancer and Helicobacter pylori, the bacteria responsible for much of gastric ulcers. This bacteria is treatable with common, cheap antibiotics (after proper diagnosis of course). For this reason, stomach cancer has often been referred to as perhaps the only type of cancer wholly curable/preventable using normal, widely available antibiotics.

Of course, the association between toxins such as cigarette smoke & asbestos (for thise with cars, what material makes your break pads? And break linings? Spare a thought for your favorite mechanic, and please educate him/her) with lung cancer so I need not belabor the point. Of course, in recent times we're seeing a lot of oral & throat cancers in long term chewers of miraa though the culprit compound has not yet been identified, as well as hepatic cancer in chronic alcoholism (George Best, anyone?).

For those who come especially from coffee growing areas, you may probably have noticed a significant rise in especially stomach as well as other cancers especially amongst the older generation in their late 60s and above. Ever asked yourself why? My personal view is it probably has something to do with water contamination by the numerous toxic chemicals that were/are used in coffee farming, from herbicides to pesticides, etc. thus us perhaps made more plausible when you consider that most of these areas did not have piped drinking water till well into the 1990s and had to rely on the same contaminated streams and rivers for their drinking water. Just my thoughts though. I wish we had a local equivalent of CDC to study some of these things.

As fate would have it, NHK World is screening the first of a three part documentary about cancer. Gotta watch it. Good night pals.

So educative.... And this cancer is becoming quite scary.... seriously!
#64 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 4:19:56 PM

Thanks to all for your sympathy. Much more needs to be done on the diagnostic stage of cancer. The causes seem to be still mysterious but with advances in diagnostic technology, I believe we can do better as a country. Beside the high cost of treating cancer locally, I think cancer ought to be given the same coverage and status of epidemic as HIV, TB and malaria sooner than later.

#65 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 6:33:45 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Thanks to all for your sympathy. Much more needs to be done on the diagnostic stage of cancer. The causes seem to be still mysterious but with advances in diagnostic technology, I believe we can do better as a country. Beside the high cost of treating cancer locally, I think cancer ought to be given the same coverage and status of epidemic as HIV, TB and malaria sooner than later.

Diagnosis is the key missing link, all because our gov't doesn't see the sense in buying simple diagnostic equipment for our public hospitals where the bulk of Kenyans access health services.

Doesn't it surprise you (or even anger you) that some of our top private health facilities have invested in, for instance, CT Scan machines as well as NMR machines yet the bulk of gov't facilities don't have? Kwani these private facilities have more money than the gov't surely? IMHO, every patriotic Kenyan should be very angry at the cavalier and lackadaisical approach and attitude that successive Kenyan gov'ts have had towards good quality healthcare service provision.

I remamber meeting a certain guy back in 2009 when there were the infamous 'clashes' in Marsabit. Dude had suffered some injuries and a CT scan was ordered to ascertain the extent of injuries. Imagine, huyo jamaa ameenda his local dispensary or health centre, was referred to his local district hospital then to Isiolo, Meru, Embu and finally to Thika (CT scan privately) and perhaps then to KNH for further management. Please bear in mind that this fellow is just a humble peasant back at home, and since he's now indisposed, has to be accompanied at all those places. Mind you, they've had to sell some livestock to raise funds to access the gov't facility. Na sasa kwa private, si watauza shamba? The image of that guy is still etched in my mind.

Fellow wazuans, this is the same equipment that would assist your doctor back in your rural village diagnose you or your relatives early with cancer and then treat you. But yet the equipment is unavailable leading to loss of valuable time as patients raise resources for diagnostic purposes, way before treatment, itself another expenditure, can begin.

And so I ask, what really is the value of a Kenyan life? How many more must die before we draw the line in the sand and tell our leaders 'thus far but no more'? Think about, that's my challenge to you. Your 'proactivity' might be what eventually saves your own life.
#66 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 7:19:25 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

Diagnosis is the key missing link, all because our gov't doesn't see the sense in buying simple diagnostic equipment for our public hospitals where the bulk of Kenyans access health services.

Doesn't it surprise you (or even anger you) that some of our top private health facilities have invested in, for instance, CT Scan machines as well as NMR machines yet the bulk of gov't facilities don't have? Kwani these private facilities have more money than the gov't surely? IMHO, every patriotic Kenyan should be very angry at the cavalier and lackadaisical approach and attitude that successive Kenyan gov'ts have had towards good quality healthcare service provision.

I remamber meeting a certain guy back in 2009 when there were the infamous 'clashes' in Marsabit. Dude had suffered some injuries and a CT scan was ordered to ascertain the extent of injuries. Imagine, huyo jamaa ameenda his local dispensary or health centre, was referred to his local district hospital then to Isiolo, Meru, Embu and finally to Thika (CT scan privately) and perhaps then to KNH for further management. Please bear in mind that this fellow is just a humble peasant back at home, and since he's now indisposed, has to be accompanied at all those places. Mind you, they've had to sell some livestock to raise funds to access the gov't facility. Na sasa kwa private, si watauza shamba? The image of that guy is still etched in my mind.

Fellow wazuans, this is the same equipment that would assist your doctor back in your rural village diagnose you or your relatives early with cancer and then treat you. But yet the equipment is unavailable leading to loss of valuable time as patients raise resources for diagnostic purposes, way before treatment, itself another expenditure, can begin.

And so I ask, what really is the value of a Kenyan life? How many more must die before we draw the line in the sand and tell our leaders 'thus far but no more'? Think about, that's my challenge to you. Your 'proactivity' might be what eventually saves your own life.

As long as the so called leaders can jump into a plane to be treated in hospitals either in the west or Asia then we shouldn't expect change. I remember when Beth Mugo and Anyang' Ny'ong'o came back from treatment they were full of promises, was there any action taken even?

On KEMRI...I also know of its facilities in Kilifi and Nrb. The only research they've concentrated on is Malaria and HIV, maybe its time they had a look at cancer too.
#67 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 8:30:41 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

I remember meeting a certain guy back in 2009 when there were the infamous 'clashes' in Marsabit. Dude had suffered some injuries and a CT scan was ordered to ascertain the extent of injuries. Imagine, huyo jamaa ameenda his local dispensary or health centre, was referred to his local district hospital then to Isiolo, Meru, Embu and finally to Thika (CT scan privately) and perhaps then to KNH for further management. Please bear in mind that this fellow is just a humble peasant back at home, and since he's now indisposed, has to be accompanied at all those places. Mind you, they've had to sell some livestock to raise funds to access the gov't facility. Na sasa kwa private, si watauza shamba? The image of that guy is still etched in my mind.

As long as the so called leaders can jump into a plane to be treated in hospitals either in the west or Asia then we shouldn't expect change. I remember when Beth Mugo and Anyang' Ny'ong'o came back from treatment they were full of promises, was there any action taken even?

On KEMRI...I also know of its facilities in Kilifi and Nrb. The only research they've concentrated on is Malaria and HIV, maybe its time they had a look at cancer too.

Very true actually. So long as our leaders don't consume the same services, we will forever complain about poor health (and education) quality.

That said, there obviously are some things we can all do or begin to do to at least lessen our likelihood of getting cancer, chief amongst them being lifestyle changes. That means quitting smoking, quitting drinking, maintain the correct BMI for your height.

With respect to breast cancer, our dear ladies can and should do their self breast examination regularly and at the same time of their cycle. Those with familial history should consider regular scheduled mammograms. I also need to emphasize here that men too can and do indeed get breast cancer.

For cervical cancer, pre-pubescent girls (and boys too, throat cancer due to oral sex, http://www.foxnews.com/e...ral-sex-gave-me-cancer/) should have their antiHPV vaccines at least prior to their first sexual encounter. For those amongst us who're parents, sijui mtafanya nini but do all in your power (including getting a gun or rearing some German Shepherdssmile smile ) to at least delay onset of sexual activity amongst (y)our daughters. It'll go a long way towards reducing the risk of cervical cancer.

Of course, for all men above 50yrs, I cannot forget to emphasize the regularity with which you should have your PSA (Prostate Surface Antigen) tests done, this being the tool used to screen for prostatic cancer.

Regular screening too is advised for purposes of colonic cancers.

Not forgetting to emphasize the need for all of us to get our anti-hepatitis B vaccines. This virus is implicated in causation of the greater majority of liver cancers.

Finally, pay attention to what your body is telling you. Cancer often presents with some very unspecific symptoms so don't ignore anything, e.g. ovarian cancer (one of the most lethal) may often present with abdominal bloating. I recal too a case of a young lady with persistent headaches that got me so concerned I literally ordered her to hospital only for her to be diagnosed with a brain tumor. She's now on her way to recovery. The point I'm trying to make is that pain isn't a normal thing, or we'd all be walking around with aching body parts. Pain is your body's way of telling you something isn't right, call it an early warning sign if you like. Just don't ignore it.

For those with young ones, be especially vigilant since they cannot talk and we have to communicate and think on their behalf. I recall cases of some pediatric cancer (I forget which one specifically) where often the first thing a parent notices is a persistent white dot in the child's eyes.

In short, be vigilant friends.
#68 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 8:52:00 PM

There's a KEMRI/CDC center in Kisumu.

It will be a while before we can get a cure or solution for cancer. The West has extensive research on cancer and they are yet to get a breakthrough.

The only prudent approach at the moment is routine testing (screening) and early intervention.

#69 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:01:29 PM

Rahatupu wrote:

If you can afford it and you care passionately for your health, this would be the ideal advice:

Allot some time each year to go for a battery of tests. On your annual leave, plan for a trip to India. Get a business visa, book a KQ or Emirated return trip to Delhi/Mumbai (any city with an Apollo/Fortis/Medanta Hospital), and a hotel for 5 days there.

When you arrive there, Day 1, walk into their hospitals and ask for a Health Check. No questions asked, they will do tests for every system of your body plus free consultation from a physician. Costs about 16000 Rupees i.e. Ksh 24000. You'll even hop onto a treadmill and they will check out your heart; they'll examine your eyes, ears, nose, everywhere.

The tests take 1 day and if there are any issues they will sort them out quite well (they have the resources, the experts and they are cheap).

The costs of this annual trip (visa+air fare+accomo+living+tests) and the thorough testing will ensure any disease is caught early and treated.

I don't know of a local hospital that does a whole body test as cost-effectively, efficiently and accurately like an Indian hospital.

And you can visit the beatiful Taj Mahal or go for Yoga for the remaining time of your holiday.

The rich Kenyans and our politicians do this once or twice a year but they go to the US, UK, SA and other developed countries which boast of a much better healthcare system.
#70 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:51:19 PM

jguru wrote:

It will be a while before we can get a cure or solution for cancer. The West has extensive research on cancer and they are yet to get a breakthrough.

The only prudent approach at the moment is routine testing (screening) and early intervention.

IMHO I think African docs and researchers need to stop relying so much on the west for research rather, they should look into the African society for answers.

When we were young, tonsillitis was a big problem but our grandmas would get into the bush and come out with some roots and barks that when boiled would heal us. Its my grandma who told me that kitunguu saumu reduces highblood pressure. And she isn't alone, there are many other skilled grandmas out there can you imagine if more research was done on these issues?

In India, the gurus who were taught the traditional medicine of Ayurveda go through formal training too. Infact they are certified and patients usually take medical prescriptions and diagnosis to them for 2nd opinion. For more info watch documentaries on Ayurveda -The art of being, will be a good start.

Read this Metal Ayurvedic treatment can cure leukemia

What about this effective teeth cleaning agent by a Kenyan
#71 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:51:45 PM

jguru wrote:

IMHO I think African docs and researchers need to stop relying so much on the west for research rather, they should look into the African society for answers.

When we were young, tonsillitis was a big problem but our grandmas would get into the bush and come out with some roots and barks that when boiled would heal us. Its my grandma who told me that kitunguu saumu reduces highblood pressure. And she isn't alone, there are many other skilled grandmas out there can you imagine if more research was done on these issues?

In India, the gurus who were taught the traditional medicine of Ayurveda go through formal training too. Infact they are certified and patients usually take medical prescriptions and diagnosis to them for 2nd opinion. For more info watch documentaries on Ayurveda -The art of being, will be a good start.

Very true. Often times, the solution is right here staring at us. For instance, did you know that the plant Artemisia annua (sweet wormwood) from which coartem the antimalarial is made actually grows very well in Baringo? Do you know the anticancer medications known as vincristine, vindesine and vinblastine? Clink on the link below and tell me if you've never seen this plant from which those drugs are made. You probably have it in your flower bed:

https://www.google.com/s...mp;biw=1280&bih=685

Do we really have to rely on the west to exploit our own resources?
#72 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 11:04:43 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
jguru wrote:

Very true. Often times, the solution is right here staring at us. For instance, did you know that the plant Artemisia annua (sweet wormwood) from which coartem the antimalarial is made actually grows very well in Baringo? Do you know the anticancer medications known as vincristine, vindesine and vinblastine? Clink on the link below and tell me if you've never seen this plant from which those drugs are made. You probably have it in your flower bed:

https://www.google.com/s...mp;biw=1280&bih=685

Do we really have to rely on the west to exploit our own resources?

That plant is in almost all flowerbeds in our schools if not country.

Another one is the tree moringa oleifera, this tree was planted in some rural hospital in Meru south and patients who sat under it to shade themselves from the hot sun would tell you that they felt better. Am glad there's a lady who's done some research and is working on products from it Watch here Even Agnes Ndetei claims that she was cured by it. The tree is all over Kenya and if only more research would be done.

Our universities are also a BIG let down no substantive research comes from them

Blog on Agnes Ndetei
#73 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 8:24:43 AM

#74 Posted : Saturday, January 25, 2014 5:25:42 PM

An interesting perspective.

Nowadays, ONE IN EVERY TWO people in Japan develops cancer.
Behind the statistic is a surprising fact. Humans became prone to cancer because they evolved. That's what the latest research has uncovered.
In Japan, cancer is now the number one cause of death.
How should we humans deal with cancer? Advanced scientific research is approaching the disease from an evolutionary perspective in an attempt to find the answer.

#75 Posted : Saturday, January 25, 2014 6:02:31 PM

This thread has become malignant.
educating.
#76 Posted : Saturday, January 25, 2014 6:26:03 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Behind the statistic is a surprising fact. Humans became prone to cancer because they evolved. That's what the latest research has uncovered.
How should we humans deal with cancer? Advanced scientific research is approaching the disease from an evolutionary perspective in an attempt to find the answer.

Ate kee? One in every 2?
#77 Posted : Saturday, January 25, 2014 6:44:20 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Ate kee? One in every 2?

Yap mblo. 50%!Sad
#78 Posted : Saturday, January 25, 2014 6:46:45 PM

This thread has become malignant.
educating.

Elimika dada. I watched this documentary some time last year but couldn't find it online to share. Leo vile nimeipata, here we are.smile
#79 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 7:14:22 PM

Study finds HIV pill cures cervical cancer

Researchers Dr Lynne and Dr Ian Hampson of Manchester University, UK and Dr Innocent Orora Maranga of KNH, put 40 cervical cancer patients on HIV drug lopinavir for two weeks. When tested for cancer after three months, more than 90 per cent of the patients were found to be free of the disease.

“Out of 23 women initially diagnosed with high-grade disease, 19 returned to normal and two had low-grade disease. Furthermore, the 17 women initially diagnosed with borderline or low-grade disease also showed similar improvement,” said a statement from Manchester University.
#80 Posted : Wednesday, March 26, 2014 11:43:41 PM

Hallo doctors. I was going thu my "classes" on Khan Academy and came across this interesting video. Very informative. What do u think??