Jus Blazin wrote:Mtu Biz wrote:
Church Going MEN (The traditional sense of the word) yaani WANAUME in wazua... kindly give me me your honest answer to this.
How many of you are 100% ok with closing your eyes, raising your hands and swaying away to 'worship music' i.e to these types of lyrics
Wrap me in your arms lord X 20
Draw me close to you X10
Never Let me Go X 5
Let me feel the warmth of your embrace X 7
I honestly want to hear divergent views, i cannot bring myself to sing those things at all.
Give me a hymm any day, lakini 'wrap me in your arms?'
I have no problem with those lyrics. Coz at that moment naomba Mungu wangu.
@Jus Blazin
Can i tell you the REAL reason you have no problem with those lyrics?
My brother, when you are swaying away to those lyrics your brain is on neutral...that is, you sir, are not THINKING at that moment.
When truly 'unaomba mungu wako' your brain is very switched on, you are contemplating the words you are using and the one to whom your maombi is going to, you are weighing your words and thoughts because you know you cannot hide your motives or anything from the one to whom unaomba..
Have you read the Psalms of David ? Weighty reflections on the attributes of God, petitions and thanksgivings....
No mindless repetitions of words meant to stir emotion rather than thought.
There is no maombi like 'wrap me in your arms' on repeat X 10 what might you be anticipating in such a maombi ? what indeed are you ombaing ?
The moment you begin THINKING about what you are saying and to whom you are saying those things to... you will have a problem with such lyrics.
God is to be worshiped with all of your MIND as well boss.