wazua Wed, May 6, 2026

11 Pages«<678910>»
Ban on Night Travel Coast Bus Behaving Badly
#71 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 8:28:54 PM

butterflyke wrote:
can they also ban night travel on lang'ata road and other 'hot spots' where we are sure to have accidents mainly due to DUI whether it's the festive season or not?

nkt. these knee jerk reactions to road safety will not work. we already lose a lot of time to build the economy whilst stuck in traffic jams. having buses travel only during the day will add to the congestion.

something that struck me is that the ban will affect travel to and from western and coastal areas. hii ban ni ya goggles ama?i agree with TAZ that we the drivers do not make the situation any better - indiscipline galore

That highlighted line of thought has been going round FB and am wondering.....Kwani long distance night buses are for which destinations?Its Coast and Western.So obviously they are the affected lot.

Any distance within 300Kms radius from Nairobi does not require overnight travel.

I also look foward to us being part of the solution.Let us offer suggestions,critisism will not help.Yes the decision was not good and its hurting the economy but so were the many deaths that were happenning.

I offer my suggestion

---All buses must have at least 2 experienced drivers who will drive in turns.

---The speed limit should be enforced but at 100KPH not the previous 80KPH

@Bigchick, I don't think that there was a deliberate intention for Western and Coastal areas to be affected but if there is anything like 'politics of perception', this would be it.

Moving on, constructive criticism can help. I agree with the two drivers taking turns. In other places, drivers are switched at designated destinations so that a driver takes one leg of the journey and another one takes over at another station. May be we are not that advanced so the two drivers can do.
#72 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 8:39:02 PM

Butterklyke, thank you. This 80kph nonsense will NEVER work. 80kph is extremely unpopular with pax, and this discourages the owners. Weka gavana ya 80 at your own risk [of losing business]. I once suggested 100 kph as a more realistic compromise, that will still save on time yet its a safe envelope. Horizon bus, that led to the ban, is the slowest on the route, arrives last nearly every time [sticks to 80 like makerege to ODM].
#73 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 8:59:20 PM

I support any measure that saves some lives.we've had fewer fatal massacres on the roads since Dec 24
#74 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 9:07:24 PM

Kamaa is slowly getting sober. Give this nonsense a few more days. ....

Its nothing to do with getting sober, the law is clear but many incl journalists, police and bus owners never read it they are required to have a license driver should not drive for more than 4 hours etc etc
#75 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 9:22:11 PM

Its nothing to do with getting sober, the law is clear but many incl journalists, police and bus owners never read it they are required to have a license driver should not drive for more than 4 hours etc etc

That's fine, but which driver drives 60 pax for more than 4 hours without being forced to stop? Buses stop at Mtito, Narok, Nakuru etc. For mombasa route, most of the buses have 2 drivers.
#76 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 9:29:53 PM

That's fine, but which driver drives 60 pax for more than 4 hours without being forced to stop? Buses stop at Mtito, Narok, Nakuru etc. For mombasa route, most of the buses have 2 drivers.

All they need is a license and a show of compliance thats all
#77 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 9:30:55 PM

The stopping yu r talking about ni ile ya kukojoa yu. The one the law talks about is that the driver must rest for some considerable time.
#78 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 9:55:04 PM

The stopping yu r talking about ni ile ya kukojoa yu. The one the law talks about is that the driver must rest for some considerable time.

Ai washiku, that stop lasts close to or over 30 min. Hao madere humanga usiku. The law is ok, but we need to get over this madness soonest. I can't believe sunday naraukia safari!
#79 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 10:48:46 PM

mukiha wrote:
Ole Lenku wrote:
mukiha wrote:
I should buy a bussmile

You can if you are a co-orporate body but not just washiku. May be washiku express smile

law wrote:
A vehicle shall not be licenced as a public service vehicle unless the owner or operator of the vehicle is a corporate body whose principal objective is the operation of public service vehicles and which meets minimum conditions prescribed by the Authority.

. A corporate body desirous of operating public service vehicles shall meet the following minimum conditions:

(a) Be the registered owner of a minimum of 30 serviceable vehicles licensed as public service vehicles or in respect to which an application for a licence has been or is to be lodged with the Authority;

Someni sheria jameni

So I form "Mukiha & Wife Ltd", buy 30 buses with some 100m bob; then apply for PSV licence.... what if they say no? isn't the risk too great?

Perhaps one should be expected to "show evidence" of financial ability to buy 30 buses then get a provisional license for, say 180days to actually buy the buses and get them inspected and certified and then get the full license upon presentation of the certificates of inspection.

Nonetheless; the idea of saccos should be discouraged kabisa! Saccos are no better than individuals in managing their fleets, and then there is the issue of whether you can withdraw Mukiha's PSV license because Kamau-wa-Njoroge's bus was involved in an accident.

Finally; the requirement of the operator being a corporate body is unnecessary. It is much easier to punish/reward and individual than a corporate body. And we all know that company files can be made to disappear!

The aim should be to ensure that only serious businesspeople get into the PSV business. It's a matter of life and death and leaving it at the hands of any Mukiha who comes along with one rickety jalopy is just too reckless!

Indeed; I suspect that this particular regulation can be challenged in a constitutional court.

It is in court already.

I meant the clause about corporate bodies. The operators are challenging the one on night travel, I suspect they will lose than one because it is not a ban!

Easy Coach officials claim they will be forced to cut their workforce by half i.e from around 800 to 400...
#80 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 11:32:06 PM

mukiha wrote:
I should buy a bussmile

You can if you are a co-orporate body but not just washiku. May be washiku express smile

law wrote:
A vehicle shall not be licenced as a public service vehicle unless the owner or operator of the vehicle is a corporate body whose principal objective is the operation of public service vehicles and which meets minimum conditions prescribed by the Authority.

. A corporate body desirous of operating public service vehicles shall meet the following minimum conditions:

(a) Be the registered owner of a minimum of 30 serviceable vehicles licensed as public service vehicles or in respect to which an application for a licence has been or is to be lodged with the Authority;

Someni sheria jameni

So I form "Mukiha & Wife Ltd", buy 30 buses with some 100m bob; then apply for PSV licence.... what if they say no? isn't the risk too great?

Perhaps one should be expected to "show evidence" of financial ability to buy 30 buses then get a provisional license for, say 180days to actually buy the buses and get them inspected and certified and then get the full license upon presentation of the certificates of inspection.

Nonetheless; the idea of saccos should be discouraged kabisa! Saccos are no better than individuals in managing their fleets, and then there is the issue of whether you can withdraw Mukiha's PSV license because Kamau-wa-Njoroge's bus was involved in an accident.

Finally; the requirement of the operator being a corporate body is unnecessary. It is much easier to punish/reward and individual than a corporate body. And we all know that company files can be made to disappear!

The aim should be to ensure that only serious businesspeople get into the PSV business. It's a matter of life and death and leaving it at the hands of any Mukiha who comes along with one rickety jalopy is just too reckless!

Indeed; I suspect that this particular regulation can be challenged in a constitutional court.

That is the story of how Starbus (the yellow/white/blue buses on Westlands/Kangemi route) came to be.
11 Pages«<678910>»