wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

M-PESA Outside Kenya
D32
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 11, 2014 10:04:06 PM

Hi,

Anyone got info on if one can send and receive payments when outside the country. Do not need to withdraw, just send and receive.

I know it works in UG, what about other countries?
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
Ash Ock
#2 Posted : Saturday, January 11, 2014 10:29:09 PM

It works. I've used it from Europe to send, receive, and to top up any Safcon number.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
D32
#3 Posted : Saturday, January 11, 2014 11:28:06 PM

Good to know that it works, Thanks! smile
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#4 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 9:43:28 AM

Sent and received from Zambia.
grolut
#5 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 10:15:01 AM

If I'm not wrong, you can send and receive anywhere your Safaricom line has roaming. The only thing you can't do is deposit and withdraw though I've been able to do this in UG.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#6 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 10:25:28 AM

grolut wrote:
If I'm not wrong, you can send and receive anywhere your Safaricom line has roaming. The only thing you can't do is deposit and withdraw though I've been able to do this in UG.

How now if they can't deposit and cant withdraw what business is safaricom doing then?
chris79
#7 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 10:42:50 AM

bkismat wrote:
grolut wrote:

How now if they can't deposit and cant withdraw what business is safaricom doing then?

It's because there are no Mpesa agents in those countries...
#8 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 12:39:04 PM

chris79 wrote:
bkismat wrote:
grolut wrote:

It's because there are no Mpesa agents in those countries...

How does it work? Do the customers go to some specific bank?
taka jua
#9 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 2:16:09 PM

You can deposit money into MPESA at western union branches in selected countries
JkMwatha
#10 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 3:46:06 PM

bkismat wrote:
grolut wrote:

Its actually very useful... probably one of the best thing since sliced bread.
I use it while in UK to send/pay people, as well as receive/get paid... in Kenya.
I have never needed to set my phone on roaming (unless it happens automatically).
I have never needed to withdraw cash (ksh? -imagine that!) while in UK.
I always thought transactions or those safcom messages were charged, but never been charged.