#1 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 2:40:50 PM

Africa's top ten cities to live in.
1. Cape Town, South Africa
2. Accra, Ghana
3. Nairobi, Kenya
4. Johannesburg, South Africa
5. Gaborone, Botswana
Tell us which other cities you think made it on the list?
Read all about this in the first issue of Forbes Africa Life.

https://twitter.com/forbesafrica

https://www.facebook.com...a/posts/677480748964007

It seems forbes stole the list from this website

http://www.africa.com/bl...veable_cities_in_africa/
#2 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 2:45:28 PM

2. Accra, Ghana
3. Nairobi, Kenya
5. Gaborone, Botswana

oh! cape town! cape town! very nice city!
#3 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 3:19:14 PM

2. Accra, Ghana
3. Nairobi, Kenya
5. Gaborone, Botswana

It seems forbes stole the list from this website

http://www.africa.com/bl...eable_cities_in_africa/

Was this list compiled by FORBES or Phombes or MaFombe!?

#4 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 3:22:33 PM

Forbes on Phombe. If Nairobi despite Kidero the zombie is 3rd, imagine how bad Gaberone must be.
#5 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 3:27:46 PM

2. Accra, Ghana
3. Nairobi, Kenya
5. Gaborone, Botswana

Well done Nairobi even with all the consequences.

Cape Town is such a beautiful city. The drive and scenery along the shores from downtown through camps may - cape point - fish hoek all the way to Gordon's bay is fantastic.

Take a cable car to the table mountain restaurant for lunch or dinner and for phombe long street is full of variety.
#6 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 3:33:00 PM

Haisha @Kiash!!!
#7 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 7:49:18 PM

2. Accra, Ghana
3. Nairobi, Kenya
5. Gaborone, Botswana

Well done Nairobi even with all the consequences.

Cape Town is such a beautiful city. The drive and scenery along the shores from downtown through camps may - cape point - fish hoek all the way to Gordon's bay is fantastic.

Take a cable car to the table mountain restaurant for lunch or dinner and for phombe long street is full of variety.

oh yes! oh yes! drove all the way to the cape of good hope. wonderful scenery.... simply breathtaking.
#8 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 8:08:23 PM

Pheeew, finally...at least something close to a good report about Kenya.
#9 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 8:17:39 PM

Forbes on Phombe. If Nairobi despite Kidero the zombie is 3rd, imagine how bad Gaberone must be.

Ummmh am not in anyway defending Kidero but what would you have wanted him to do?
For a fact the city is rather cleanish...yes we can do better esp down town Nairobi but uptown is indeed clean...the roads are being sorted out...for the traffic jams thats a rather complex matter...the other day I read this...www.nation.co.ke/business/City-middle-class-snubs-train-shuttles-and-sticks-to-cars/-/1950106/2134526/-/format/xhtml/-/1hog0x/-/index.html
...to the traffic lights yes some dont work but those that do are ignored...today I was almost knocked by some stupid guy who ignored the red- stop light plus I noticed that if there is no cop at the roundabout almost everyone jumps the light...we have just bad manners...
What about the hawkers whats the best way to deal with them...a case usually looked upon as CORD vs Jubilee...these guys are everywhere and increasing by the day...
#10 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 8:19:45 PM

Nairobi, surely! Ok.
#11 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 8:36:45 PM

We aint doing bad.smile
I have always known that nbo is far much better infrastructure wise than other African cities.

What about the hawkers whats the best way to deal with them...a case usually looked upon as CORD vs Jubilee...these guys are everywhere and increasing by the day...

Allocating them specific places,has failed to work.
Don't know the best remedy.

#12 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 8:37:07 PM

Pheeew, finally...at least something close to a good report about Kenya.

There is so much positive going on but a lot of Kenyans are inherently negative and the media doesn't help the cause either. For example, a simple question to most Kenyans on how life is will yield a negative comment ...."maisha ni ngumu sikuhizi" ..tunang'ng'ana tuu...etc. SMH

Also a lot Kenyans are not widely traveled to realize what they have.

#13 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 8:46:49 PM

#14 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 10:46:46 PM

Kidero is 10 times better than kafogo, I swear. Gone are the days I always looked forward to driving back to my hometown.... Nairobi is good, n eastlando is changing considerably for the better. ORR project will be the ultimate gamechanger!
#15 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2014 10:55:10 PM

Ngonjeni @Alma aone hii mtakipataLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

haha not really.

The article was comparing cities in africa. It did not say they are good cities. It was saying that its better than the other masukuma Africans.

I say this coz today, I happened to be in the city center. I saw pickup full of "these people". One of "those people" opened the door and "these people" were paying him some murchr bebapay.

That is the real nairobi

Where ODM gofana, Kidero, oversees the biggest extortion game in africa. Better than the mafia.

And the TNA president elects a nutcase to run a corporation then changes his mind in the morning.

Do you guys even know what really happens in nairobi or do you just look at the samsung advert on KICC and get mesmerized?

Before you answer, please remember it was a white man's reporter that was praising africans. Just like in the zoo.
#16 Posted : Saturday, January 11, 2014 4:20:07 AM

Surely what makes Accra better than Nairobi?
Pierce
#17 Posted : Saturday, January 11, 2014 4:44:20 AM

Honestly if Nairobi is third, then Africa is really in the dungeons.With all this insecurity, the first thing one does when the buy a 'Toyota' is to weld metalic strips on the head lamps and chain the side mirrors!!

You can hardly park in the city centre with a laptop in your boot and find it when you return!

I agree Nairobi/Kenya is making some progress but it's at snail's pace.

And yes.......tembea ujionee....
Pierce
#18 Posted : Saturday, January 11, 2014 4:47:51 AM

Guest (2), Pierce

You two guests kwani hamlali, ama mko Ulaya.....mimi ni bawabu kwa hivyo nakubaliwa....
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 11, 2014 6:44:10 AM

Pierce wrote:
Honestly if Nairobi is third, then Africa is really in the dungeons.With all this insecurity, the first thing one does when the buy a 'Toyota' is to weld metalic strips on the head lamps and chain the side mirrors!!

You can hardly park in the city centre with a laptop in your boot and find it when you return!

I agree Nairobi/Kenya is making some progress but it's at snail's pace.

And yes.......tembea ujionee....

@Pierce, you are just a typical Kenyan who have not travelled. Theft of Cars and goods inside cars is a worldwide problem, hata Nairoberry no shadow. At least for me I have travelled allover the world, via internet though, and I know that for a fact!!!!!

@Kiash, what says you?

#20 Posted : Saturday, January 11, 2014 8:58:48 AM

Jo'burg really?
Nairobi? We need to sort security, public transport, roads and water problems first. If we're that high up on the list, just how bad are the other cities?