wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

14 Pages«<23456>»
Too many HELLOS, Time to quit stocks!
#61 Posted : Tuesday, January 14, 2014 11:17:20 AM

jmbada wrote:
When will we be able to start shorting stocks? Will the new CMA laws allow for a portion of that to happen? Pardon my ignorance.

Oh...and HELLLLLOOOOOOOOOWWWWWW!!!

By 'we' you mean who?
The 'big boys' with money do that all the time.

Are you saying that some investors can borrow stocks, sell today and return later...legally?

I'm not stating it as a fact but I'm sure that some brokerage firms hold hot stock for that reason. It explains how you are able to have your account credited in minutes to filing an order. But sisemi kitu.

jmbada
#62 Posted : Tuesday, January 14, 2014 11:20:01 AM

jmbada wrote:
When will we be able to start shorting stocks? Will the new CMA laws allow for a portion of that to happen? Pardon my ignorance.

By 'we' you mean who?

Are you saying that some investors can borrow stocks, sell today and return later...legally?

I'm not stating it as a fact but I'm sure that some brokerage firms hold hot stock for that reason. It explains how you are able to have your account credited in minutes to filing an order. But sisemi kitu.

Well, if it's not a fact then we shouldn't dwell on it nor allude to it. But thanks for posting. Anyone understand the implication of the new CMA guidelines? We would all be immensely richer for your input.
mkeiy
#63 Posted : Tuesday, January 14, 2014 3:33:19 PM

jmbada wrote:

By 'we' you mean who?

I think brokers used to do it before automation. Now if they do, i guess they check your KYC first before "shorting" your shares.
mibbz
#64 Posted : Tuesday, January 14, 2014 11:15:45 PM

Watched wolf of wallstreet and one of the most interesting quotes

'Number one rule of wall street,nobody knows if the stock is going to go up,down sideways or in circles,least of all stock brokers;its all a fugaze'
mkeiy
#65 Posted : Wednesday, January 15, 2014 8:13:40 AM

mibbz wrote:

'Number one rule of wall street,nobody knows if the stock is going to go up,down sideways or in circles,least of all stock brokers;its all a fugaze'

Not entirely true. Some do know.
#66 Posted : Wednesday, January 15, 2014 10:51:36 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
False prophecy. These are people who want market to go down so that they can access and buy at low price. An ankward investor.

True prophesy. wait for September 2014 and see what happens. luckily you still have time to sell because prices will go higher and higher till then.

Why September? closing of books?

My gut feeling.
#67 Posted : Wednesday, January 15, 2014 10:59:02 PM

No less than 3 threads started by HELLOs on what stocks to buy.

Wazuans if you have made money in the last 2 years, its time to sell.

Sell your stock holdings, put the money in property or cash.

2015 will be a bad year for stocks. Let those who have ears hear.

That's terrible advice in my opinion.
The Central Bank MPC is meeting today and they will either lower the rate or maintain it as is. The issue of about Ksh.200b Eurobond will make the bond market less profitable as govt will not need that much money from the local market. The best place to make money will be the NSE.

@2012 chances of making >100% in 2014 and 2015 on most stocks are low.
#68 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 3:22:16 AM

That's terrible advice in my opinion.
The Central Bank MPC is meeting today and they will either lower the rate or maintain it as is. The issue of about Ksh.200b Eurobond will make the bond market less profitable as govt will not need that much money from the local market. The best place to make money will be the NSE.

@2012 chances of making >100% in 2014 and 2015 on most stocks are low.

Yes especially those that peaked at the height of the 2012-2013 run but that said it will still be a stock year in this frontier market.
mibbz
#69 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 3:37:07 AM

mkeiy wrote:
mibbz wrote:

Mkeiy people read trends,forecast but you never really know what the market shall throw at you. Eg tomorrow morning CK wakes up and decided to dump centum in its entirety in the open market;what happens next?
#70 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 6:06:27 AM

mibbz wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
mibbz wrote:

Mkeiy people read trends,forecast but you never really know what the market shall throw at you. Eg tomorrow morning CK wakes up and decided to dump centum in its entirety in the open market;what happens next?

Great movie that 'The Wolf of WallStreet'! Captures the attitudes you even get with some of the dealers here at the NSE!!
mkeiy
#71 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 8:04:28 AM

mibbz wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
mibbz wrote:

@mibbz, Some will be in the know that CK is bailing out. Those "close" to him.

Auditors know results before they are released.

Its not like these things happen in high heavens before dropping to earth,they happen amongst people.
The select few.

bird_man
#72 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 1:55:49 PM

mibbz wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
mibbz wrote:

Great movie that 'The Wolf of WallStreet'! Captures the attitudes you even get with some of the dealers here at the NSE!!

And now the movie has been banned in Kenya by Kenya Film Board
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#73 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 2:16:51 PM

bird_man wrote:
mibbz wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
mibbz wrote:

Why? Simply rate it adults only?
symbols
#74 Posted : Friday, January 17, 2014 10:21:31 PM

mibbz wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
mibbz wrote:

Trends are very rewarding although taxing.The way I see it,it's about identifying,understanding and tracking the influential factors but the hard part is breaking it down to different time frames while still leaving room for wild cards.But then again,isn't that what we're trying to do?
mibbz
#75 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 12:57:59 AM

bird_man wrote:
mibbz wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
mibbz wrote:

Why? Simply rate it adults only?

The movie has some rather strong scenes,i think some in the 18-25 demographic might be inspired to live the life esp those starting out as brokers/traders.

Another interesting one is 12 years a slave;i have profound respect for our fore fathers. Yaani people went through real crap so that we get to enjoy some of these freedoms like sharing information on Wazua rather freely....

Lastly out of curiousity does UG and TZ or Rwanda have a wazua type of blog in their invetment circles?
#76 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 4:58:27 PM

@mibbz Uganda has nothing like investment circles!
#77 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 6:22:59 PM

Rwanda bourse is small... Bralirwa, Bank of Kigali and the cross listed Kenyan counters.
anwencassiopeia
#78 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 7:12:43 PM

Hello,

I read this great report,it might help you to get more ideas how to invest in a right way. http://hotmicrocapstocks.com/
#79 Posted : Sunday, January 19, 2014 1:12:20 AM

guru267 wrote:
@mibbz Uganda has nothing like investment circles!

Which good counters trade at the USE apart from the Stanbic UG?

@mibbz we can take that role bad thing is we have no one there. CDE is very informative on the going on's in Zimbabwe and @young Nigeria. Speaking of Nigeria will Kenya ever have a "Dangote" not the man but the company?
#80 Posted : Sunday, January 19, 2014 8:14:12 AM

gatoho wrote:

If Kirubi or Mbaru joined Wazua today, what rank would he be, ORACLE? no Hello.

Hiyo ndiyo inaitagwa ten nil!