wazua..it's the Season...siku ya sermons
Mukiri wrote:Oh what joy it is to be in the presence of the Lord!!!
Today our sermon touched on Joseph, the earthly father of Jesus. Picture this, you fall in love with a girl... and what happens 1. The girl is more in love with God than with you. How do you reconcile that? How many of you frown upon a woman who's always in Church? Mara pastors planting 'seeds', holidays, etc How would you feel? 2. Even before marriage, she tells you she's pregnant!!! You haven't 'touched' her, your reputation, your feelings et al... How does that feel? 3. An angel of God appears to you, convincing you to take the pregnant woman you love and be a father to that child. Who asked for the angel? Why me? Questions nazo! 4. Mara they had to travel for census. If caring for a pregnant woman is not enough, try traveling via donkey with her 5. Mara all inns are full, mara giving birth in a cowshed.. imagine mkojo ya ng'ombe, droppings za mbuzi... na ujue mtoto sio wako! 6. Let me not even start on the visitors! You'd expect any baby shower to have daipers(or what they used those days), baby lotion etc what do the 3 wise men bring? gold, frankincense, and myrrh. Myrrh was used for dead bodies in those times... sasa itasaidia mtoto na nini? can only imagine the thugs after them for the gold! Frankincense ni ya kufukuza mosquito ama nini? What is, bwana! Before you even get over your surprise, her are 3 maasais who've just come to see the baby. Alas! 7. If you think all this is ndlama, try having a president who's after your ass and is willing to kill all babies to get to you! Ati a neighbour's baby is killed because of yours, now tell me the stress 8. Ni endelee ama nisiendelee? In a nutshell, the Father was telling us that you may not be the acclaimed Tall, dark and handsome... you may not be rich, command respect and/or attention nor be outstanding in your life BUT you are important and have a role to play. Joseph is rarely mentioned, his story not completely told but had he not been there and done what he did, the story of Jesus would have been otherwise.
How many Wazuans FAST? How many know its significance? How many know the importance of FASTING? A great way to welcome the new year Isaiah 58:6-14 wrote: 6 “Is this not the fast that I have chosen: To loose the bonds of wickedness, To undo the heavy burdens, To let the oppressed go free, And that you break every yoke? 7 Is it not to share your bread with the hungry, And that you bring to your house the poor who are cast out; When you see the naked, that you cover him, And not hide yourself from your own flesh? 8 Then your light shall break forth like the morning, Your healing shall spring forth speedily, And your righteousness shall go before you; The glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard. 9 Then you shall call, and the Lord will answer; You shall cry, and He will say, ‘Here I am.’
“If you take away the yoke from your midst, The pointing of the finger, and speaking wickedness, 10 If you extend your soul to the hungry And satisfy the afflicted soul, Then your light shall dawn in the darkness, And your darkness shall be as the noonday. 11 The Lord will guide you continually, And satisfy your soul in drought, And strengthen your bones; You shall be like a watered garden, And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail. 12 Those from among you Shall build the old waste places; You shall raise up the foundations of many generations; And you shall be called the Repairer of the Breach, The Restorer of Streets to Dwell In.
13 “If you turn away your foot from the Sabbath, From doing your pleasure on My holy day, And call the Sabbath a delight, The holy day of the Lord honorable, And shall honor Him, not doing your own ways, Nor finding your own pleasure, Nor speaking your own words, 14 Then you shall delight yourself in the Lord; And I will cause you to ride on the high hills of the earth, And feed you with the heritage of Jacob your father. The mouth of the Lord has spoken.”
PATIENCELuke 2:25-38 Our sermon today was on patience. Waiting upon God, even when it seems to be futile. The verse above was about Simeon, who'd been told he'll see the Saviour before the end of his days. It came to pass... even though he was very old. The Bible is rife with such examples. Sarah and her baby quickly comes to mind. Its more difficult in this microwave generation, where we want things quickly quickly, but He never fails. I guess she was telling us to re-new our faith, ask for help(Holy Spirit) to endure and probably find some semblance of joy while we wait patiently for the Lord to come through. Psalms 1:3
Mukiri wrote:PATIENCE
Luke 2:25-38
Our sermon today was on patience. Waiting upon God, even when it seems to be futile.
The verse above was about Simeon, who'd been told he'll see the Saviour before the end of his days. It came to pass... even though he was very old.
The Bible is rife with such examples. Sarah and her baby quickly comes to mind.
Its more difficult in this microwave generation, where we want things quickly quickly, but He never fails. I guess she was telling us to re-new our faith, ask for help(Holy Spirit) to endure and probably find some semblance of joy while we wait patiently for the Lord to come through.
Psalms 1:3 Patience, after all, is a virtue. His time is best.
washiku wrote:Mukiri wrote:PATIENCE
Our sermon today was on patience. Waiting upon God, even when it seems to be futile.
The verse above was about Simeon, who'd been told he'll see the Saviour before the end of his days. It came to pass... even though he was very old.
Its more difficult in this microwave generation, where we want things quickly quickly, but He never fails. I guess she was telling us to re-new our faith, ask for help(Holy Spirit) to endure and probably find some semblance of joy while we wait patiently for the Lord to come through.
Psalms 1:3 Patience, after all, is a virtual. His time is best.  Ilikuja na meli?
Please usher in the New Year while praising and Worshiping God... and see the difference it makes in your life Kesha pap!
NEW WINE, NEW WINE-SKINSLuke 5:36-39 The word 'wine' should resonate with those of us who imbibe. Question is, how do you get new wine? 1. Harvest your grapes What is it that you have, size notwithstanding? Moses had a staff; The widow had a little oil and bread; the boy at Jesus' sermon had 5 fish and a loaf of bread. 2. Change your wineskin Wine was stored in goat skins, in days of the old. As it fermented, gas was produced, the goat skin expanded to accommodate it. Putting new wine into an old goat skin, that had already expanded would only cause the skin to break, and wine to pour Mark 2:22 An example was used of a student who never studies and never passes. For him to achieve his desire to pass, he had to change his study habits. 3. Change old wine Even Jesus said that those used to the taste of old wine, rarely liked new wine. We are accustomed to doing things in a certain way etc. Who was it that said that insanity is doing the same old things expecting different results? Abandon the time, resources and energy in the 'old wine'/things and adjust your taste to 'new wine'
Mukiri wrote:washiku wrote:Mukiri wrote:PATIENCE
Psalms 1:3 Patience, after all, is a virtual. His time is best.  Ilikuja na meli? Typo-error bro relax, take her slow. Illmatic
I'm comforted in the fact that there is nothing that God cannot do. And that He represents that which is Holy and good. Why do I say this? Wazua, just like life in alot of places, is rife with fights, grudges, ill feelings and motives etc. Fortunately, I believe that this makes for a very small percentage of what goes on here... most times overshadowed by the info sharing, jokes, investment advice, health tips etc I'm comforted that the fight is already won. This evil presence persistently trying to infect Wazuans every now and then can be dealt with. It is my pray that ndeffo will leave Wazua  and that God will reflect on every post, interaction, mbuzi et al.
wazua..it's the Season...siku ya sermons