wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

$43 Return to Gaberone
banyamulenge
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 6:05:00 AM

With $43 return flight to Gaberone,Anyone who has been down there? It is worth a try? Wat business can a Kenya do out there?

God for us all.... the rest of you pay cash

"The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
stanokim
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 6:08:00 AM

Yes! Bostwana is a good place. Is better than going to US or Europe. Kindly book and go-to experience yourself. However,women are many and dorminant over men. take care
Djinn
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 6:39:00 PM

Gaberone is OK - only thing that put me off is the tolerance (by the govt) of homosexuality. And AIDS is a big problem for that country. Lots of Zimbabwean immigrant workers. Otherwise its OK. Lots of Kenyan expats in the education and healtcare sectors.

BTW that $45 - look for an asterisk and some fine print - taxes,validity,minimum stay,etc....thats where the REAL costs are likely to be.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
stoxgalore
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 7:59:00 AM

Djinn,as far as i respect your input,your homophobic utterances should not be tolorated in this forum. homosexuals like other heterosexuals do make good professionals,academicians,entertainers,etc putting their fair share in national development. hatred towards them is just as bad as any other racial overtones. straight as an arrow for you info. please now focus on gaberone and any business opportunites out there!!!

stoxgalore
Djinn
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 8:52:00 AM

@stoxgalore....you said ' hatred towards them is just as bad as any other racial overtones' - when I meet my creator,on the count of racism he might find me guilty of humourously observing certain stereo types,and being on no one single race myself,I think I will be let off with a slap on the wrist and a warning. On the count of discriminating against homosexuals and abhorring that abomination,I highly doubt he will zap me with 10,000 watts of lightning. Please spare me the diatribe - God IS the ONLY authority. He made plugs so they could go into sockets and not find ways into the back of another plug. If you looked at the issue from the physical,physiological,logical,chemical,biological point of view it SHOULD NOT make sense.

So that was merely a caveat since these issues sometimes determine whether or not one can pursue business opportunities - if they do not feel comfortable about it,then its better they know about it. On the flip side its also relevant if one wanted to invest in the entertainment business (gay bar,salons,etc). So there - is that a business opportunity?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Djinn
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 9:35:00 AM

and @stoxgalore - show me any analysts that renders a reading of business opportunities WITHOUT looking at PESTED market info - whether its homophobic or not - IT MATTERS. Try getting a brewing licence in Saudi Arabia or a franchise to distribute LG Fridges in Antarctica.

majimaji
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 12:05:00 PM

I thought God created homosexuals too?

I think if u a hate somebody because of their sexual orientation alone,then there is excuse to hate black people,jews,chinese,the physically handicapped,albinos,hutus,mzungus for not being like you.

In man prudence,in woman patience - Jacob Cats
stoxgalore
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 12:51:00 PM

Djinn,God forbid it doesnt happen but take his example. 18 years down the line,your only beloved son that you cherished raised and brought indoctrined with your beliefs of a true african MAN,calmly calls you aside,tears in his eyes,stuttering voice and finally breaks the news that he is a homosexual!!!!!kick the kid out??? kick yourself?? kick society?? seek third party non chauvanistic perspetive on the issue,get a grip on it man sexuality has nothing to with your inner self. dont judge,but also dont put down due to sexual orientation. lastly grow up and stick to the $43 return gaberone issue as am done with any form of HOMOPHOBIA!!!!!!!

stoxgalore
wa P
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 1:28:00 PM

the $43 offered by KQ is a big lie.

they say it is already full. that they had 5 seats per week or something like that.

KQ should know that such an offer that never is can only damage their image.

shame on them

If it looks clean,it keeps your pockets clean. I mean,look at the soil...
Pierce
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 1:32:00 PM

A pal of mine got a seat for him and his wife jana.......how come?
Djinn
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 2:36:00 PM

@maji maji - your argument is faulty - race,colour,ability/disability - according to the bible (Quran,Torah,etc) are not sins and occur NATURALLY. Did not God create SATAN (prev Lucifer) - why is it that he is evil - departing from the light. Sometimes we become too tolerant for our own good and mostly thanks to Westernisation - I think soon cannibalism will be OK and murder will be allowed (I think of the Delamare case and how the law was twisted to make the poor hunter into a poacher - and the game warden.... BULLSHIT!

@Stoxgalore - as long as I do what I am supposed to do (set an example,be an upstanding role model,etc) and NOT do what I am not supposed to do (abuse my son,belittle him,humiliate him,break his spirit,emasculate him,force him into 'manly' sports,expose him to negative stimuli and some westernisation) - he WILL NOT turn that way. Simple. Homosexuality is not natural. You can talk until you go blue .....BTW I was so ON TOPIC - you focused on the homo part ....part of my post was accurate and has since been proven correct by another post (abt the $45 fare)...what has been your contribution rather than come to the aid of homo's?

Djinn
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 2:44:00 PM

Its possible they are adding Gaborone after a trip to JNB (like they did sometime back with Dar and Zanzibar flights depending on where the bulk of passengers were going) Perhaps the RSA route has considerable vacant seats to merit a stop in Gaborone AFTER JNB. Most likely the flight from Nairobi lands in JNB first,keeps people for GAB and picks more for both GAB and back to Nairobi (without refueling in JNB) - then lands in GAB,picks more people heading to NBO (and fuels here since it cannot take off from JNB with tanks full,etc) for a DIRECT flight back to Nairobi. Make sense why they have abt 5 seats (per day maybe?)

deadpoet
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 4:21:00 PM

May we get back to the original question?

Hypothetically,if someone had like 100K to start a business down there,what could they set up? It must be easier to start something considering the small population...
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 2:12:00 AM

@djinn: Puhleeze... this is a discussion about $43 fare & not your homophobia. Homosexuality is not only tolerated & accepted at the Kenyan coast but also in many lands including most of Western Europe,USA,Middle East (esp so...) and in view of that would you say... OK,business is good in Dubai lakini kuna homosexuality pale...
___ I am a 100% heterosexual lakini I believe everyone has the right to practice in their personal lives what does not hurt me incl sex,religion,etc.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 2:19:00 AM

The problem with airline pricing is that quote '+Tax...' Of course,they have to do so since tax can be raised by the governments.

____ It is crazy for GoK & GoB to charge so much in taxes ($135). Even the NBO-MBA flight at 5,500/- is 8,700/- after taxes. upuzi lakini we know muhoho & his friends kula most of it... mta do?
_____ Botswana has a small population but lucky to have a guy like Ian Khama. The democratic culture there is much stronger than Kenya. There are always challenges but Botswana tries to remain a country that allows for entrepreneurship.
____ US$100k ama KShs 100k?
_____ U can use Botswana as a base to export or do business in S.Africa coz unlike S.Africans,the Batswana are NOT as xenophobic i.e. they will not nyama choma you unlike the s.africans

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 2:23:00 AM

@djinn: I believe they are DIRECT otherwise they would simply codeshare between JNB-Gaberone BUT it is possible they will tie in JNB somehow. Also only 2x per week and probably the smaller 737s. Lots of Kenyans there but many have lost their jobs in the recent downturn.

____ I think KQ may use the opportunity to fly more SA-bound passengers or even use Gaberone as a launching point to other SSA cities. JNB is very protective of SAA.

#17 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 7:09:00 AM

@ vitu,djinn,

The flight from Nairobi to Gaborone (not Gaberone) was mainly targeting the tourist class of passengers and the first KQ plane will land at Sir Seretse Khama Air port in Gaborone on 4th September 2009. You see Botswana receives quite a lot of tourists from the Americas,Europe and Asia and they have to go to Botswana via Nairobi,Jo'burg and finally to Gaborone...the main problem is the waiting time at Jo'burg which is usually not less than 3 hours and you cannot go out of the airport because of the visa requirement. so this direct flight comes as a relief to the passengers who are travelling from Nairobi to Botswana (only a few selected countries mostly from Asia require visas to enter Botswana).

the flight back to Nairobi from Gaborone will be via Harare,Zimbabwe. The intention of introducing this Nairobi Gaborone flight is aimed at tapping the market in Southern Africa (mainly Windhoerk and Luanda) which are currently dominated by SAA. By the way when the deal was struck between KQ and Air Botswana the SAA replaced one of their 48 carrier capacity ATR 72 which flies between jo'burg and gaborone,with a Boeing 737...a very illogical move indeed!!!!

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 9:39:00 AM

@banyamulenge
are u by any chance an alumni of rware or kimathi .sorry for hijacking ur thread
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 9:40:00 AM

@banyamulenge
are u by any chance an alumni of rware or kimathi .sorry for hijacking ur thread
Eddy
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 10:57:00 AM

The $43 fare is unbeleivable even if the seats are only 5 - five passengers enjoy an incredible fare irrespective of everything! I wish someone could tell us the 'normal' fare for this route (could be 470 + taxes).

Taxes are a big burden to Passenger and i think the government should force to quote fares with the taxes.

@VituVingiSana The biggest percentage of the taxes are for airlines themselves which they categorize variously as fuel surchages,security surcharges etc for instance the GOK has been charging $20 airport tax for the last 8? years. Botswana government would possibly charge another $15 so the bulk of $134 taxes should actually be part of the fare.

So in essense the $228 fare to GBE should see us rush there even if for a day,we should be asking about hotel rates by the way..........