wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

New generation DL, number plates
#21 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 3:20:26 PM

Is this really a priority or just another chance to eat? Why sink billions for some cosmetic changes? Does this mean we have finally gotten to the bottom of our to-do list, having sorted water, health, education etc issues?

Why not use the billions to mark our roads, provide street lighting, seal potholes etc, things that will directly improve safety?

Look at the bigger picture. Those billions will be almost triple soon, these licences have to be renewed, once captured by those cameras you will have to pay fines to GOK. Wewe ngoja tu
#22 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 3:20:52 PM

Is this really a priority or just another chance to eat? Why sink billions for some cosmetic changes? Does this mean we have finally gotten to the bottom of our to-do list, having sorted water, health, education etc issues?

Why not use the billions to mark our roads, provide street lighting, seal potholes etc, things that will directly improve safety?

I like your line of thinking but who will hear you, the pictures from Turkana I saw jana still pain me!!!
#23 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 3:34:12 PM

mkenyan wrote:
mukiha wrote:
seppuku wrote:
Long overdue, I say.

@mukiha, bulk might seem like a small problem, but it gets people into trouble sometimes. I remember once I was driving a car different from my regular ride and didn't have my licence with me. The reason, of course, was that the size of our DL means you typically have to store it in the boot of your car. So when you casually get behind the wheel of another vehicle you don't remember to transfer the "cargo" accordingly from vehicle A to B. When upon being flagged down a cop asked for the document, I was at pains to explain my circumstances. A small thing that can dwell in the wallet all the time is more than welcome. Plus all the other benefits of information collection and management.

As for the number plates, they simply have to be the most hideous in the Milky Way. I shall not miss that distinction.

I still maintain it's a small inconvenience that carries a 100-bob fine (I've also been caught without it for same reasons, most times I'm able to talk my way out but on two occasions I was booked and that's how much I was fined in court).

My worry is that we are tackling motoring the disease cosmetically. Will a smart-card license improve the competence of drivers? What do we gain from laser-printed number plates when the numbering system is a meaningless sequential series that carries no information about the vehicle?

when was that? currently you would be lucky to get away with anything less than 10k. never a small inconvenience.

@Mkenyan, Mukiha is right, the fine is 100/=, before the new law came into place you were required to produce at any police station within 24hrs!!!!

@Mukiha, I get your argument, but they are for a different project, let the current one be implemented!!!!

Was the law amended. forgetting your DL carries a fine of 10K the last time i checked

that is still the law. the maximum is 10k and many magistrates would rarely fine 100 where the maximum is 10k - they usually go for maximum or a good part of it. i seriously wonder where the 100 they are talking about came from - must have been very lucky of them. i know of at least 4 people who have been fined between 5-10k.

traffic act, section 36:

Production of driving licence on demand
(1)
Any person driving a motor vehicle on a road shall carry his driving licence or provisional licence, and, on being so required by a police officer, produce it for examination.
(2)
For the purposes of this section, “driving licence or provisional licence” includes such other evidence as will satisfy the police that there is no contravention of section 30.
(3)
Any person who contravenes or fails to comply with this section shall be guilty of an offence and be liable to a fine not exceeding ten thousand shillings.
Speculz
#24 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 3:37:48 PM

While at it, can someone tell the drivers of the many Kbx and Kbw cars the proper use of hazard indicators , its amazing to see someone driving from safari park to town with hazard indicators on.
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#25 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 3:55:54 PM

Speculz wrote:
While at it, can someone tell the drivers of the many Kbx and Kbw cars the proper use of hazard indicators , its amazing to see someone driving from safari park to town with hazard indicators on.

Those are most like blondes.
One was driving with handbrake fully engaged!

#26 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 4:01:16 PM

Speculz wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly How now? Maybe most of such are the learners and they are worried they could pull a silly move so they are just warning you to keep off.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 4:15:58 PM

Speculz wrote:

And how to keep left when turning right... and without swerving a Vitz as if it was a 40-foot semi-trailer!

You are on a 2-way main road and you want to turn right into a side-road; where do you stop? On the left (to let cars behind you overtake from the right)? In the middle of your lane? On the right part of your lane? In the middle of the on-coming lane?
Speculz
#28 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 4:16:42 PM

Speculz wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly How now? Maybe most of such are the learners and they are worried they could pull a silly move so they are just warning you to keep off.

@Washiku, hence the need to reform driving schools, hazards should be used only when an obstacle or obstruction is in front of you .... or when your vehicle is stationary ( broken down) and is an obstruction to others ...
#29 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 4:28:09 PM

Speculz wrote:

Esp those githurai buses. ....hazards forever on. These are the dimwits who should be kicked off the roads.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 4:54:16 PM

Speculz wrote:

says impunity who twice fuelled his petrol car with diesel.
#31 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 4:56:41 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Speculz wrote:

says impunity who twice fuelled his petrol car with diesel.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Seriously?
Speculz
#32 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 5:14:26 PM

Speculz wrote:

Esp those githurai buses. ....hazards forever on. These are the dimwits who should be kicked off the roads.

Together with the bright chaps who do not know which lane to stick to at a roundabout
qooler
#33 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 7:18:18 PM

KCA numbers are now out, but still same ugly plates! This gava needs to keeps its promises

#34 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 7:25:16 PM

qooler wrote:
KCA numbers are now out, but still same ugly plates! This gava needs to keeps its promises

I am waiting for KCC.

#35 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 7:52:40 AM

qooler wrote:

Is it possible to book a number?

My car is in the high seas (but do I saysmile smile )and I want a tripple number or some specific number.

Anybody who knows or can help.?
#36 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 10:23:57 AM

uuurggH..!!!....This plates are soo ugly. CS Kamau should never refer to himself as an engineer.
#37 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 12:36:46 PM

uuurggH..!!!....This plates are soo ugly. CS Kamau should never refer to himself as an engineer.

The more things change the more they remain the same.

They only managed to change the log book design. I believe some big cats don't want change because they are in their comfort zones.

Sad Sad Sad Sad
#38 Posted : Wednesday, September 17, 2014 12:01:04 PM

The Clown wrote:
In some countries, they allow use of foreign driving licences for those who are not nationals of the host country.

It's very humiliating to take out the ugly Kenyan DL and show it to a traffic officer. That thing is so ugly, one mzungu loudly wondered what country was so backward as to use this type of licences. Thankfully, I got a new licence...same size as a credit card. Only use the Kenyan licence when I'm back home.

As for the number plates, the less said the better.

I support this initiative by the transport ministry.

#39 Posted : Wednesday, September 17, 2014 12:02:45 PM

The current or the proposed?
#40 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 5:50:50 AM

Kes 4000/- for all 2,000,000 for custom made. Now lets wait and see how this will be implemented.