wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

$43 Return to Gaberone
CroSsFAde
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:37:00 AM

The cheapest ticket on KQ now is $499 + $135 taxes and don't forget the service fee($50)

correction does much,encouragment does more.
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:26:00 PM

@kaiganjo - ASANTE... I think KQ is using SSK airport as a means to tap other SSA cities including Luanda... The SSK airport looks smaller than Kisumu! Lakini nice & efficient!
______BTW,I believe the old name was Gaberone or has it always been Gabarone? Pronounced Habarone,no?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#23 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:31:00 PM

Eddy: There are more than the $20 for JKIA but we do not see coz it is charged thru the airline. No idea about SSK airport. I would like to see a proper breakdown of all the fees. BTW,there are TAXES as well on the ticket/fare.

___@crossfade: Avoid the $50,book online.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#24 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 1:50:00 PM

@ vituvingi sana

the capital city of Botswana was named after the chief of Batlokwa whose name was Gaborone (pronounced 'haburone' ). just before independence in 1966 the Botswana administration headquarters were based in Mafikgeng in the Republic of South Africa. After independence it was transfered to Lobatse township located in South Eastern part of Botswana which became the capital city. sometime later in the eighties the late former president Seretse Khama negotiated with the people of Batlokwa through their chief Gaborone for land to build the capital city. the chief Gaborone had his hqs in an area called Tlokweng which is the entry and exit point to and from the RSA. When this was agreed upon the city was named after the chief and the capital city was relocated to Gaborone...Actually Gaborone city is just about 30 years old unlike Nairobi whose history goes all the way to 1850.

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
kenyanbeef
#25 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 3:26:00 PM

is vituvingi in order to mislead sk by confidently stating the KQ fare is not Ksh.5500!? And r we not justified in dismissing anything he posts here pending confirmatiön save for the sideshows(thats ur thing btw). Lets stick to facts people. Unintelligent guesswork makes u look bad. I have been on that fare 3 times and a return is actually Ksh.9800! One way Ksh.5500. Simple research-single phönecall.
kenyanbeef
#26 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 3:31:00 PM

@Vituvingi...its Gaborone. Simple research-Google.
#27 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:19:00 PM

Asante... very informative...

#28 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:24:00 PM

@kenyanbeef - What are you b****ing about? ***______ * Please explain in English... ____** Ati 'I have flown 3 times'... kwani the rest of us have never seen the inside of a plane? Please do not underestimate SKerians. Lakini,please check the hole,there may be a siafu in it...

kenyanbeef
#29 Posted : Sunday, September 06, 2009 10:50:00 AM

@vitu. Nilikuweko tu nasema uwashe kudanganyeko sisi mshana mshana jameni...ngojeako kiza kidogo.
#30 Posted : Sunday, September 06, 2009 5:34:00 PM

Jameni... where have I danganya'd watu? Ebu,uni show... LOL... all well otherwise?

#31 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 5:32:00 AM

@ all,

the KQ landed in Gaborone on 4th september 2009 at exactly 11:00 in the morning with pignister Mwakwere on board together with another 130 passengers.

it was a good start!!!

#32 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 6:12:00 AM

BTW there is a lot of human and goods cargos which land at SSKA in Gaborone from Asia (mainly india,china and midle east),europe worth millions of $ per day...SAA has been badly shafted by the KQ.

The General
#33 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 11:56:00 AM

@ Kaigangio,

I agree.

KQ takes competition to S. Africans

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.