wazua Tue, Jul 29, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
Seacom
ptor
#61 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 5:50:00 AM

Im using KDN and average pings are 176ms!

ji
#62 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 5:54:00 AM

@ptor,
I dare you to post your ping replies....KDN is a hoax!

'I never see what has been done; I only see what remains to be done.'

ptor
#63 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 7:03:00 AM

Pinging www-real.wa1.b.yahoo.com [87.248.113.14] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 87.248.113.14: bytes=32 time=206ms TTL=57

Reply from 87.248.113.14: bytes=32 time=166ms TTL=57

Reply from 87.248.113.14: bytes=32 time=198ms TTL=57

Reply from 87.248.113.14: bytes=32 time=145ms TTL=57

Ping statistics for 87.248.113.14:

Packets: Sent = 4,Received = 4,Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

Minimum = 145ms,Maximum = 206ms,Average = 176ms

bird_man
#64 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 5:20:00 PM

Pings have nothing to do with your internet speed really.Internet speed is measured by bandwidth offered.The latency time it takes to get a reply from yahoo.com or any server outside Kenya will always be greater than local servers fiber or no fiber.What has changed is how many MBs of data you can download of an attachment from that yahoo server/second after a connection has been established........not how fast or slow you get an initial reply from it.

The world is changed by those who dare dream.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#65 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 7:25:00 AM

KDN has fired the first shot,a 90% reduction in cost of bandwith. Now down to $600 for a 1MB/1MB pipe...Watch the isps start falling over themselves to survive....

RIP Access,UUnet (uselessnet),Wananchi,may your exploitation of customers be never remembered!

ji
#66 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 12:34:00 PM

Yes a ping has everything to do with speed and quality of your connection.

What it means is that you send test packets to the destination and expect an echo (reply) to all the packets sent.

If the line is ok all the ICMP packets reach destination and you get a reply,therefore the time it takes for the round trip gives you a basic feel of the bandwidth. If some of your packets are timed out on the way,it points to a low quality link.

@ptor,your pings look good so maybe you can go ahead and check the busy hour downloads speeds.

#67 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 8:21:00 AM

Jameni,is it worth my while to ditch safcon for Orange?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
ptor
#68 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 7:14:00 AM

@ subzero,
Kenyans had the same fears when Kenya Uganda Railway was built.

chris79
#69 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 7:41:00 AM

@VVS,from the way guys have pointedly avoided answering your question,it's definitely not worth your while. And I'm speaking from an entirely neutral point of view...

Be the change you want to see in the world...
Riddler
#70 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 7:54:00 AM

Ok now the big question. How many of you guys are getting broadband with the Safcom modem? I am one of them in Parklands. I nearly get 1.6MBPS.
Riddler
#71 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 8:04:00 AM

Guess what all. Today for the first time i am able to stream youtube on my Zuku 512KBPS without any buffering. I think things are moving the right way.
subzero
#72 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 9:05:00 AM

riddler,Kwani what service do you use? mara ni zuku tena safcom. . .
anyways,Am finally on seacom and its great. streaming is almost instant. its unbelievable.
Am connected thro KDN
Riddler
#73 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 9:25:00 AM

@ subzero.....I am first on Zuku and I took on Safcom as a trial. I have others too...looks like I love testing all sorts of connections.
kizee
#74 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 12:16:00 PM

@riddler...yes zuku seems on steroids...lakini just wait until u hav issues...those guys have the worst customer service
ji
#75 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 3:31:00 PM

@subzer0,

There's no ISP called seacom,ama your laptop is directly connected to the underwater cable @10Gb/s ??

subzero
#76 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 5:06:00 PM

ji,kindly read the entire post
And1589
#77 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 9:22:00 AM

@Ji
heheheheheh
u r just nasty......ati 'laptop connected to the undersea cable'
LOL,my ribs are cracking!

Becoming number one is easier than remaining number one
ji
#78 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 11:13:00 AM

@And156**,
You could surely connect to a GE port on the underwater cable terminal eqpt. (modem) and enjoy direct connection to the world. What would you do with 10Gb/s link? Download 500 movies per minute maybe....am told with tech. some things are possible.

Riddler
#79 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 7:01:00 AM

@ subzero....how do i connect to kdn and at what price?
Mpenzi
#80 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 1:07:00 AM

Access Kenya says that it has connected its customers to the fibre network. For those that use AK what has been your experience? What about other ISPs and mobile networks?