wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

Education Insurance
jhonie
#1 Posted : Monday, September 14, 2009 7:40:00 AM

Hi pple,i need to get Education insurance for my kid who is one yr old which is the best firm? any expreinces Kindly share with us
hello
#2 Posted : Monday, September 14, 2009 10:26:00 AM

I m also looking for the education insurance.

@jhonie can you please change topic to education insurance.

good investor,but poor in mathamatakos.
I want to be a millionaire.
Kausha
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 9:00:00 AM

Keep your eyes peeled,a very good solution coming up in very soon within the next two months from a local insurer
Mwekahazina
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 11:48:00 AM

I can recommend firstliberty.kenya@gmail.com for a variety of solutions,since they combine a variety of investment,banking and insurance products.

In general,Insurance company returns are fairly conservative at between 5 - 10%.

Best Regards
Mwekahazina
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 11:52:00 AM

Just to add,my preference is to mix various types of policies,as I've been shown the advantages,based on a financial plan. For example,I was shocked to see 50% on Natural Death on education,but I'm covered by other life policies.
sungura2005
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 1:12:00 PM

The interest earned on the savings plans sold by insurance companies is crap. My wife is getting 1.38% pa and,unlike a bank fixed depo a/c,she can't get out till 2011. She was duped into buy the policy in 2006. We hadn't met then otherwise I'd have prevented her from buying. Lakini the monthly payment into the plan is only 1k a month so no biggy. Get term life (pure life bila savings) and then buy low-risk gava treasury bonds that pay over 12% pa. Ama get term life and then buy a plot/digs which you'll sell the day your kid is admitted to a good campo. You could get lucky such that the rental income from the digs by the time your kid is going to campo is enough to pay the fees so you won't need to sell it. You can then tell your kid that the house is his/hers so long as he gets top grades in campo :)
on the move
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 2:38:00 PM

1.An education policy is not an investment rather the purpose is to offer security and protection for the unforseen calamities which could interfere with your ability to raise funds to see your kids through college/ high school.

2. Being an insurance product you must pay upto the last month. There is no refund if you want to cancel midway and you will lose all of your contribution (hence the current beef with insurance men/women)unless the policy has a surrender value. And surrender value is normally lower than your savings at any given moment. Typical of kenyan companies,unless you have contributed for more than 24 months you are not eligible for a refund and pulling out at this juncture will mean losing on your savings. Others have a 36 months minimum contribution. Think long term when taking a cover.

3. Returns average 2-5% P.a even with the unit linked products that combine insurance wih investments. 4. My recomendation: Go for the product fully knowing the implication. Thier superiority is the protection aspect and more so if you dont have a life cover. If looking for returns you are better of with stocks/bonds/matatus etc.

www.conceptadvisoryservices.co.ke...Investment agents
sungura2005
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 10:08:00 PM

@ jhonie

Do you want your kids thinking 20 years from now about how daddy/mummy invested lousily ama shrewdly? My wife was nagged into buying a 10yr insurance savings plan in 1996. The monthly contribution is 1k and after making contributions of 120k,she'll receive a pathetic cheque of 138,360/- in 2016. That's a rip-off interest rate of 2.81% p.a (type =RATE(120,-1000,0,138360)*12 in Excel). You'll get similar lousy rates from banks but bila the penalties for opting out later. The life part of my wife's policy has a monthly premium of 153/- and a death benefit of 200k. Si mbaya lakini mine is better (annual premium of 36k vs death benefit of 8m). Mine is of course term life (bila savings plan) coz 2.81% pa in today's inflationary environment is unacceptable.

An acre of land in Karen in 1976 was going for 16k. How much is it worth now? An acre of land in Athi River near Small World was going for 4k in 1988. How much is it worth now especially if you sell subdivisions? A 3br in Kili in 2003 was going for 3.5m. How much is it worth now? An acre in Valley Arcade in 2003 was going for 8m. How much is it worth now?

Why are you giving your hard-earned cash to insurance billionaires only for them to pay you rubbish interest and invest your money in stocks,bonds and real estate at a much greater return? Rumour has it that the Ndegwa family (#1 in general insurance in Kenya) get paid over 1bn in dividends pa. I'm very happy for them but I feel sorry for the gullible middle classes like you who get suckered by their sales army.
mtaalam
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 7:06:00 AM

Check out Jubilee Insurance product. I settled for it as I found it to be the most beneficial. No regrets yet although I've not received my policy documents in over 7 months. Jubilee,what's up with that??

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
jhonie
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 1:24:00 PM

@ sungura2005 thnx alot i have evaluated several offers that the insurance are issuing and i agree with you it is a rep-off. its better i boost my co-op shares where we have average return of 8% or buy stocks.
Kamaa
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 8:15:00 AM

if you got a term life cover then avoid other forms of insurances....

it is like a comprehensive policy holder looking for a 3rd party....

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
mtaalam
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 9:25:00 AM

As much as I cannot argue with Sungura's deductions and as much as I agree with his view,I'd still advise you to consider insurance. Don't look at it as enriching the Ndegwas etc because in all businesses you'll end up enriching someone anyway.
As much as an acre in Karen was 16k in the 70s not many of us bought. You'll find that there are so many loopholes for money that you put a side in an undisciplined,inconsistent manner that eventually you'll end up with less that you'd planned to have.
My suggestion is,get insurance for education,and use the rest of your disposable cash to invest. No need to gamble with your kids education money.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.